New Hoover

tian447

I'm wanting to buy a new hoover without spending Dyson prices.  The one we've got in the house is beyond crap and has the suction power of a mouse using a straw to lift the dust.

Anyone got any recommendations for one?  I don't need one for lifting anything like pet hairs, but I do want something that will actually clean the carpet, so a fair bit of power would be good!

Whatever you do, do not get a Henry Hoover.

When the missus moved in my hoover was scrapped in favour of this 'superior' model.

It does my ******* t**ts in and is a pain in the bum to move around the house, constantly bumping into and getting caught behind furniture. You end up carrying the thing about the whole time.

You have been warned.

I bought 2 display model Vax machines out of The Range a couple of months back and they have been excellent.

Pay 30 quid each for them.

Whatever you do, do not get a Henry Hoover.

When the missus moved in my hoover was scrapped in favour of this 'superior' model.

It does my ******* t**ts in and is a pain in the bum to move around the house, constantly bumping into and getting caught behind furniture. You end up carrying the thing about the whole time.

You have been warned.

I've found that any of those small, drag around style hoovers are gash beyond gash.

They're the sort of things that leave more dust behind than they actually pick up.

Plus, Henry is a *******.

I bought 2 display model Vax machines out of The Range a couple of months back and they have been excellent.

Pay 30 quid each for them.

I've heard good things about Vax ones.  Which model do you have, if you know?  They have so many by the looks of things, it'll be quite hard to choose one.  

I did notice they do one specifically for homes with pets.  Could be a go-er, because surely it will be that wee bit more powerful if it has to lift cat/dog/Leigh Griffiths hairs?

I've found that any of those small, drag around style hoovers are gash beyond gash.

They're the sort of things that leave more dust behind than they actually pick up.

Ours is a Hettie - probably makes matters worse.

Pure hatred between me and that machine.

I'm wanting to buy a new hoover without spending Dyson prices. The one we've got in the house is beyond crap and has the suction power of a mouse using a straw to lift the dust.

Anyone got any recommendations for one? I don't need one for lifting anything like pet hairs, but I do want something that will actually clean the carpet, so a fair bit of power would be good!

Had a Dyson before and it was shite. Replaced it with a Bosch and it's been brilliant, it could sook sperm out of 500 year old bollocks. You drag it around like a Henry. My shit Dyson was an upright.

I have a cordless Dyson and it is more hassle than it is worth.

Runa of out of battery before I am even finished.

I've heard good things about Vax ones. Which model do you have, if you know? They have so many by the looks of things, it'll be quite hard to choose one.

I did notice they do one specifically for homes with pets. Could be a go-er, because surely it will be that wee bit more powerful if it has to lift cat/dog/Leigh Griffiths hairs?

Couldn't say the model but one of them is a cylinder drag about one.

However it's got a weird hoze that is much softer than normal plastic, more like PVC and it extends on the stretch to about 5-6 meteres. I can do the whole stair without having to lift it up at all and it means you're hardly dragging it about rooms as well.

I have a cordless Dyson and it is more hassle than it is worth.

Runa of out of battery before I am even finished.

Thinly veiled "I live in a big hoose so get it up ye's post".

I live in a poxy two bedroom flat mate.

Give it a thorough hoover through.

Shark. Great piece of kit, not expensive.

I bought this last year. I recommend highly.cbe296ce-b424-4c69-9fa4-12b6c227e351.jpg

Wtf?

When did this place become mumsnet.

Hoovers ffs

Alpha male on the loose.....too manly to vacuum. You must be a proper man.

I live in a poxy two bedroom flat mate.

Give it a thorough hoover through.

nothing wrong wi 2 bedroomed flats got a Vax power 1 , does the job and not replaced the filter yet but still sucks well.

Alwayssunnyingorgie

I sweep actually. I have the ball Dyson and it's shit and hard to go around furniture. A sweep then a dustpan and brush is quicker and less hassle.

I'm wanting to buy a new hoover without spending Dyson prices. The one we've got in the house is beyond crap and has the suction power of a mouse using a straw to lift the dust.

Anyone got any recommendations for one? I don't need one for lifting anything like pet hairs, but I do want something that will actually clean the carpet, so a fair bit of power would be good!

We have one of these:

http://www.argos.co.uk/product/6164964

Bargain. Light and easy to use. Works well on carpet and laminate.

the stone rose

Got a Vax Airlift Steerable, superb hoover.can disconnect the cylinder so you can carry it in one hand when doing the stairs. I've got the pet model as i've got a dog but they do one without the pet option. Probably the best hoover i ever used including my grandparents old commercial hoover by Kirby.

Plus much cheaper than Dyson so can spend my pennies at the pub.

Uncanny , just seen this thread, our hover just died on us.  We have two hovers ,one for us to use downstairs and what we have termed  as the  "kids suction ganit"  that they use . Now looking at a new hover for us to use downstairs as one of my kids sneaked our hover upstairs because their one was needing changed . Well it died because the hover up every thing in their path in their bed rooms.  Might try the argos one that "Hearts Fan" posted about. 

I know the OP said no Dysons but I got one of those 'Animal' ones with the ball thing on the bottom.

It's shite.

You go over a bit fluff about 6 times and end up bending down and picking it up. The bloody thing doesny go round corners like in the adverts it falls over on its arse when you go round a table leg or a door frame. Pish.

True story.

Edit: AND it cost me about ?380! A Bloody Rip Off!

Edit: I'm putting Dyson hoovers in the 'It's a bloody rip off thread'.

Wtf?

When did this place become mumsnet.

Hoovers ffs

well said

too ****ing right , women's job..

and they are called vacuum cleaners, Hoover is a brand, FFS, bloody jessies

:wink:

well said

too ******* right , women's job..

and they are called vacuum cleaners, Hoover is a brand, FFS, bloody jessies

:wink:

Well saying you are a junior member.  :laugh4:

Sounding a bit young for sexits comments.  :laugh4:

Geek on vacuum terminology too  :laugh4:

Well saying you are a junior member.  :laugh4:

Sounding a bit young for sexits comments.  :laugh4:

Geek on vacuum terminology too  :laugh4:

Aye wait till they get hitched to a woman and have to think about hoovers, washing machines and all that goes with it.

I bought this last year. I recommend highly.cbe296ce-b424-4c69-9fa4-12b6c227e351.jpg

Agreed. Wonderful piece of kit. We did have a cordless Bosch, but it had piss poor suction.

Sounds like my ex-wife.

I love my henry hoover.

Robust enough to handle the mess when I've been slapping through walls and keep the dust down when connected to a sander or such like.

Got a Vax  U88-AMM-P

Crap!

If it falls over a bit of it will break off as it's made of shitty plastic. Constantly have to clean the brush. Suction starts off great but like most other hoovers in my experience, runs out of puff once you've had it for a few months. Tool for removing pet hair is completely and utterly useless.

Wouldn't take another VAX if you gave me it for free.

I am a cleaning expert and I can't recommend this hoover enough:

Vax VRS1121 Powermax Pet Upright Vacuum Cleaner - Orange, Grey And Black.  As good as any Dyson and only ?70

Craig Gordons Gloves

Another vote for Shark, we had a Dyson but it was ruining the carpet, we got this Shark one and it works really well.  (I also work for a large consumer electronics retailer and the advice from our appliance specialists is to go with Shark).

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/shark-rotator-powered-lift-away-xl-capacity-hepa-bagless-upright-vacuum-navy/4334500.p?skuId=4334500

What price would one like this be?

I paid $190. I Think around 150 quid?

Albert Tatlock

Henrys are fantastic. My brother has one at his garage....lifting all manner of crap up, still going strong after 12 years.

Mine is about 5 years old, lifts everything including pet hairs, solid stuff from diy jobs etc. The cable length is huge, and at about ?100 a bargain. It is made of sturdy stuff. Made to last Hoover, whereas had hoovers die on me after a year.

crunchy frog

A Kirby. ?1500 but if you buy it today my boss says I can give you it for ?1200 :D

I said I didn't want to be spending Dyson prices, and technically this fits into that category :lol:

I love my henry hoover.

Robust enough to handle the mess when I've been slapping through walls and keep the dust down when connected to a sander or such like.

+1 for Henry.

You've just got to know how to handle him.

Yes, I know .........

:oohmatron:

We have one of these:

http://www.argos.co.uk/product/6164964

Bargain. Light and easy to use. Works well on carpet and laminate.

That's a good price, be more than happy to spend around that amount!

How are the attachments, and does it have decent suction?

Uncanny , just seen this thread, our hover just died on us. We have two hovers ,one for us to use downstairs and what we have termed as the "kids suction ganit" that they use . Now looking at a new hover for us to use downstairs as one of my kids sneaked our hover upstairs because their one was needing changed . Well it died because the hover up every thing in their path in their bed rooms. Might try the argos one that "Hearts Fan" posted about.

It's a conspiracy mate... :whistling:

Sorry, had to! :lol:

As I have said in the past. Nothing has greater suction than a single mum in West pilton.

And that is just your bank account.

Had 2 Dysons and both didnt last long.

Hoover used to make great vacuum cleaners but alas no more. 

Interested in the Shark one mentioned above but at the moment and for the last 3 years I have been using a Henry.

I prefer an upright vacuum but the Henry cleans the best of all the vacuums I have ever had. It is also easy to use in the car. My car has never been so clean as it is so easy to use, it is done every week or two.

That's a good price, be more than happy to spend around that amount!

How are the attachments, and does it have decent suction?

Yes :D

Put it this way, we have two cats and a dog and it lifts all their hairs no bother.

Captain Sausage

He can do 8 pints of water before he goes on fire. Just FYI.

Carrick1874

I bought the Mrs one of they Shark hoovers and it's superb, better than the Dyson which we've had before and as my son has respiratory problems along with other things the sharks filter catches all dust so gets a definite seal of approval from me.

lauriesrank

I love my henry hoover.

Robust enough to handle the mess when I've been slapping through walls and keep the dust down when connected to a sander or such like.[/quote

Yep, really good on site... although for your home I'd get a vax 3 in 1 style, multi surface and a washer too. Will do your carpet, laminate, lino and cushions. Lol the wife thinks it's brilliant. I think it's too noisy. We have the 6131 version which is only 150 quid although there are better.

lauriesrank

+1 for Henry.

You've just got to know how to handle him.

Like this...

With this thread the emasculation of men on JKB is complete!!!!

Or is it the emancipation on the men of JKB?