Europa Cup

martoon

Rangers v. Progr?s Niedercorn,

St. Johnstone v. FK Trakai.

The start of the new season, it seems like weeks since the last one ended, and we can ease our way in by backing our countrymen this evening (and Progr?s Niedercorn).

Yes, I had to look up the names. St. Johnstone is difficult to spell.

• Replies 1.4k

Should have been us playing Trakai with a European trip to look forward to.

Thanks a lot Ian.

Should have been us playing Trakai with a European trip to look forward to.

Thanks a lot Ian.

I'm glad we're not in Europe this year.  We don't need the distraction.

IveSeenTheLight

Distraction from what?

Genuine question as I'd rather be in Europe than facing lower league teams like East Fife or Elgin City (no disrespect)

Distraction from what?

Genuine question as I'd rather be in Europe than facing lower league teams like East Fife or Elgin City (no disrespect)

Any sane person would.

Although, given our rebuild, more time is the silver lining of not being in Europe.

HeartOfWestLothian

I'm disappointed that we're not involved tonight. Anyone who says they're glad we're not involved in Europe this season is clueless. We should be one of Scotlands European representatives every season.

Even just a run to the third qualifier with full houses at Tynecastle would have been a decent bit of income for us.

Gonna go against the grain but I genuinely hope Rangers, St J Aberdeen and Celtic all do wel in Europe this season

I'm not going to be sitting watching or cheering them on, but any good they do only reflects well on the co-efficient and in turn makes it easier for us in future years. The fact of the matter is, August 2012 we entered the Europa league as Scottish cup winners in the play off round for the groups, narrowly losing to one of the biggest teams in Europe

In June 2016 we entered the very first round against a team from Estonia playing their first ever European game, whilst the Scottish cup winners entered in the next round, 3 rounds earlier than we had previously

It's a sad state of our current game in 4 years our European entry stage has fallen so far

The positive if all those teams do well is that increased games (and journeys) will ideally tire them out quicker and we can go about business quietly in the domestic cups and qualify for next seasons europe

NegAtive is that the money they would potentially make from a longer run would aid them

For what it's worth as much as I would like the teams to all get to the group stage I think at best

St Johnstone will get beat by the Lithuanians (based on their previous of beating bigger teams Luzern (Switzerland) and Rosenberg (Norway) but losing to Aleshkart (Armenia) dinamo minsk (Belarus) or Sparta Trnava (Slovakia) BUT If they win, they will lose to the Swedish team (Norkopping? Who will comfortably beat the Gibraltan team they play)

Rangers will win this tie but fall to the cypriots

Aberdeen will maybe beat siroki or the Kazakhs but fall at the 3rd round

Celtic will probably get to at least playoffs but either lose there and go to Europa or at best finish 4 in their champions league groups

Gorgie_Rules

Agreed on the post above, Scotland used to be 11th in the co-efficients, now we are about 25th, its a sad state of affairs. We will never see a non old firm club reach the groups until that changes.

Better if Celtic get to Europa league as less cash and more chance of them winning games to get points.

Heartsmad1874

Agreed on the post above, Scotland used to be 11th in the co-efficients, now we are about 25th, its a sad state of affairs. We will never see a non old firm club reach the groups until that changes.

Better if Celtic get to Europa league as less cash and more chance of them winning games to get points.

Celtic doing well would only help Celtic as Uefa recently changed the format to only your results impact your coefficent.

Atleast i think thats the case now.

Edit : This starts from next year.

Distraction from what?

I think majority of Hearts fans would rather be playing in Europe. Other than the occasional Sctottish Cup win what is the point in competing in scotland other than getting into Europe. But I do think this is one pre season where not being in Europe will benefit us as there is such a big rebuilding job to do.

Heartsmad1874

The Rangers game is live on Premier Sports tonight.

Was going to watch this on the Mobdro app although it seems to have disappeared from the app store :(.

I was just introduced to Mobdro last week as was told that the only way to get it was via the Mobdro website  https://www.mobdro.to/  This worked for me.

Tynecastlesmychurch

Distraction from what?

I agree I'd rather be in Europe. But this summer we really did need a rebuild. And early games in Europe could have put more pressure on everyone evolved in the club's transfers. We've been able to take our time and so far things are looking good. We've got two full backs about to be confirmed. And it seems we are far from done plenty players will leave and more will come in. So I think I longer summer with more time to prepare while disappointing initially. May just turn out to be a blessing.

Tokyo Drifter

Gonna go against the grain but I genuinely hope Rangers, St J Aberdeen and Celtic all do wel in Europe this season

I'm not going to be sitting watching or cheering them on, but any good they do only reflects well on the co-efficient and in turn makes it easier for us in future years. The fact of the matter is, August 2012 we entered the Europa league as Scottish cup winners in the play off round for the groups, narrowly losing to one of the biggest teams in Europe

In June 2016 we entered the very first round against a team from Estonia playing their first ever European game, whilst the Scottish cup winners entered in the next round, 3 rounds earlier than we had previously

It's a sad state of our current game in 4 years our European entry stage has fallen so far

The positive if all those teams do well is that increased games (and journeys) will ideally tire them out quicker and we can go about business quietly in the domestic cups and qualify for next seasons europe

NegAtive is that the money they would potentially make from a longer run would aid them

For what it's worth as much as I would like the teams to all get to the group stage I think at best

St Johnstone will get beat by the Lithuanians (based on their previous of beating bigger teams Luzern (Switzerland) and Rosenberg (Norway) but losing to Aleshkart (Armenia) dinamo minsk (Belarus) or Sparta Trnava (Slovakia) BUT If they win, they will lose to the Swedish team (Norkopping? Who will comfortably beat the Gibraltan team they play)

Celtic will probably get to at least playoffs but either lose there and go to Europa or at best finish 4 in their champions league groups

Yeah, get that coefficient up so that when we stroll the league next year we're straight into the CL group stage.

Distraction from what?

Distraction from gelling the new team and focussing and playing against the types of teams and conditions we're going to be facing through the season.

Given how Scottish teams do at the present, Europe is more for the fans than the teams....imho.

I won't be supporting any club that given the chance, would prefer not to play in Scotland .

Heartsmad1874

On one side i'm disappointed we aren't involved purely for European nights and trips away somewhere however we haven't assembled a good enough squad at the moment so happy to have this pre season against diddy clubs like Elgin and then get back into Europe next year.

I'm not disappointed by the lack of Europe this year. Put simply, we don't deserve to be there and on last season's showing it would be a complete waste of time anyway.

From my own perspective as a fan, I'm happier with a weekend trip to Belfast. No holidays from work and cheaper.

Celtic doing well would only help Celtic as Uefa recently changed the format to only your results impact your coefficent.

Atleast i think thats the case now.

Edit : This starts from next year.

I haven't seen any change to the format.

Simply, as I understand it, if we, as a country, do well in Europe, our country's coefficient goes up...something I feel we should all support as it directly affects us as a club.

That is different from the individual club coefficent, which determines the seeding of each team.

It may not be popular but if we want to end the state of affairs at the minute, clubs starting in June, we need all Scottish clubs to help improve the country's club coefficent.

Would that not be better ? Our teams starting Europe at the end of July rather than the end of June ?

I think we need to look at the bigger picture when it comes to Europe.....will that happen ?

No chance !

I can never understand the parochial nature of some football fans. Why bother winning anything domestically if that's the case.

I think the change to seeding only affects the clubs.

The countries' co-efficients will be calculated as before, as that is used to determine the number of teams from each country and the starting rounds.

The clubs' coefficients will no longer include the "country" element meaning that their seeding will be down to each club's achievements over the previous five years. e.g. had it been applied this season, then Rangers would have started on zero points and been unseeded in the first qualifying round.  Last season, Leicester would also have stated on zero points, but would still have started in the CL Group stages as England no 1 club.

Not holding out much hope for Progr?s. Abysmal record in Euro competition.

1977/78 CWC Boldklub 0-10 agg,

1978/79 EC Real Madrid 0-12,

1979/80 UEFA Grasshoppers 0-6,

1981/82 EC Glentoran 1-5,

1982/83 UEFA Servette 0-4,

2015/16 Europa Shamrock 0-3.

No wins, 2 single leg draws and 1 goal.

A distraction from what, a friendly in Belfast or a Betfred kickabout against Peterhead?

Hearts fans saying they'd rather not be in Europe :vrface: . Can we not build a squad AND play football? Would European football not help entice players to come to the club?

To be fair though, at least we're not in Atlantas' position, 6-0 down away in Kazhakstan in the first leg :lol: .

A distraction from what, a friendly in Belfast or a Betfred kickabout against Peterhead?

Hearts fans saying they'd rather not be in Europe :vrface: . Can we not build a squad AND play football? Would European football not help entice players to come to the club?

To be fair though, at least we're not in Atlantas' position, 6-0 down away in Kazhakstan in the first leg :lol: .

Kind of my point - what could would a 7,000 mile round trip do us at this stage?! It is not like there is any money to be made in the early Europa qualifying rounds.

I stick by my opinion that it will do us more good staying at home and focussing on a proper pre-season/getting in new signings this year than it would going on an early round European jaunt to the arse-end of Europe.

Kind of my point - what could would a 7,000 mile round trip do us at this stage?! It is not like there is any money to be made in the early Europa qualifying rounds.

I stick by my opinion that it will do us more good staying at home and focussing on a proper pre-season/getting in new signings this year than it would going on an early round European jaunt to the arse-end of Europe.

You know you could argue the opposite end of that and say we could be 6-0 up at home to Atlantas in the first leg? We'd have to go through the early rounds regardless, or are we to wait until we get a bye until the 3rd round?

Would competitive European games not be better preparation than away to Peterhead?

You know you could argue the opposite end of that and say we could be 6-0 up at home to Atlantas in the first leg? We'd have to go through the early rounds regardless, or are we to wait until we get a bye until the 3rd round?

Would competitive European games not be better preparation than away to Peterhead?

It is a fair point, but we could just as easily lose to a diddy Maltese side again.

The Europa league did us absolutely no good last year.

I hope we build a side this summer capable of finishing 2nd and having a real go at the qualifiers next year. By which time i'll have more holidays spare to go on a wee European jaunt.....

It is a fair point, but we could just as easily lose to a diddy Maltese side again.

The Europa league did us absolutely no good last year.

I hope we build a side this summer capable of finishing 2nd and having a real go at the qualifiers next year. By which time i'll have more holidays spare to go on a wee European jaunt.....

So we should stay away for fear of losing, why bother at all then :lol: ?

As for the 3rd part, are we incapable of going on a European trip without you?

Any working streams for the Rangers game? Modbro doesn't seem compatible with macs and none of the streams on first row or vip stand are working. 

Edit: Oh aye, it's not kicked off yet. fs. 

Rangers team v Progres Niederkorn: Foderingham, Tavernier, Bates, Cardoso, Wallace, Jack, Miller, Holt, Kranjcar, Dalcio, Waghorn

Only three of their new signings in the team.  Perhaps most of them aren't as good as the MSM would have you believe.

Any working streams for the Rangers game? Modbro doesn't seem compatible with macs and none of the streams on first row or vip stand are working. 

Most streams won't start until a few minutes before the game.

a familiar face on the bench for st johnstones opponents FK Trakai. Deividas ?esnauskis

12 years ago he signed for Hearts.

Familiar face

St Johnstone v FK Trakai

Posted at19:00

Saints are up against Lithuanian opposition so there has to be at least one former Hearts player from the Vladimir Romanov era in their ranks.

Step forward club skipper Deividas Cesnauskis. At 35, the midfielder is getting on a bit but he was a stand-out in his four years at Tynecastle and has more than 60 international caps.

Cesnauskis is on the visitors' bench in Perth.

I hope Sevco and the manks get gubbed in Europe. Could well do without them getting extra income.

Bring Back Paulo Sergio

I hope we never regain two Champions League spaces. If you did you could kiss goodbye to any sort of competition. For evidence look at Celtic.

Far too much money on offer.

Have to be honest. I wanted us to qualify for Europe but I'm delighted we're not playing today. This season's recruiting shows how hard it is to get good signings tied up quickly. Not making Europe could be blessing in disguise this year.

Ibrahim Tall

Tbh first time in god knows how long I actually hope all the Scottish teams do well, don't get me wrong I'd piss myself laughing if Rangers lost but for the good of Scotland as a whole it's better they went through.

Themselves and Celtic doing badly isn't turning into the great 'opportunity' for the rest of us many hoped, if anything it's a race to the bottom. Instead of ourselves competing with the likes of Basle, Schalke, AEK, Feyenoord or Bordeaux or Aberdeen drawing with Bayern Munich etc we're instead playing nonentitys from Luxembourg, Mata and Azerbaijan and generally struggling.

It's ridiculous we as a country are in this position and it's a bigger part of the reason league 1 shite in England is often seen as more attractive than even big Scottish sides are than even the sky money is.

Tbh first time in god knows how long I actually hope all the Scottish teams do well, don't get me wrong I'd piss myself laughing if Rangers lost but for the good of Scotland as a whole it's better they went through.

Themselves and Celtic doing badly isn't turning into the great 'opportunity' for the rest of us many hoped, if anything it's a race to the bottom. Instead of ourselves competing with the likes of Basle, Schalke, AEK, Feyenoord or Bordeaux or Aberdeen drawing with Bayern Munich etc we're instead playing nonentitys from Luxembourg, Mata and Azerbaijan and generally struggling.

It's ridiculous we as a country are in this position and it's a bigger part of the reason league 1 shite in England is often seen as more attractive than even big Scottish sides are than even the sky money is.

Yeah, I'll laugh if they lose but would really like all the teams to do well in the Europa League. Like others I don't want a second CL spot again though. Celtic can stretch away if they want - and eventually join a European league - but the lack of CL money will keep Rangers in sight and the rest of the league more competitive. Do NOT want a return to OF dominance.

Edit: Watched that King speech and hope they get gubbed. Good luck to Saints, Aberdeen and Celtic in Europe though.

Got a feeling the Scottish teams may do better than usual this season...can see at least 2 reach the Europa league group stage, and Celtic reach the Champs league group stage...as good as feasible for Scottish league teams....