?45 million for a goalkeeper

Man City about to sign Ederson from Benfica

Changed days. When I was at school the fat lad was always put in goals

Its always been a position which the transfer fees are undervalued for the importance of it. 

stevie1874

wasn't buffon around ?35M all those years ago when he moved to juve?

He's one goalie that's been worth every penny of that fee

He's been thought of as the best young goalkeeper in Europe and Manchester United were interested as well

City getting started early thinking ahead with Vila's replacement and signing a goalkeeper for the future.

He's been exceptional

Can't think of any goalkeeper as good as him in the last 20 years

Lucille's Thirsty

Ederson? I've never heard of him these price tags going about by English clubs are ridiculous by par for the course foreign clubs must smell the money when an English club come.

Don't care if he's highly rated ?45M :lol:

It's the most important position on the park, maybe clubs are probably starting to realise that??

Gigi is easily the greatest GK of all time and the 32/33 million Juve paid Parma back in 2001 is one of the best signings any club has made....that was back in the days when Italy paid insane amounts of money for the best players anywhere in the world...

This sort of transfer depresses me re the English game and the reason I have lost my interest in it...

The money being paid is vile for players in general and the love and connection I have had for their football since I was a wee nipper has been reduced big time...

The 'keeper may go on to have a career similar to Gigi you never know and it could be value for money in the long run...

But to overly generalise I have never truly been taken with a South American GK as one's that are destined for the top of the club game over many years...

For me Pep has panicked realising how poor Bravo is in the British game and like a wee spoilt brat is allowed to throw silly money about in the hope of getting it right...

Gigi is easily the greatest GK of all time and the 32/33 million Juve paid Parma back in 2001 is one of the best signings any club has made....that was back in the days when Italy paid insane amounts of money for the best players anywhere in the world...

Dino Zoff for one would be above him for me I am afraid.  Lev Yashin another.  Guess it depends on our ages as to who we have in our heads when coming to naming "greatest players".   Apart from that agree with your points.

Wait till De Gea goes to Madrid.

That will make 45m look like chump change

It's the most important position on the park, maybe clubs are probably starting to realise that??

All it does is push outfield players transfer money up, especially goalscorers.

It's about the some clubs, City in particular, started realising that.

In fact defending as a whole seems unfashionable these days.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

CRWJambo1991

30million?

I'm assuming that's for the re-generation of Sunderland as a whole, nothing to do with the team?

Haha Sunderland could definitely do with some of that

English clubs are basically paying double price for these players now, foreign clubs know they can afford it and will pay it. The whole 'value for money' side of transfers down there has completely gone, there's no point in looking for a bargain when even mid-table teams can spunk ?30million on players. Might as well just pay whatever the club wants.

Reports that City have also bid ?113m for Mbappe.Now the kid looks a talent but feck me it's just becoming absolutely crazy now these fees if it's true the bid for Mbappe.

Dino Zoff for one would be above him for me I am afraid. Lev Yashin another. Guess it depends on our ages as to who we have in our heads when coming to naming "greatest players". Apart from that agree with your points.

A big fan of both and Shilton. Some keeper auld Peter.

stevie1874

It's taken us a whole season to realise that :)

Joe Hart almost certain to move on now

Pep was too hasty in getting rid of him without an adequate replacement

I'm the boss type of thing, I'm not afraid to make unpopular decisions

Ex goalie post alert!!  :gocompare:

CRWJambo1991

Pep was too hasty in getting rid of him without an adequate replacement

I'm the boss type of thing, I'm not afraid to make unpopular decisions

Yeah totally agree and Bravo was a massive flop.

I think harts a good keeper but makes too many mistakes to be up there with the best.

Ex goalie post alert!!  :gocompare:

Ha ha

It's a crap position

I once played over half a match in goals when our keeper dislocated his finger - never again. Nearly saved a penalty though - got a hand to it but it went in off the post

Yeah totally agree and Bravo was a massive flop.

I think harts a good keeper but makes too many mistakes to be up there with the best.

Cost a fair amount of points for Torino with his errors.

He had a decent season for City in his last but a shockingly bad Euros.

Cruyff Turn

I don't know much about this lad but it's a specialist position and there are only maybe 10 top top quality keepers in the world at the moment and the majority of them are unattainable.

Buffon has been worth every penny for Juve, imo the greatest goalkeeper ever.

Neuer, Lloris, De Gea, Courtois, ter Stegan, are pretty unattainable.

Oblak, Donnarumma, Leno would probably cost more than 45 million.

Hard players to find for top clubs and whether or not he's worth 45 million is debatable but that's the market.

Aye, and still one of the best goalies in the world.

Had me worried there, I read the title at the top of the page and thought that somebody had come in for Jack Hamilton!

Holyrood_Hearts

I've never heard of him until last night! ?45m is crazy for a uncapped goalkeeper.