Learning German

Rick James

Rick James

So, it's been on my to do list for a while. I studied it at school for 4 years, and was pretty good. I still know a fair few essentials in German but not enough to hold a conversation.

So, I'm looking to study it again. Where do I start? Don't really feel I've got the time to study it on my own accord, but are language courses expensive? Help please KB.

Stephane Grappelli

Edinburgh Uni do good language classes for all different levels. I think the teachers are always native speakers too. Look up Edinburgh Uni IALS.

There are also other language schools around the city which might be a bit cheaper.

You could also advertise on somewhere like Gumtree to do a language exchange with a German speaker. They help with your German and they can practise English with you.

Rick James

Edinburgh Uni do good language classes for all different levels. I think the teachers are always native speakers too. Look up Edinburgh Uni IALS.

There are also other language schools around the city which might be a bit cheaper.

You could also advertise on somewhere like Gumtree to do a language exchange with a German speaker. They help with your German and they can practise English with you.

Edinburgh uni seems a great shout.

been here before

I've learned all the German I know from British WWII films from the 40s/50s/60s. John Mills in particular...

Hande hoch.

Nicht shooten Kamerade

For you Tommy ze var is over

Escape is verboten.

That sort of thing.

I've learned all the German I know from British WWII films from the 40s/50s/60s. John Mills in particular...

Hande hoch.

Nicht shooten Kamerade

Escape is verboten.

That sort of thing.

you missed vat iz your name

I need to do the same. Mine is strong enough to hold a half arsed conversation with one, maybe two people at a time but more than that and my head hurts. The fact that the kids are translating some stuff for me now is the kick up the arse I need.