Standard of English Referees

Must be one of the highest in the World. The FA cup final was refereed brilliantly.

Why do we get the dregs with agendas?

Cause the SFA don't care about sporting integrety or professionalism. If the old firm are looked after then that's all that matters.

Must be one of the highest in the World. The FA cup final was refereed brilliantly.

Because our game is all about 2 clubs.

Would love us to bring back foreign refs.

Is that the same ref that missed a blatant hand ball in the build up to Arsenals first goal which had a massive bearing on the outcome of the game?

English refs are full time where as our refs have 9-5 jobs and fit refereeing in between. Just goes to show anyone can make mistakes

Glasgow refs, supporting Glasgow clubs , refereeing Glasgow clubs in Glasgow. 

What can go wrong ? 

PeterintheRain

As the other man said. 

A blatant handball, that would have done basketball-Barry proud and also a clear offside for the first goal.  

Just because they're not Scottish and in thrall to the arse cheeks doesn't make them good.

As the other man said. 

A blatant handball, that would have done basketball-Barry proud and also a clear offside for the first goal.  

Just because they're not Scottish and in thrall to the arse cheeks doesn't make them good.

It was a handball no doubt.  The players hands were raised and in an unnatural position when the ball hit one and then the other as he charged the ball down rugby style.

But it was not offside though.  The player was in an offside position yes, but according to the laws of the game, he was not deemed to have interfered with the play as he did not touch the ball or be in a position to prevent a defender from making a play on the ball, nor was he in the sight line of the goalie as the shot came in.

Whether you think the current interpretation of the offside law an ass though is a different matter!

alicante jambo

I never seen the english cup final but seen.the scottish.I also seen the ref completely ignore foul after foul commited by brown.Our referees are a disgrace so pathetic and part of the reason why scottish football is so bad.Brines was a prime example of how bad it was yet still continued at a high level.

Arsenal a dodgy goal in the final and a good goal scored against them in the semi disallowed.

Aye the standard is high.

Some of the worst refereeing performances of the season have been in England's top flight.

It's an incredibly hard job and even full time refs get it badly wrong in the spur of the moment. I'm all for technology to support the right decisions being made.

As the other man said.

Just because they're not Scottish and in thrall to the arse cheeks doesn't make them good.

Get your eyes tested. It wasnt blatant. It hit his hand after coming of his knee. Therefore wasn't intentional and the referee quite rightly played on.

English refs at times are no better or worse than others. Apart from not booking Scott Brown yesterday Madden had a decent game.

Would be interesting to see what has happened with regards to the ref that sent him off at Ross county?

Saint Jambo

It was a handball no doubt.  The players hands were raised and in an unnatural position when the ball hit one and then the other as he charged the ball down rugby style.

But it was not offside though.  The player was in an offside position yes, but according to the laws of the game, he was not deemed to have interfered with the play as he did not touch the ball or be in a position to prevent a defender from making a play on the ball, nor was he in the sight line of the goalie as the shot came in.

Whether you think the current interpretation of the offside law an ass though is a different matter!

The offside rule is not as clear cut as you think.

Have a look at this FIFA presentation.

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjO4r73jJLUAhVhAsAKHXhpCwsQFggpMAE&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.fifa.com%2Fmm%2Fdocument%2Fafdeveloping%2Frefereeing%2Flaw_11_offside_en_47383.pdf&usg=AFQjCNHJj5dNMhSRd-hYles5Dtig273OAg

From page 17 of that presentation

"Interfering with play means: ...making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent

- the opponent must be reasonably close to the play so that the blocking, deceiving or distracting makes a difference."

This is the part of rule 11 that could and in my view should have resulted in the goal being disallowed. The offside attacker's move towards the ball distracting the goalkeeper. This made a difference to the goalkeeper's ability to decide whether to rush out to the ball. Poor decision by the ref especially after his linesman has raised a flag.

not that much between the Scottish and English refs although I do think the English refs when dealing with the players they don't treat them as children and at times you do see a bit of humour between them unlike up here

Mistakes made by both .

Get your eyes tested. It wasnt blatant. It hit his hand after coming of his knee. Therefore wasn't intentional and the referee quite rightly played on.

English refs at times are no better or worse than others. Apart from not booking Scott Brown yesterday Madden had a decent game.

Would be interesting to see what has happened with regards to the ref that sent him off at Ross county?

Only two Incidences these days constitute a free kick for hand ball. Deliberate hand ball OR hands in an unnatural position. Considering Sanchez's hands were above his head, it's a stick on hand ball. If the ref seen it clearly he would've blew.

The offside rule is not as clear cut as you think.

Have a look at this FIFA presentation.

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjO4r73jJLUAhVhAsAKHXhpCwsQFggpMAE&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.fifa.com%2Fmm%2Fdocument%2Fafdeveloping%2Frefereeing%2Flaw_11_offside_en_47383.pdf&usg=AFQjCNHJj5dNMhSRd-hYles5Dtig273OAg

From page 17 of that presentation

"Interfering with play means: ...making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent

- the opponent must be reasonably close to the play so that the blocking, deceiving or distracting makes a difference."

This is the part of rule 11 that could and in my view should have resulted in the goal being disallowed. The offside attacker's move towards the ball distracting the goalkeeper. This made a difference to the goalkeeper's ability to decide whether to rush out to the ball. Poor decision by the ref especially after his linesman has raised a flag.

Of into the minutia of the offside rule. lol

I respectfully disagree, but I also accept how another's opinion is valid.  It was a very close call as to whether the player was "active"  in the scenario.  He definitely did not block or deceive anyone.  As to whether he distracted (fifa is very vague on what that means!) is open to debate.  In previous years Fifa decreed that to distract a player, they had to be within 2 metres of them.  That was removed last summer to be replaced with making an active play on the ball in a manner that obviously distracts the opponent.  eg attempting to kick the ball.

Did he?  maybe, maybe not.  Again, where the ref is uncertain, the balance of doubt is to go to the attacker. 

It was a tough call, but I think he got that one right.

None of that matters though as it was a clear hand ball :-)

Saint Jambo

Sanchez's arms were in an unnatural position - more like trying to charge down the ball in rugby. The fact it came off his knee doesn't change that. Clear handball.

Good article for an explanation:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2284201/GRAHAM-POLL--The-Official-Line-The-new-handball-rule-explained-Newcastle-got-lucky-Fox-penalty.html

Saint Jambo

Of into the minutia of the offside rule. lol

I respectfully disagree, but I also accept how another's opinion is valid.  It was a very close call as to whether the player was "active"  in the scenario.  He definitely did not block or deceive anyone.  As to whether he distracted (fifa is very vague on what that means!) is open to debate.  In previous years Fifa decreed that to distract a player, they had to be within 2 metres of them.  That was removed last summer to be replaced with making an active play on the ball in a manner that obviously distracts the opponent.  eg attempting to kick the ball.

Did he?  maybe, maybe not.  Again, where the ref is uncertain, the balance of doubt is to go to the attacker. 

It was a tough call, but I think he got that one right.

None of that matters though as it was a clear hand ball :-)

I agree it is a question of interpretation. This is why I don't like the current rules. They are far too open to interpretation and opinion.

not that much between the Scottish and English refs although I do think the English refs when dealing with the players they don't treat them as children and at times you do see a bit of humour between them unlike up here

Mistakes made by both .

Too many Scottish referees appear to have their own agendas.

Mistakes will be made both sides of the border, but when you strip the genuine ones away, the Scottish ref's agendas are still there.

Was only 10 or so years ago that anything Romanov/Hearts was fair game. ( Mind you Romanov hadn't done us or himself any favours with some of his comments ).

It's taken us a long time to get back to the normality we have to currently endure.

For me, as long as Scott Brown can run about kicking opponents with impunity, then I'll have serious doubts about the integrity of refereeing in Scotland.

Part time or not, Scottish referees still get close to ?1,000 a game. They should be doing better, regardless of how good or bad their English counterparts are.

English refs tend to let game flow rather than picking up on every niggly wee foul (from teams other than of) in Scotland. If course they make mistakes but tend to err on side of positivity rather than being centre of attention.

FORTHCLYDE

Too many Scottish referees appear to have their own agendas.

Mistakes will be made both sides of the border, but when you strip the genuine ones away, the Scottish ref's agendas are still there.

Was only 10 or so years ago that anything Romanov/Hearts was fair game. ( Mind you Romanov hadn't done us or himself any favours with some of his comments ).

It's taken us a long time to get back to the normality we have to currently endure.

For me, as long as Scott Brown can run about kicking opponents with impunity, then I'll have serious doubts about the integrity of refereeing in Scotland.

Scott Brown gets away with it every game.  Yesterday's ref came from East Kilbride, a town full of Celtic (and Rangers) fans and little more than 10 miles from Glasgow.  Just imagine if he sent SB off for persistent fouling and Celtic lost the game.  Do you think he could go about his activities without repercussions?  I think not.  We need to have refs from all over Scotland but all the top refs come that little corner of Lanarkshire/Glasgow.  They become top refs because they get the gigs which others don't.

It is totally wrong that a showpiece game involving a Glasgow team at a Glasgow ground should be reffed by someone born and bred a few miles from Glasgow.  Would it not have been better, and a nice gesture, to have given the game to Crawford Allan as his last before retirement?

The offside decision was very dubious. Ramsey clearly runs towards the ball and then pulls out. To suggest that he isn't interfering with play implies that you can't interfere if you're not touching the ball - which is clearly wrong

Scott Brown gets away with it every game.  Yesterday's ref came from East Kilbride, a town full of Celtic (and Rangers) fans and little more than 10 miles from Glasgow.  Just imagine if he sent SB off for persistent fouling and Celtic lost the game.  Do you think he could go about his activities without repercussions?  I think not.  We need to have refs from all over Scotland but all the top refs come that little corner of Lanarkshire/Glasgow.  They become top refs because they get the gigs which others don't.

It is totally wrong that a showpiece game involving a Glasgow team at a Glasgow ground should be reffed by someone born and bred a few miles from Glasgow.  Would it not have been better, and a nice gesture, to have given the game to Crawford Allan as his last before retirement

I'd have been delighted.

But he has leanings toward Aberdeen, (so I am told) ,.......despite living in Edinburgh.

And we can't possibly have that,....... can we !

It was a handball no doubt. The players hands were raised and in an unnatural position when the ball hit one and then the other as he charged the ball down rugby style.

But it was not offside though. The player was in an offside position yes, but according to the laws of the game, he was not deemed to have interfered with the play as he did not touch the ball or be in a position to prevent a defender from making a play on the ball, nor was he in the sight line of the goalie as the shot came in.

He moved towards the ball so for me he is offside and interfering with play, the defending team see him as in an offside position moving for the ball so that will effect their thinking.

I'd have been delighted.

But he has leanings toward Aberdeen, (so I am told) ,.......despite living in Edinburgh.

And we can't possibly have that,....... can we !

Strangely enough I thought he was a wee team type.

Refs from the Weege ALWAYS favour the Green/Blue religous Masters, not the SFA :(   

Glasgow refs, supporting Glasgow clubs , refereeing Glasgow clubs in Glasgow. 

What can go wrong ? 

quis custodiet ipsos custodes, sadly - it's the SFA, FFS, reported by AND commented on by mair Weegie Hangers-On, or "OAN" as they say in the Weege :(

One thing that has always surprised me is that the premier league does not try to bring in the best referees in the world. I know its the Premier league who pays the refs but is there a rule that referees must be from the nation of the league?