Working continental shifts

Every three weeks I get six days off. I was off today and was browsing through the Sky movie channels. I came across a western called Broken Lance with Spencer Tracey, Richard Wydmark, Robert Wagnet and Earl Holiman.

What a bloody good film. Spencer Tracey was immense. Forgot just how good an actor he was.

Aye, Captains Couageous is amongst my favourites.  A real tear jerker.

Every three weeks I get six days off. I was off today and was browsing through the Sky movie channels. I came across a western called Broken Lance with Spencer Tracey, Richard Wydmark, Robert Wagnet and Earl Holiman.

What a bloody good film. Spencer Tracey was immense. Forgot just how good an actor he was.

A rest week every 3 weeks is pretty good going. You do lots of 12's in your link to make that achievable?

I've got 9 days off (twice) and 7 days off (twice) in a 24 week link.

A rest week every 3 weeks is pretty good going. You do lots of 12's in your link to make that achievable?

I've got 9 days off (twice) and 7 days off (twice) in a 24 week link.

No all shifts are 8hrs 45 mins.

I do a weds thurs fri one week then mon tues thurs frid in the 2nd week then mon tues weds the 3rd. All 12 hour shifts and every 3 weeks get 6 days off back to back(no working weekends at all).

Plenty time for box sets and walkies with the dug!

I do a weds thurs fri one week then mon tues thurs frid in the 2nd week then mon tues weds the 3rd. All 12 hour shifts and every 3 weeks get 6 days off back to back(no working weekends at all).

Plenty time for box sets and walkies with the dug!

What's the job?

Any vacancies?

I'm glad I no longer do shifts, always struggled with nights. The shift pattern is 2 days, 2 nights then 4 off. This is repeated 3 times then after the fourth block, the guys get 20 days off.

Us day shifters in my work, do a straight 5 over 7 with every 2nd weekend off.

Late shift guys work 12pm-11pm for 8 in a row with 6 days off after. I'd take that if day shift could do it on 8am-6pm shift.

Absolutely love working shifts.

Time off during the week, time off on my own during the day, the odd night and evening shift and decent on call and overtime. 

Perfect for me. Just turned down an invitation to apply for a managerial position because I don't feel ready to be a 9-5 worker.

Only down side is that all shifts are 8 hours long. Been trying to push the bosses towards 10 and 12 hour shifts and less days worked but the bosses are not keen.

maroonplatoon87

2 days - 12 hours

2 nights - 12 hours

4 Days Off

7 sets of this then 18 Days off

Delightful

These shift patterns look great! Beats 9hrs Mon to Fri every week. And dealing with the public!

What do you guys do?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

2 days - 12 hours

2 nights - 12 hours

4 Days Off

Delightful

I did this when in the Navy and based at HMS Warrior in Northwood north London.

A guy I know used to do 2 (weeks) on / 2 off, 2 on / 2 off, 2 on / 6 off. I thought it sounded great but after a while he hated it. Was single & no kids. He said the first week or two of the 6-weeker were ok but after that he got bored. Nothing to do all day, your mates are all at work, he said he just ended up going into town for something to do and spending all the money he was making on games & DVDs etc.

I never get bored on my rest weeks. If all else fails you can always thrash the heid off it 6 times a day.

I used to work, Dayshift mon-fri, 6-2, 6-2 sat and 12 hours 6-6 sunday, backshift 2-10, mon-fri weekend off, nights 10-6 mon-fri

sat 10-6, sunday 6-6 , 4th week off with a 50% shift allowance over my basic, in the summer all 12hr shifts covering for hols and working 21 days

on the trot, great monies but you needed a holiday after that lot.

joe.gausden

Used to work early shift one week (6 - 2) then backshift next week (2 - 10). Didn't mind early shift but backshift was murder. I stay in a tenement so could hear people going out to work from 6am onwards but when I come home at back of ten never felt like going to bed so would stay up until the early hours watching tele.

I work 4 days 12hr shifts,off 4 days,4 nights 12hr shifts,off 4 days,then repeat.It's not too bad apart from working over the weekends when the football is on and if there is any nights out involved as you don't want to use your holidays up as only get 21 days entitlement.

8 on 6 off Wednesday to Wednesday,constant night shift.

35 hour week,8hrs 45 mins per shift.

Off every 2nd weekend.

Great for travelling and doing things.

Sorry to spread doom and gloom but shift workers die prematurely as per medical evidence. After my old man died of an unexpected heart attack at 68 we all got a bit panicky as he always looked in good nick. I was immediately put on statins (14 years now) but my doctor advised me to stop working shifts as it does affect your health. Flexi job for me now in at 6.30 leave whenever build up enough extra hours Monday-Thursday that allows me every Friday off perfecto.

12 hour shifts, 7 days a week, for 6 weeks, then 6 weeks off.

To be fair, that sounds brutal.

Arnold Rothstein

Is that even legal? What is it you do?

That does sound rats to be fair .

I've worked 4 months straight on 12 hour shifts 7 days a week . We got 6 hours off every 9 days as a fatigue day!!

John Gentleman

Sorry to spread doom and gloom but shift workers die prematurely as per medical evidence. After my old man died of an unexpected heart attack at 68 we all got a bit panicky as he always looked in good nick. I was immediately put on statins (14 years now) but my doctor advised me to stop working shifts as it does affect your health. Flexi job for me now in at 6.30 leave whenever build up enough extra hours Monday-Thursday that allows me every Friday off perfecto.

I'm with you, though I have been to accumulate two weeks of flex! Great for a wee break in more northerly climes in the middle of the (southern) Australian winter.

Is that even legal? What is it you do?

Yeh it's legal. Not much fun though I can assure you, but the time off is fantastic.

I work in seismic exploration.

That does sound rats to be fair .

I've worked 4 months straight on 12 hour shifts 7 days a week . We got 6 hours off every 9 days as a fatigue day!!

Ooya.

Six weeks is hard enough. The final fortnight is extremely challenging.

2 days - 12 hours

2 nights - 12 hours

4 Days Off

Delightful

Fife Ethylene plant by any chance?

Sent from my Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70F using Tapatalk