Longest time without alcohol

AlimOzturk

Obviously since turning 18 what is the longest you have gone with a bevvy?

This will be my second weekend without the stuff. Feel good.

Never drank alot when I 18-21 but then I started going out most weekends. Lately my taste for the stuff is waining.

Thinking of an extended period off it.

Stopped for about 6 weeks a few years ago, basically just to prove to myself I could do it.

Generally felt much better than normal, but **** me it was boring.

About 3 or 4 months when I started the gym 6 years ago, but the wife just told me I must be the main star in some new critically acclaimed film.

I think a month is the longest, it sober for October last year, I got tonsillitis, a bad cold and........something else, I thought this no drinking just isn't healthy.

I was so ill on the train back to Siegen after the game in Munich I stopped for almost a month.....then it was my birthday, all went to pot since then.

I'm sure I managed somewhere between 3 and 5 years but I do drink now and again these days. Tends to be a good bucketful rather than 1 or 2 right enough!

Since I started drinking aged 15/16, a month is about as long as I've gone... pretty terrible when you think about it, given I'm approaching 30. Doing dry January tho, and finding it easy.

Not had a drop since the Gorgie Suite epic on 17th December.

Fell into a bush on way home, cut my dish which got infected, antibiotics etc.

Loads of driving over the festive season and not even missed it.

Not touching it again until I go over to the US to work late February.

Your dish?

I'm currently on day 13 as I've been ill.

That's the longest I've done by at least 11 days, in about 20 years :lol:

My coupon.

I have my own language.

All healed now with a nice trendy scar on my ruggedly handsome fizzog.

:boak:

:wink:

zoltan socrates

Since the 2006 world cup

For no other reason than its pish, its affect is pish, the aftermath is pish, the taste is rank, its over priced even if its free and its a harder drug than anything else ive had

Miss it not a jot

Spent 3 years off it whenow I split up with the ex. Didn't wanna get problems as could have slipped down a slippery slope when my marriage went breast skywards!

Drink now but not as much as I used to. Tend to get very drunk very quick not so saves me a bit cash into the bargain :)

Not touched a drop since the 1st. Boring as feck but i'm going to stay on the wagon until the 28th (have a function then). Also, cut out most carbs & seriously upped my veggies & fruit intake. Going to lose a few pounds before the 28th I think. Actually feel good after 2 weeks. Probably have the hangover from hell on the 29th.

Really wish I could stop - hate what their drinking did to other family members

Been drinking for 36 years, have had gone a month / 6 weeks without it on about 3 occasions

It was about 16 months.

Have up as a challenge and i became aware that others in my family had been or were alcoholic. That gave me a bit of a scare so I challenged myself to go to Christmas. I'd got used to it and kept off it could the whole of the next year and then some until a mate's wedding. At 4am the following morning, making our way home from the New Town, one of the guys with me food me he'd counted me having 19 pints through the preceding 15 hours.

Never looked back.

I think about a week is my longest time. I had a stomach bug.

I enjoy a scotch or a glass of wine or 2 most days. Regular drinker, but not heavy. 

I'm not going to lie. Probably a week at most when I've had flu or some other ailment. I like a drink and I don't often kick the arse out of it. I drink beer because I enjoy it not to get pissed, ditto wine.

2 or 3 years. Stopped because I had to drive the kids to nursery and then school. Only really go out with my brother when he is over on holidays and dont touch the car the day after. Not had a drink since the 19th of September, a couple of pints of Murphy's in the Hard Rock Cafe in Krakow, just an anniversary thing, and a Honey Vodka on the way back to the hotel. I do love a cup of tea and prefer it to tell you the truth.

Sent from my FRD-L09 using Tapatalk

I'm currently on my 7th day.

It's not an addiction for me, rather a force of habit.  It gets to a Saturday night and I find myself having a few too many beers because "it's what I usually do".

My body and my wallet will thank me!

About a year around the time my son was born and i was f'n skint..

Since then I have had a 6 week spell and a couple of 1 month spells.. generally after long school holidays when I feel i have been on the sauce a bit too much so challenge myself to go a month without..

apart from the first time (when every night a new friend was in town or I was invited out to a party every weekend) i find it easy enough.. maybe because my life is more boring these days..

I have a Mrs who has never drank alcohol.. I drink to make her seem more interesting.. joke..

Always amuses me when you hear folk talking about how difficult it is to stay off the drink during these 'sober for whatever month' type things.

If you cant go a month without a drink you really need to take a long hard look at yourself IMO (folk with serious addiction problems aside obviously).

I very rarely ever drink these days and its not unusual in the slightest for me to go months at a time without touching the stuff without even really noticing I've done it.

That's not to say 'I don't drink' - i'm not in the business of actually trying to avoid the stuff for any state period of time or whatever, its just the choices I make.

The thought of going out and spending ?100+ on a night out and wakening up the morning after with nothing to show for it other than a hangover that'll render the next 2 days of your life useless does absolutely nothing for me any more.

I drink quite often. Pint before the match. Or maybe couple of drinks with a meal out. Maybe one can in the house with a curry.

Getting absolutely cattled though? Continually go months and months without doing it. Lucky if I'm hammered twice a year.

A month when in 2015 when I was on tablets. Not drank for two weeks but I tend to do this at the start of the year as I have usually sickened myself oh it after the festive season.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

I could permanently go without it tbh.

No idea what my longest stint is but if someone said never touch it again I wouldn't be too bothered.

I go a month off it once every 6 months or so. Usually when I have nothing planned for a few weekends to get a good run at it. 

Tends to be a full night out or nothing for me though, would happily sit in the pub with a softdrink watching the football midweek. 

6-8 weeks.

I drink most weekends but very rarely get absolutely hammered. Usually only about 4-6 pints equivalent. 

Did 3 months when volunteering in Fiji back in 2011. 

Currently on day 16, not missing it and feeling better for it. 

This dry January nonsense is a load of attention seeking pish.

Not really. If it helps people then why is it attention seeking?

I needed a break from it and dry January gives me an excuse.

This dry January nonsense is a load of attention seeking pish.

Agreed but only if it's the sort of people that tell you constantly that they're not drinking and keep updating you on progress, as if we care that you're a borderline alcoholic doing their absolute best at self control.

If it's people keeping to themselves about it, I can't see how that can be called attention seeking pish.

I went a couple of years once, I just went right off it.

I seldom drink now, although I'm still a Scotsman when it comes to a free bar at a wedding.

Captain America

In my late teens and very early 20s I drank to excess almost every single time I drank. Verging on a drink problem. 

Didn't really drink for a good 9 or 10 years, odd pint here or there but never much more than that. 

Will be 34 in August this year and think I have been total wrecked about 3 times since my 30th.

Have a whisky or 2 in house most Saturday nights now but could easy do without.

I like a beer however it's not a necessity. Longest I've gone without alcohol is roughly 9/10 months.

I think my biggest problem is I don't like a beer. I like several. And then some.

I can never have just one, I have to drink to excess each time, so it's easier if I just don't drink.

I'm the exact same with chocolate and sweets though :lol:

My coupon.

I have my own language.

All healed now with a nice trendy scar on my ruggedly handsome fizzog.

ha ok

3-4 months a few years ago while I was out of work.

I know a guy who doesn't touch a drop,even in the house, for around 18 months at a time. He'll then take 2 weeks off work for the sole purpose of going on a pure bender and once the holiday is over he's off it again for another year and a half.

Always amuses me when you hear folk talking about how difficult it is to stay off the drink during these 'sober for whatever month' type things.

If you cant go a month without a drink you really need to take a long hard look at yourself IMO (folk with serious addiction problems aside obviously).

I very rarely ever drink these days and its not unusual in the slightest for me to go months at a time without touching the stuff without even really noticing I've done it.

That's not to say 'I don't drink' - i'm not in the business of actually trying to avoid the stuff for any state period of time or whatever, its just the choices I make.

The thought of going out and spending ?100+ on a night out and wakening up the morning after with nothing to show for it other than a hangover that'll render the next 2 days of your life useless does absolutely nothing for me any more.

What do you do socially? Genuine question rather than a dig. Just interested. Maybe you are older than me.

I'm 29, got a lot of mates and we tend to catch up by meeting in the pub (whether to watch football, play pool, just blether or whatever else). That involves alcohol and more often that not, quite a lot of it.

I definitely see myself drinking less as the years go on but at the moment my social life still almost entirely revolves around alcohol. Am I an addict, of course not. I tend to drink no more than once a week (save for weekends away (e.g. stags)/summer holiday abroad and Christmas time). I am most definitely a binge drinker and I realise that that is not healthy, but neither is sitting in every single Saturday night bored out of your head.

I'm fit and healthy (on the outside anyway) despite my overindulging on a regular basis. Hopefully that continues.....

What do you do socially? Genuine question rather than a dig. Just interested. Maybe you are older than me.

I'm 29, got a lot of mates and we tend to catch up by meeting in the pub (whether to watch football, play pool, just blether or whatever else). That involves alcohol and more often that not, quite a lot of it.

I definitely see myself drinking less as the years go on but at the moment my social life still almost entirely revolves around alcohol. Am I an addict, of course not. I tend to drink no more than once a week (save for weekends away (e.g. stags)/summer holiday abroad and Christmas time). I am most definitely a binge drinker and I realise that that is not healthy, but neither is sitting in every single Saturday night bored out of your head.

I'm fit and healthy (on the outside anyway) despite my overindulging on a regular basis. Hopefully that continues.....

Haha, don't worry - i'm not some hermit without a life.

What do I do socially? Take your pick from any of the following.......

- karting

- spend a lot of time helping my mate out at his garage

- kayaking

- I travel to car shows up and down the country during the summer months

- snowboarding during the winter months (if we ever get some snow!)

- play a bit of pool when I get the chance

- try and do 2 track days a month at knockhill between March and about October

All of the above appeal more to me than just going to the pub to get wasted, and I think probably having all of the above as alternative ways to spend money give me good reason to not bother going out and blowing ?100+ on a night out.

I used to work beside a guy who maintained his wife never knew he took a drink, until one night he went home sober.