Pasquale Bruno

Cheile

Saw his name mentioned on another thread. What a guy, would love to have seen him "deal with" the likes of Kris Boyd, Gary O'Conner etc.

Was reminiscing with a fellow old Jambo about Pasquale about the game we played against Red Star Belgrade - Bruno was man marking this teenage wunderkind. And I mean marking. Intentionally standing on his toes as he walked backwards as the keeper kicked the ball upfield. The kid was taken off early In the second half. His job done, so was Pasquale. As he ran off to huge cheers, he ran to the away bench and kissed the lad on the cheek. Was like a scene from the Godfather. He was some man. (My wife fancied him rotten, but that's by the by)

Forget Boyd or O'Connor, he'd have left the likes of Scott Brown a quivering wreck.

Pasquale Bruno and taking prisoners weren't usually mentioned in the same sentence.

Mind nowadays he'd have spent more time sitting in the stand than he'd be playing.

He was loved in Bar Roma and had such style and presence he just belonged there. My favourite memory was the derby where he attempted to cut Gareth Evans in half. He stood with head bowed and hands behind his back while he was yellow carded then ran back to the centre of the defence smiling all over his face. I think its on YouTube along with some of his red cards from Italy. Total legend who helped Ritchie become the player he was

Fecking loved him. Was it Michael O'Neil he told JJ he was gonnae do, and then went knee high on him. Can't remember who O'Neil done to bring the wrath of Bruno. Ritchie?

Stephen Muddie

Fecking loved him. Was it Michael O'Neil he told JJ he was gonnae do, and then went knee high on him. Can't remember who O'Neil done to bring the wrath of Bruno. Ritchie?

Iirc he used to talk shit in the press re: HMFC.

A hibee custom that never dies

I absolutely loved the guy. He joined with Roussett (and the chap who couldnae score because of crowd noise). What he did was save us as we were in deep relegation form. He was hard as nails and genuinely terrified other teams. 100% every time from him and without doubt a hugely important signing.

Scared the shite out of Petric on Magic Johnston day. They didn't like it up em that day.

Thought this was a thread about a rumour of him rejoining us.

Would add some much needed experience to the back line.

Borders Jambo

Our cat is named after him. He is hard as nails, passionate and has no end of skill when catching / dealing with vermin.

Henry. Henry.

his first and iirc only goal was at Parkheid ..... that was a celebration like no other haha

I was there for that one. Right down the front. Magic moment. Think we got beat 3-1 though

I absolutely loved the guy. He joined with Roussett (and the chap who couldnae score because of crowd noise). What he did was save us as we were in deep relegation form. He was hard as nails and genuinely terrified other teams. 100% every time from him and without doubt a hugely important signing.

He was brought in at the same time as JJ promoted Ritchie and MacManus to the first team, and Bruno basically chaperoned the youngsters.

I can't remember the game, but I recall some opponent going in pretty hard on Ritchie, who required treatment before continuing.  The next passage of play, Bruno basically halfed the guy who had hacked Ritchie, then started to berate him for play acting as he writhed about on the pitch.  In the current game, it would have been a straight red, but I'm sure the ref only gave Bruno a stern talking to.

Drank with Pasquale a good few times.

Argued with him like, never. :whistling:

Hard as nails and pleasant as could be.

He was loved in Bar Roma and had such style and presence he just belonged there. My favourite memory was the derby where he attempted to cut Gareth Evans in half. He stood with head bowed and hands behind his back while he was yellow carded then ran back to the centre of the defence smiling all over his face. I think its on YouTube along with some of his red cards from Italy. Total legend who helped Ritchie become the player he was

Christ aye - Gareth Evans :rofl:

Was reminiscing with a fellow old Jambo about Pasquale about the game we played against Red Star Belgrade - Bruno was man marking this teenage wunderkind. And I mean marking. Intentionally standing on his toes as he walked backwards as the keeper kicked the ball upfield. The kid was taken off early In the second half. His job done, so was Pasquale. As he ran off to huge cheers, he ran to the away bench and kissed the lad on the cheek. Was like a scene from the Godfather. He was some man. (My wife fancied him rotten, but that's by the by)

I tell this story often, I'm sure the lad was Dejan Stankovic?

I've never seen anyone so 'man marked' as he was that night.

Had a huge impact in a formative team and obviously came to love the club in a short space of time. Loved watching him play.

As many have already said, he didn't take any shit from anyone.

In hindsight, he served HMFC very well.

Have we ever welcomed him back? Can't recall in recent years. Would be a great half time interview with Scott Wilson.

The Natural Order

Can't think of Bruno without remembering the game against Aberdeen at Tynie when he gave Dean Windass a proper slap. Hero!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Oh to have a team full of players with THAT kinda passion for the game and indeed the team.

BRUUUUUUUUUUUUUNOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

Looking back that was one hell of a signing to make. Guy was an absolute beast on the park and by all accounts a gentleman off it. Everything you would want in a defender. Put the fear of God into every striker.

The celebration after his goal at Parkhead was immense.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

Had a huge impact in a formative team and obviously came to love the club in a short space of time. Loved watching him play.

As many have already said, he didn't take any shit from anyone.

In hindsight, he served HMFC very well.

Could do with someone like that today. Great man.

Mr Bruno, would not last 10 mins with the current officials we have running the game. I used to go to watch Hearts but the thought of that guy playing for my team made it feel epic.

Absolutely loved Bruno. Great character with some genuine ability. Must have been frightening playing against him.

I remember an interview with JJ and he said that he was worried about a striker in a game then big Pasquale piped up and said something like "dont worry about him boss, I will take care of him".

Legend! 

Mr Bruno, would not last 10 mins with the current officials we have running the game. I used to go to watch Hearts but the thought of that guy playing for my team made it feel epic.

Collum , amongst others would probably have him at least booked whilst shaking hands before the game. Some guy and a gentleman as well.

My second best friend in the world (only coz you would not want him not to be a friend).

PS  my best friend for very similar reasons is someone who I have not seen for over thirty years but Alfredo is from Palermo and that is several levels above Pasquale scary

I tell this story often, I'm sure the lad was Dejan Stankovic?

I've never seen anyone so 'man marked' as he was that night.

Not Dejan Stankovic....the wunderkid was Perica Ognjenovic. Bruno must have scared him shitless. Got a move to Real Madrid 2 years later but only played 12 games before fading into obscurity back home in Serbia. Played a measly 225 games and scoring just 37 goals in an eighteen year career.

I'll never foget his sending off at ibrox ("we'll support you till their's 4"). I was in the rangers end in the club deck(my mate got comps through his work) and the rangers fans were going absolutely mental as he proceeded to applaud all 4 stands. He had bollocks bigger than king kong! An absolute legend.

Was it not Chris Jackson?

As you can see from my name I loved the guy, no idea why we haven't went and got more Italians as he and Salvatore were both successful.

GL278961.jpg

Loved that special edition of the kit which they wore in the European ties and League Cup Final. It was a proper shade of Maroon compared to all the ones we had around that era.

I'm sure Stankovij was the dirty b who punched Davy MacPherson in the stomach in the Majorca game at Tynecastle and the big man seriously lost it

I remember him taking Joe Miller out as he was about to cross the halfway line up at Pittodrie, cynical but effective.

Joe Miller was a wee 'tic shit that deserved it.

Do you remember Bruno's rugby tackle on the teenage winger? How Bruno got away with a yellow card only?? Very amusing and relief after only yellow given.

I'll never foget his sending off at ibrox ("we'll support you till their's 4"). I was in the rangers end in the club deck(my mate got comps through his work) and the rangers fans were going absolutely mental as he proceeded to applaud all 4 stands. He had bollocks bigger than king kong! An absolute legend.

I too was at Ibrox that day. Gerry Evans lost the plot completely, but I have to say that Bruno let the club down badly that day.

I liked Bruno a lot and used to drink with him and Stephane Paille in Indigo Yard - used to eat often in the Italian place around the corner.  Anyway, I was sure it was Stankovic he marked out of the game.

My only bad memory of him was that Bruno's lazy marking let Ally McCoist score twice at the 4-3 League Cup Final.