memories of the 80s

cookieboy

Took the wife to ER before we were married, she thought all the stories were a wind up. After almost being knocked down by a police horse when it kicked off outside (she had on earmuffs because it was cold and she didn't hear them coming) we went through the turnstiles. To be met by a river of piss coming down the lane up to the Dunbar end, she still goes on about how it ruined her shoes.

It was like a waterfall of urine flowing down the slope ...... lol

• Replies 516

• Mars plastic

• smiler

• Caramoon

Lottery tickets

Not only did I get pestered every other week walking into Tynecastle to buy the Hearts Lottery scratch cards I used to get it every day at work for a year.

When I was in the first year of my apprenticeship our storeman used to come round in the morning every day and hassle us into buying them of him. If you didn't buy them he was a tosser to you the rest of the day.

Every home game he was the first guy on the terrace when you came in - I used to dodge him like the plague :) 

Willie Maltman, he was the storeman in Ferranti when I was an apprentice. He was a PHM

I should read the whole of the thread before I post - yeah he was a proper Hearts man but he was also a proper pain in the arse if you were an apprentice and he was trying to take your (very low) wages every day off you and guilt tripping all the young guys if you didn't buy them :)

He was our storeman at South Gyle Training centre 1988.

Sure the first thing I heard every working morning for a year was 'are you Willie's pal today or no?' LOL :)

Edited by queensferryjambo

Not only did I get pestered every other week walking into Tynecastle to buy the Hearts Lottery scratch cards I used to get it every day at work for a year.

When I was in the first year of my apprenticeship our storeman used to come round in the morning every day and hassle us into buying them of him. If you didn't buy them he was a tosser to you the rest of the day.

Every home game he was the first guy on the terrace when you came in - I used to dodge him like the plague :)

Other posters have confirmed that he was Willie Maltman, a storeman at Ferranti.  I was also a Ferranti apprentice and remember him selling them at work and also as you came into Tynie from McLeod street and onto the Roseburn end terrance, as I headed for the shed with all the other young-uns.

Great days.

Riots at every away game in the old first division, Dumfries, Killie , Airdrie "Barrell vaults boozer", Ayr united, Brockville,  the list was endless. Our bus going to Dumbarton , along great western road where quite a few shops are from the Asian community , every single window was faced out with a bare arse. :qqb004: 52 seater bus , no mobiles or grasses in they days, just mad "fun"

Clerrie Hearts !! :smug2:

went wi the clerry bus , great bunch of guys, 

Other posters have confirmed that he was Willie Maltman, a storeman at Ferranti.  I was also a Ferranti apprentice and remember him selling them at work and also as you came into Tynie from McLeod street and onto the Roseburn end terrance, as I headed for the shed with all the other young-uns.

Great days.

Yeah I caught the other posts after posting :) 

Same for me - First job, getting paid, spending my wages on following Hearts home and away and sneaking into the pubs and actually getting served, decent team on the park.

It really was a good time to follow Hearts.

boy_in_maroon

Some cracking memories being brought back on this thread.

Always remember getting free panini stickers, in what was then the old family enclosure.

The songs on the tannoy before the game. ABC's when smokie sings.

Even now when I hear it, my first thought is being at tynecastle.

The old Baffies, you used to get as Christmas presents.

Also the little bars of soap. Think you got 6 in the packet, anyone remember them?

Hibs beat us about twice in that whole decade. Playing 4 times a season as well.

No bosman, no stupid money.

I should read the whole of the thread before I post - yeah he was a proper Hearts man but he was also a proper pain in the arse if you were an apprentice and he was trying to take your (very low) wages every day off you and guilt tripping all the young guys if you didn't buy them :)

He was our storeman at South Gyle Training centre 1988.

Sure the first thing I heard every working morning for a year was 'are you Willie's pal today or no?' LOL :)

Same year as myself was at Robbie ave we had old Norrie

Sing what you wanted and no internet wombles to cast a knitted eyebrow

From Whitley Bay to Paris when thousands of Hearts fans went mental

From the lower echelons of football to chasing the League and a Cup Final

Double Deckers at away games

4k plus at Rangers and Celtic was not that exceptionable

Gorgie Rules

Remember going to Darkhead on a Wednesday & we had about 3K there & thinking what a pish turnout it was.

Be lucky if we take 300 there now.

as we are in retro 80s memory week who remembers the guy selling rolls etc , getting smacked full puss with the ball at Clydebank in 85/86

I remeber that well. Wee fat guy. I was stood quite near him when it happened. Felt a bit sorry for him. Ended up with a bloodied nose. 

Killie away one wed night. Armillan bus never turned up. Made the mistake of getting on the Gorgie Sons of William at Haymarket run by Bernie. Wee guy on the way back thought it would be funny to sing a song slagging Bernie. He was promptly relieved of his jeans and they were tossed on to the moors never to be seen again. Anyone else want to sing a song? Eh no you're all right thanks.

The shed. When it was full for the big games it was the best. Night games the likes of Bayern Miunich when we were like sardines and couldn't actually raise your arms these were the days

Remember going to Darkhead on a Wednesday & we had about 3K there & thinking what a pish turnout it was.

Be lucky if we take 300 there now.

Was watching this midweek game at Parkhead from 1986 just the other night. Very impressive away support.

I went down to boro back in the 90s,quite an eye opener,first time I'd been on a supporter bus and been stopped about two or three miles outside boro by the police and had the bus searched, also remember lockey and his brother standing on cases of beer getting a rendition of the hearts song going on the hard shoulder of the motorway,we then got a police escort to a boozer of the police's choosing,then another one to the game ,driving to the ground I seen why it seemed like every man woman and child lined the streets giving us a nice north east welcome lol think it was Tommy McLean's first game in charge and we lost 3-1 great experience tho ,I was only 14/15 and went down on the ardmillan bus happy days HHGH!

Sent from my Vodafone Smart Tab 4G using Tapatalk

Lockie was pissed at the game he was behind me on the terracing with his auld man Danny, can't mind much about the game cos I was pissed as well but we were three nil down and the ref awarded us a penalty which was about a mile outside the box wee Robbo scored. Think the ref felt sorry for us. Brian Robson's first game in charge of Boro apologies if I have got any of this wrong memory fades with age.

Was watching this midweek game at Parkhead from 1986 just the other night. Very impressive away support.

Top scenes!

The one I'm thinking of we were 2 up & totally forked it up losing 3-2, the winner, as per, right at the death. Grrrr.

80's was an amazing decade for the football. Out complete dominance of hibs, beating Bayern, Dundee United 0-3 at Tannadice in April '86, Celtic 1-0 at Tynie in Feb '87, Dave McPherson scoring a screamer of a free kick on a Wednesday night at Tynie in '87( he remembered it very well when I met him at monty's), beating Rangers at Tynie in the SC '86, JC's late show against the Dons in '86, Robbo's scissor kick injury time goal against Rangers in '84, the big pie stand at the Wheatfiekd entrance, walking in at that end against hibs to hear their casuals chanting 'CCS CCS'. Could go on forever here...

Laura Brannigan - Self Control

George Michael & Aretha - Knew you Were Waiting

Alphaville - Big in Japan

Murray Head - One Night in Bangkok

Top scenes!

The one I'm thinking of we were 2 up & totally forked it up losing 3-2, the winner, as per, right at the death. Grrrr.

How many goals did McLair, McGhee, Walker and Coybe must have scored against us??!

The mayhem of non promotion day v. Motherwell in '82, Boghead a year later, 3-2 v. Hibs, 1985/86, cracking European nights, Wallace, Doddie, Robbo, JC, the 2 Sandy's...

The decade Heart of Midlothian came back from the brink.

How many goals did McLair, McGhee, Walker and Coybe must have scored against us??!

Don't go there mate. Cone especially used to just loaf about our box & seem to be invisible to our defence & score when he felt like it.

Not my favourite memory of the time! 1st time going to Ibronx in the LC semi in 82' , with a massive support full of nutjobs & smashing it up is though! :lol:

The mayhem of non promotion day v. Motherwell in '82, Boghead a year later, 3-2 v. Hibs, 1985/86, cracking European nights, Wallace, Doddie, Robbo, JC, the 2 Sandy's...

The decade Heart of Midlothian came back from the brink.

Cracking days (apart from the Motherwell game though). Good pitch invasion at Boghead when we went back up a year later though.

It was good fun traveling away back then.

Beach end at Pittodrie was usually full of us. Even Parkhead was quite safe and we usually had a good support through there.

Then we had the unique experiences of Broomfield, Kilbowie, Love Street, Brockville, Somerset, etc, standing on the old terraces.

Stinking toilets which were essentially a wall with a wee trough at your feet.

Seeing the Hearts players waiting on the team bus along the route.

Cracking days (apart from the Motherwell game though). Good pitch invasion at Boghead when we went back up a year later though.

I was on the Boghead pitch twice that day. At half time hundreds of us just walked the length of it to get behind the goals for the 2nd half then piling on at full time.

Happy days. :D

Yeh 80's kinda blurry.

Ferranti, Robbie Ave, South Gyle, Silverknowes, West Shore Road, Granton House, Dalkeith & Crewe Toll.

This employer was the dugs baws, unlike the current imposters...Leo ****kin nardo MW Ltd.

Ferranti, Ferranti International (biggest corporate sting in British history), GEC Marconi, BAE Systems, Selex and now Leonardo MW Ltd.

Six and a half thousand of a workforce at one stage.

Payed us on a Thursday...daft *******s, 5 bob (25p) for perfect time keeping, overtime weekend passes, WTF?

Motor was handbraked in the social club carpark all weekend, always had a broken down note on the windscreen.

Great banter in the club prior to derby game, might have been my imagination but there seemed to be fun segregation in there.

Nice bursds tae! can't say anymore.

Golden Goal tickets

That long walk to Cappielow from where they parked the buses in the wind and rain

Must admit I liked the trips to Forfar, Montrose, Brechin etc

The "toilet" at Links Park - there was a door shaped whole in the wall at th back of the terracing

You walked through it and you were in a field behing the ground and pissed on the wall!

The three game Cup tie against Montrose was epic

The win against Dundee Utd in the LC when we were a First Division team in the pouring rain when Busby

duffed a penalty in the mud and it hardly reached the goal line

Drew Busby's two 20 yarders at Tynie in 2-0 win over Celtic

The two late goals to draw with Rangers

Crawford Boyd!!

Killie away one wed night. Armillan bus never turned up. Made the mistake of getting on the Gorgie Sons of William at Haymarket run by Bernie. Wee guy on the way back thought it would be funny to sing a song slagging Bernie. He was promptly relieved of his jeans and they were tossed on to the moors never to be seen again. Anyone else want to sing a song? Eh no you're all right thanks.

I was on the bus that night, I think it was Simon Scally (nickname} who was relieved of his jeans

Bernie, Bernie, Bernie's the bear for me........

?Edit He may have thrown his shoes out of the window as well

Edited by godandgorgie2012

A bomb scare at Motherwell.

Miners collection buckets during the strike.

Tynecastle bus to Prague.Some numpty being sick on the same bus in Gorgie Road.

Aberdeen beach end being rammed,then a night out in Montrose to finish the day off.

Coming back from Dumfries with most of the bus windows missing,dishing out ice lollies from the freezer we had lifted from a chippy. Mental days with the Drylaw and district SC.

Bus back from Aberdeen breaking down at snow covered kinross services and some wag saying the only thing that makes this funny is some poor sod is meeting his bird at Frasers at 8 and is gonna get pelters for standing her up. Aye Me! And I did lol. Before mob phones obviously.

Golden Goal tickets

That long walk to Cappielow from where they parked the buses in the wind and rain

Must admit I liked the trips to Forfar, Montrose, Brechin etc

The "toilet" at Links Park - there was a door shaped whole in the wall at th back of the terracing

You walked through it and you were in a field behing the ground and pissed on the wall!

The three game Cup tie against Montrose was epic

The win against Dundee Utd in the LC when we were a First Division team in the pouring rain when Busby

duffed a penalty in the mud and it hardly reached the goal line

Drew Busby's two 20 yarders at Tynie in 2-0 win over Celtic

The two late goals to draw with Rangers

Crawford Boyd!!

Most of thats the 70s though they were all brilliant

It was good fun traveling away back then.

Beach end at Pittodrie was usually full of us. Even Parkhead was quite safe and we usually had a good support through there.

Then we had the unique experiences of Broomfield, Kilbowie, Love Street, Brockville, Somerset, etc, standing on the old terraces.

Stinking toilets which were essentially a wall with a wee trough at your feet.

Seeing the Hearts players waiting on the team bus along the route.

Ahh the Beach end at Pittodrie. What trips they were. Forfar for a good few pints then on the way back too. We took some tankings up there but I mind (sure it was 1989) when we went up and won 1-3 with Tosh McKinlay scoring a belter to open the scoring. Pretty sure that was the Crabbo /Sandison dance game as well ? We packed a that end. Also a 2-2 draw that saw Ian Feevuson score a last minute equaliser from a saved penalty rebound. These were amazing days for away games.

Best one was the 1-0 win in 86. JC scored 5 mins from the end at the Beach end. Were like sardines that day, place went wild. Fergies Dons were a big scalp up there at the time

Lads, the Boro away friendly you talk of was in the late 70's was it not......

You're actually dead right!

The town in NE England that our bus got kept overnight in was called Morpeth.

Ayresome Park trip was pretty terrifying, think a lot of Hearts fans got a doing.

Saying that, I'd do it all again tomorrow!

You're actually dead right!

The town in NE England that our bus got kept overnight in was called Morpeth.

Ayresome Park trip was pretty terrifying, think a lot of Hearts fans got a doing.

Saying that, I'd do it all again tomorrow!

It still is

It still is

Morpeth rings a bell.

I think Davy McCreery lived there when he signed/played for us.

My random memory for the evening. :D

Morpeth rings a bell.

I think Davy McCreery lived there when he signed/played for us.

My random memory for the evening. :D

Thanks for that vital support Mart! :wink:

I was referring to my post of last night when I could'nt remember the name of the town!

Nice wee toon, never been in any pubs there but the wife has family in Ashington so we travel through it often, be better once they complete the bypass from the A1

Some great memories; pretty much all my memories tbh.

Don't go there mate. Cone especially used to just loaf about our box & seem to be invisible to our defence & score when he felt like it.

Not my favourite memory of the time! 1st time going to Ibronx in the LC semi in 82' , with a massive support full of nutjobs & smashing it up is though! :lol:

My very first Hearts game; was hooked instantly.

Nice wee toon, never been in any pubs there but the wife has family in Ashington so we travel through it often, be better once they complete the bypass from the A1

After the Middlesbrough 'friendly' we stopped in Morpeth for erm...chips. Liquid chips called beer. A few Jambos went into a club (disco?) and someone was stabbed. Our supporters bus was held overnight until investigations were completed.

Got home like 24 hours later than expected. Mum and dad said they'd missed me.

Thanks mum and dad :whistling:

UEFA 88/89 great memories!

Dublin; picked up my ticket from the Jury's hotel, never checked the ko time, assumed 7:30pm wondered why it was so quiet near the ground! Missed first 5 minutes. 98% of St Pats fans were great the others I'd rather not say.

Vienna; its was so cold could only get warm in the toilets at ht! Galloway what a goal

Munich; flew out from H/row on the Sunday morning on arrival ditched my wife and headed to the Bayern Munich vs Hamburg game! Met some great guys on that trip (one was a Scott Herbertson often wonder if it the one that posts on here), beer kellers were great! We deserved something from that game, result was harsh.

PS Mostar; I never went, but the tales indicated it was rather grim, was on the brink of war