memories of the 80s

cookieboy

as we are in retro 80s memory week who remembers the guy selling rolls etc , getting smacked full puss with the ball at Clydebank in 85/86

• Replies 516

• Mars plastic

• smiler

• Caramoon

It was a good racket when you think about it. Spend a few quid on rolls and cooked ham etc, fire them into a box and punt them at the game. Macaroon bars another avenue for the local entrepreneur !

Things have changed...those dudes would be hunted now......all about the money, honey !

It was a good racket when you think about it. Spend a few quid on rolls and cooked ham etc, fire them into a box and punt them at the game. Macaroon bars another avenue for the local entrepreneur !

Things have changed...those dudes would be hunted now......all about the money, honey !

FFS forgot the macaroon baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaars

Mince rolls in The Plough in Dundee. Bizarre but brilliant. One of the best pre-game pubs going. Never a cross word with the locals. Even before THAT game.

Lottery tickets

I remember that wee guy.  He used to work in Ferranti at Robertson Avenue IIRC.  I alway bought one, but never won.

Archie introducing Sportscene standing on Tynie in the dark with pished up punters singing Hearts songs in the background in the Gorgie flats

Hampden - Erra pies, Erra macaroon bars.

When Hearts scored and you were in the 'Rangers end' the red dust from the terrace went up yer feckin nose and took about two days to come back down again!

Edited by Morgan

Archie introducing Sportscene standing on Tynie in the dark with pished up punters singing Hearts songs in the background in the Gorgie flats

Archie introduced Sportscene one Saturday night saying "these pies are the best " or words to hat effect

Mince rolls in The Plough in Dundee. Bizarre but brilliant. One of the best pre-game pubs going. Never a cross word with the locals. Even before THAT game.

Bang on

counting how many away supporters were in the Gorgie Road end when we were relegated

(i'm maybe imagining this) One WC serving the whole School End and Shed, with a steward standing guard over it and not letting you in if he felt like it

Rivers of pee running down the terrace when we had a big crowd

Sing what you wanted and no internet wombles to cast a knitted eyebrow

From Whitley Bay to Paris when thousands of Hearts fans went mental

From the lower echelons of football to chasing  the League and a Cup Final

Double Deckers at away games

4k plus at Rangers and Celtic was not that exceptionable

Gorgie Rules

I remember that wee guy.  He used to work in Ferranti at Robertson Avenue IIRC.  I alway bought one, but never won.

Aye that was Willie Maltman, a store man in Ferranti.

i bought loads of those scratch card things off him and won bog all!

Sing what you wanted and no internet wombles to cast a knitted eyebrow

From Whitley Bay to Paris when thousands of Hearts fans went mental

From the lower echelons of football to chasing  the League and a Cup Final

Double Deckers at away games

4k plus at Rangers and Celtic was not that exceptionable

Gorgie Rules

Going to friendlies at Middlesbrough and Southampton.

Getting gubbed.

Not giving a feck about the result.

Being pished.

Watching John Roberstson and the reign of Alex Macdonald who put the pride back in hearts.

Hearts legends both.

Robbo :notworthy:

counting how many away supporters were in the Gorgie Road end when we were relegated

(i'm maybe imagining this) One WC serving the whole School End and Shed, with a steward standing guard over it and not letting you in if he felt like it

Rivers of pee running down the terrace when we had a big crowd

There were the bogs at the School end turnstiles and the corner shed bogs. Don't remember any stewards getting in the way of someone desperate for a pish. They would have got it roond aboot them !

Aye that was Willie Maltman, a store man in Ferranti.

i bought loads of those scratch card things off him and won bog all!

He must have developed a way of keeping all the winners to himself. :tiny:

Boro was scary as

Got home 24 hours later than we should have.

Whole bus load was kept in a wee town in NE England overnight by the police after a stabbing incident.

Got beat 3-0 too!

Whitley Bay was something else

I dont think the natives thought that Hearts would bring around 2k or so

Nuts from the off and after

13 Nov 1976, according to London Hearts. 3pm Saturday kickoff. Can anyone remember why neither team had a regular league game, just seems strange?

I went to Ayresome Park for the 90s friendly but a lot of folk from our SC refused to go as they took a right kicking on that previous visit.

Edited by smiler

There were the bogs at the School end turnstiles and the corner shed bogs. Don't remember any stewards getting in the way of someone desperate for a pish. They would have got it roond aboot them !

I meant for a crap, was there any other seated facilities for say 8,000 fans?

Sorry, can't say i've ever seen a friend off to the coast at Tynie, old Tynie, so can't answer that.

kaptainkevman

Outside the turnstiles on McCleod Street, just before k.o. Especially before a big game game,the place was buzzing!!

Lads, the Boro away friendly you talk of was in the late 70's was it not......

Played Boro lates 80's as well im sure.

Edited by Tott

I went to Ayresome Park for the 90s friendly but a lot of folk from our SC refused to go as they took a right kicking on that previous visit.

I went down to boro back in the 90s,quite an eye opener,first time I'd been on a supporter bus and been stopped about two or three miles outside boro by the police and had the bus searched, also remember lockey and his brother standing on cases of beer getting a rendition of the hearts song going on the hard shoulder of the motorway,we then got a police escort to a boozer of the police's choosing,then another one to the game ,driving to the ground I seen why it seemed like every man woman and child lined the streets giving us a nice north east welcome lol think it was Tommy McLean's first game in charge and we lost 3-1 great experience tho ,I was only 14/15 and went down on the ardmillan bus happy days HHGH!

Sent from my Vodafone Smart Tab 4G using Tapatalk

The piss flowing down Easter road

Took the wife to ER before we were married, she thought all the stories were a wind up. After almost being knocked down by a police horse when it kicked off outside (she had on earmuffs because it was cold and she didn't hear them coming) we went through the turnstiles. To be met by a river of piss coming down the lane up to the Dunbar end, she still goes on about how it ruined her shoes.

Started going when I was seven years old, in 1986. In all honesty, I remember good performances and great performances, but I also remember small crowds and shite head tennis games too.

I used to stand with my dad at the school end at the time, just to the right of the crazy corner as you look up from the pitch.

My first memory of going was walking up the stairs as a wee boy and watching the stadium opening up in front of me.

Edited by The Earl of Mothsbery

Riots at every away game in the old first division, Dumfries, Killie , Airdrie "Barrell vaults boozer", Ayr united, Brockville,  the list was endless. Our bus going to Dumbarton , along great western road where quite a few shops are from the Asian community , every single window was faced out with a bare arse. :qqb004: 52 seater bus , no mobiles or grasses in they days, just mad "fun"

Clerrie Hearts !! :smug2:

Always had fond memories of late comers entering Tynie and walking past the goals towards the shed. 

You kind of got to know their faces and places, actually got hacked off with how many turned up late for games. Sometimes twenty minutes into the match, folk were trickling in.

Really believing anything was possible under Doddie. Expecting to win every game. Big, big change from the days before and after.

1-1 away to Dundee in the 85/86 season. They went up early on and when we equalised I honestly believed that their "main" stand, where I was sat, was going to collapse. It was bouncing in there. The terracing looked totally manic too.

Shame my return visit was as memorable but that time it was for all the wrong reasons :sob:

Edited by Marvin

I remember that wee guy. He used to work in Ferranti at Robertson Avenue IIRC. I alway bought one, but never won.

Willie Maltman, he was the storeman in Ferranti when I was an apprentice. He was a PHM