Crap celebrity sighting

GlasgoJambo

• Replies 463
Rupert Pupkin

Was also painting Grand Cru on night shift during the festival a number of years back, and Rich Hall poked his head in and asked what I was doing working at this hour, and whether I wanted to go for a drink instead. An offer I should have probably taken him up on.

Rupert Pupkin

Was also painting Grand Cru on night shift during the festival a number of years back, and Rich Hall poked his head in and asked what I was doing working at this hour, and whether I wanted to go for a drink instead. An offer I should have probably taken him up on.

Jean Boht (Ma Boswell in Bread).

Walked into Scotmid in Bath Street about 10 years ago and the first thing I saw was her huge arse. She had bent down to take something from a bottom shelf (the Kenneth Williams emojiers will have a field day).

Spoke to her a few mins later in the bevvy aisle. Nice lady.

I didn't mention her eclipse causing Boht...sorry, butt.

I must be in the running for the prize of "crap celebrity sighting".

Edit: I hope she's not deid.

Brian McCardie who played Alisdair McGregor in Rob Roy. Also in Filth and the TV series Outlander. One of the nicest people I've met. A genuinely nice guy.

Brian is indeed a good bloke.

Craig Gordons Gloves

I've met many celebrities/famous people and also had quite a few sightings.

But as this is crap celebrity sightings I'd like to point out that after the Dundee v Hearts game in the early 90s (where Henry missed a penalty) I went out to Destihls to get drunk with mates and ended up arguing with Mike Teasdale as I was convinced he was Jim Hamilton. Gerry Britton stepped in and bought us a beer, ended up drinking with a few of them for an hour or so. Still convinced that Jim Hamilton was pretending to be Teasdale

Oh, and I'm staying in a hotel in Albany NY tonight, apparently Carrie Underwood is staying here too. Tomorrow night! So does that count as a nearly sighting?

Rodger Mellie

Most recently, Vince McMahon waiting on his limo. Didn't recognize him it was the boy I work with who told me who he was.

Craig Gordons Gloves

For future reference for Jupitus stalkers he actually lives on Broughton Street. Dylan Moran lives in the New Town.

I saw Dylan Moran on Monday night in Minneapolis, he was feckin hilarious.

Not exactly crap sightings then.

I saw John Leslie at The One Spa above The Sheraton. My other half at the time said to him she recognised him from somewhere. He gave a nod and a smirk to suggest he was "sort of a big deal". She then followed it up with "You shop at TV Maxx don't you?" He moved on to one of the other facilities quite swiftly after that.

Other crap sightings include Callum Best, Bianca Gascoigne and Alisha Dixon in Puerto Banus. Trevor from Eastenders (he was in it 10 - 15 years ago but think he was doing a stage show in Edinburgh at the time).

Fair point. Mis-read the title.

Crap sightings.....

Both Proclaimers.

Paul Kane, that is one ugly ****.

Nicholas Parsons, at the Fringe.

I had a pint with Ant from Ant and Dec during the festival many moons ago. He seemed alright but was more interested in trying to get his Nat King Cole off his ex bursd. Which is fair enough really

Also saw Jean Claude Van Dam in Cannes and Roger Moore in Monaco.

I shook Louis C.K's hand when I seen him round Edinburgh during the festival

Sent from my LG-H850 using Tapatalk

Forgot I've also met Ron Jeremy in customs at Auckland airport. He was in the queue, not checking passports.

I sold Sandy Clark a three pin plug many years ago. He was wearing his big early nineties manager's jacket.

It was an electrifying experience.

I sold that wee fud Darren Jackson a portable TV again years ago.

He wanted a discount because it was off the shelf with no box. I refused to reduce the price. If it was Alan Mclaren then he might have got a fiver off.

I mention Alan because I used to see him at the Fort now and again, when the old cinema and 10 pin bowling place were there. He always had a very red face.

Anyway, I had to carry the TV out to the car because Jackson's bint said he was injured. :laugh:

I bought a copy of Big Slim's autobiography from him in the club shop around '95.

There was no one else there at the time. I felt a little sorry for him.

When I spoke to him at his wee table, my legs started to shake because confronted by a total legend, I became very nervous.

The Alan Mclaren " red" face is a family thing. His sister and mother have one i recall. 

Most recently, Vince McMahon waiting on his limo. Didn't recognize him it was the boy I work with who told me who he was.

That is absolutely not a crap celeb sighting. Vince :pray:

I was at the Reading Rooms in Dundee last Easter and went to the "green room" after it and had a chat with Andrew Weatherall.  Have to admit I wasn't my usual coherent self, but he was very pleasant.

Not that crap really.

I did walk past Terence Trent D'Arby in London many moons ago.  That's pretty crap.

Said alright to Alan McInally at Schipol airport and he said "awrite big man" back.

When I worked in the sample room 2 guys came into the bar. They seen someone at the end of the bar and started hassling gimme saying "you're Tommy Sheridan, aren't you". The guy kept denying it and was clearly getting pissed off. Now, I had no clue who Tommy Sheridan was at the time. I told the guys to leave him alone, they argued with me, so they were told to leave the bar straight away.

Straight after that the guy seen me sitting down for my break and bought me a pint. He said thanks for sorting that out and yes he was actually Tommy Sheridan. What a know, maybe this explains my hatred for socialism.

Riddley Walker

Well mate, you did ask :lol:

Was driving through the Cowgate when I saw this guy in a pure white suit with his wife. As soon as I slowed down I realised it was him. They get in and we're chatting away and the both of them couldn't be friendlier. We're having a great chat and I say ' I loved watching you in the Likely Lads, it was one of my favourite programs'...cue awkward silence!!! Ok, I just carry on chatting and so does his wife, but he then blanks me for the rest of the journey and just walks off when he gets out. His wife couldn't have been nicer, but wtf is his problem, he did star in the program ffs. I could see the problem if I had said that it was shoite, but I complemented it.

Sounds like it wasn't him and he was offended mate.

My son and I sat opposite Gary Mackay on the train back from the PNE friendly a few years ago.He entertained us all the way back to Edinburgh.His fat mate was an arsehole of the highest order.He must have 50,000 posts on here by now.

Forgot I've also met Ron Jeremy in customs at Auckland airport. He was in the queue, not checking passports.

I think Ive seen that one.

Not all of it just the first 15 minutes or so.

Were you the redhead?

Once met Craig Charles in the queue for the old Subway West End. Asked him why the **** he was drinking in that shithole. Had a beer with him at the bar before he headed off, pulled some random bursd, and headed off to the bogs with her.

I also met Eddie Hearn at the Hilton in Liverpool about 18 months ago.

I was down for a conference and had just come back from the Gala dinner.  We were all staying there, and there was a fight night on Sky from Liverpool on the Friday, so the place was full of boxers, promotors, sponsors etc.

Anyway, I'd had a couple but went to speak to Eddie Hearn and he was sound.  Told him to tell his dad he was spot on about Scottish football.  Eddie then introduced me to all his entourage and we had a chat.  One lad started gettinga  bit wide and a scouse sponsor pulled him up and he went quiet as a mouse.  The scouse lad was sound.  A Toffee, so we had a good blether and drink.

Eddie also obliged with the standard "5-1" pic.

Once sat next to Romanov on a flight out of Edinburgh one transfer deadline day. Heavy snow, so we were stuck on runway for four hours.

The crap part of this was spotting Maurice Ross sitting across the aisle from us. I was terrified Vlad was going to lean over and offer him a contract.

Joe Mangle once sat down and joined my mates and I for a pint and to give us free tickets for a festival show his son was doing.

Scott Brown's missus lived on my street so I used to see him quite a lot and I met John Leslie at a pantomime about 12 years ago. Think I win this one.

Scott Brown smiled and waved me out of the junction at the end of our street the other day. I seem him at least twice a week.

Other crap celebs who cross my path regularly include Derek Riordan(who's dad Ive known and studiously avoided for years)always says hello to me. Stephen Jardine who is often on my bus on a Tuesday and Judy Murray who often gets the same bus so must know someone down our way but doesn't seem to have anything to do with Stephen Jardine.

John Leslie was sniffing about my teenage daughter at a club a few years ago and I am still to pull him up about that. He's a very weird and scary man apparently.

I work in hotels so we see c listers and some b listers all the time but I'm not counting any of those

Saw Ade Adepitan wheeling along George IV Bridge few months ago.

Also had the pleasure of meeting Colin Chisholm in The Laich a year or so ago. Although, that's really not crap at all in my book.

A common denominator here seems to be John Leslie.

I have twice seen him 'in action'.

Not nice.

Awaiting a :oohmatron: from Jonno for the 'in action' comment by the way :whistling:

Scott Brown smiled and waved me out of the junction at the end of our street the other day. I seem him at least twice a week.Other crap celebs who cross my path regularly include Derek Riordan(who's dad Ive known and studiously avoided for years)always says hello to me. Stephen Jardine who is often on my bus on a Tuesday and Judy Murray who often gets the same bus so must know someone down our way but doesn't seem to have anything to do with Stephen Jardine.John Leslie was sniffing about my teenage daughter at a club a few years ago and I am still to pull him up about that. He's a very weird and scary man apparently.I work in hotels so we see c listers and some b listers all the time but I'm not counting any of those

I drove Scott Brown and his wife home one night and I hate to say this, but he couldn't have been nicer. I really dislike him as a player and inside probably hoped he was going to be the same in person, but he comes across as a really decent guy. I'm off now to was my mouth out, I feel dirty for saying that.

I once served Tommy Cannon in the old John Menzies in Waverley Station.

My dad chased Bobby Ball around town thinking he was my grandad many moons ago. :lol:

Served Craig Gordon just after he made his debut with us. Needed a new aerial for his Peugeot 106.

Good detail Ewan. What colour was his motor?

Stopped at a lay by on way to Alton Towers as a kid. Turns out there was a GMTV roadshow thing on that day. Me and my cousin went for a slash and both went to walk out as you do when your a kid and this voice calls out. "You! what a disgusting little children. Wash your hands"

Was that lycra clad fud Mr Motivator :rofl:

I drove Scott Brown and his wife home one night and I hate to say this, but he couldn't have been nicer. I really dislike him as a player and inside probably hoped he was going to be the same in person, but he comes across as a really decent guy. I'm off now to was my mouth out, I feel dirty for saying that.

Can also vouch for him being sound irl. Obviously a total ***** on the pitch though.

Joe Mangle once sat down and joined my mates and I for a pint and to give us free tickets for a festival show his son was doing.

I'd forgotten about that! :lol:

:strewth:

Hazel Irvine at the top of ben laws

Darius Danesh is the toilets at the Treetops Hotel in Aberdeen- so small he should really have sat down

Wouldn't worry about it. Its pretty well known that he's invented this Mr Nasty persona which is for football environment consumption only. He laughs at it himself apparently and gives 'the stare' on command if you ask him. He's around our area all the time and apparently he's a good egg away from football by all accounts.

I could give a raft of them but the crappest had to be Callum Best last year in the Edinburgh Airport Wetherspoon's. Couple of the waitresses asked him for a photo, he asked for some free chips, I asked the waitresses who he was.

:clap:

My wife and I saw Norman Whiteside at Edinburgh airport many years ago. We saw a wee boy ask for an autograph.

He refused and said he wasn't that person.

It was definitely him.