Heart of Midlothian

jamtartan74

What does supporting Hearts mean to you?.

Being a non edinburger, I put up with a fair bit of stick from mates who support the gruesome twosome but would feel a huge sense of pride if asked my team, it's Hearts, obviously, grinning ear to ear, the usual sniggers and the inevitable 'Hearts are pish' nonsense would ensue, but nah **** that, I'm not having that. For me (and I'm sure I'm not alone) supporting Hearts is much more than supporting a football team, Gorgie is special to me even though I'm only there on match day, the walk from Haymarket to Gorgie still gives me goosebumps as I turn the corner and see the railway bridge and the crowds gathering, to entering through the turnstiles on Gorgie Road and hearing the Hearts song begin to play over the tannoy, just can't explain it, nobody knows unless you support us how much this club means to us all. The demolition of the old lady will be a sad day but vital in our future development so onwards and upwards. Sorry but just felt that I had to share that [emoji3].

There's nae other team that compares to the Hearts.

It's in the blood.  You either get it or you don't get it.

It can't be explained.

People support a football team for only two reasons I think. One, it's your home town team or two, your dad took you (or maybe your mum or another family member)  because that was his team . It's both one and two in my case, but only two for my eldest son.

That doesn't stop him being a PHM although he lives in Glasgow. The Foootball didn't really 'take' with my youngest son, although he was taken to matches with his brother.

'Supporters' who follow the Arse Cheeks without any of the above connections are just footballing nobodys imo.

My lad has been through here since he was 5, so has grown up getting ribbed off his mates.

He takes great pride in the fact he doesnt support 'wan o them' and sticks up for Hearts at every opportunity. All the ex's family have tried at some point to get him along to Ibrox, however the not so wee man refuses to go.

Makes me extremely happy and proud I have brought a dedicated and committed son

My lad has been through here since he was 5, so has grown up getting ribbed off his mates.

He takes great pride in the fact he doesnt support 'wan o them' and sticks up for Hearts at every opportunity. All the ex's family have tried at some point to get him along to Ibrox, however the not so wee man refuses to go.

Makes me extremely happy and proud I have brought a dedicated and committed son

nice one.

Was brought up Hearts. My dad was Hearts, his dad & so on. Didn't actually get to my first game until fairly late due to living in SA. My Granda would send us taped videos of Hearts games & the occasional strip. I mind wearing the black & blue one with 'STRONGBOW' & having to explain to my classmates who Hearts were!

Went to Tynecastle High, used to see players on my lunch break. Got the likes of Salvatori to sign my school book!

First game I went to I was devastated Robbo didn't start. My uncle told me Robbo was no spring chicken any more! Two older guys behind me saying that Robbo wasn't the answer all the time. Anyway he came off the bench to score the winner.

No other team than Hearts, simple.

Edit: want to add myself & my boy are now long term season ticket holders & bleed maroon!

Left Baberton when I was 8....some 32 years ago and moved to Aberdeen for my Dads job. With one thing or the other still here!

Have taken a horrendous amount of stick from the sheep groing up, primarily because they used to get the better of us. Only made me stronger!

Wee man is now 12 and although all his mates and mum are sheep, he's Hearts daft, down for every game and back for his football on a Sunday. Every time we walk from Haymarket to the ground all I get is Dad, I wish we stayed here. makes me so proud

What's funny though I detest Aberdeen more than any other club in the country, first game I look for in the calendar to, must have been all the abuse growing up.

Being a non edinburger, I put up with a fair bit of stick from mates who support the gruesome twosome but would feel a huge sense of pride if asked my team, it's Hearts, obviously, grinning ear to ear, the usual sniggers and the inevitable 'Hearts are pish' nonsense would ensue, but nah **** that, I'm not having that. For me (and I'm sure I'm not alone) supporting Hearts is much more than supporting a football team, Gorgie is special to me even though I'm only there on match day, the walk from Haymarket to Gorgie still gives me goosebumps as I turn the corner and see the railway bridge and the crowds gathering, to entering through the turnstiles on Gorgie Road and hearing the Hearts song begin to play over the tannoy, just can't explain it, nobody knows unless you support us how much this club means to us all. The demolition of the old lady will be a sad day but vital in our future development so onwards and upwards. Sorry but just felt that I had to share that [emoji3].

There's nae other team that compares to the Hearts.

When you feel inner seeth when Hearts dont win on a saturday, thats a real Hearts fan.

Been in London since 1981 and never wavered for an instant - don't go to EPL games, just the occasional non league. Season Ticket for the famous and if I can't use it my brother or mates take it - if they cant it goes back to the club.

Taken my children quite  a few times. They would both call themselves Hearts fans but its my 14 year old daughter who takes to it more. She seems to have her head screwed on, is keen to make money buyhouses etc, so maybe the next Ann Budge in the making! She's coming up for the Motherwell game with me

Think you have summed it up nicely. I used to go watch Man City a lot around 10-15 years ago but I never got the anger when they lost like I did with hearts

Son Of Anarchy

Growing up elsewhere surrounded by sevco/tic supporters etc makes you realise just how special it is to support the famous. I love everything maroon. Pulling on my Hearts strip at PE was a special feeling. Pride, pure pride. Made me fanatical and I've never lost that.

jimmy the jambo

That's pretty much the same for me on how I'd summarise some feelings.

I can be pretty huffy for a few days when an unexpected loss happens,I guess a lot of jambos feel the same,unlike the uglies we probably don't beat up our families.

BroughtyJambo

My Dad isn't from Gorgie, is'nt even from Edinburgh but he always supported Hearts growing up. Staying in Kirkcaldy he took me to my first Hearts game against Raith in 82.

8 yrs old, the red shingle, the railway sleepers, no tannoy system. Hooked from then on. First game at Tynie was a Wednesday night against Aberdeen. Standing at the fence behind the goal in the School end. If I mind right Aberdeen where in white tops, black shorts....

Bloody Willie Millar scored for a 1-0 to the sheep

The PSG 2-2 game, sitting on the long plastic benches with the smiths menswear stickers on them. Dens in 86. The train on the way up and then the train on the way home. I still remember how quiet it was on the way home.

Going home and away on the supporters bus.

The subbuteo pitch that was Brockville or the foot gap between the side of the pitch and the wall at Hamilton.

Caught on sportscene in the background at Dundee Utd away giving someone on the pitch pelters...(think my folks still have that on video up the loft).

The nip down across the border for Preseason games against Berwick or the longer trip down to Derby.

The 2-1 semi at hampden against Aberdeen that lifted a bit of a hoodoo. The final at Parkhead. The bus trip into Edinburgh after it with the folk waving and cheering and the crowd getting bigger and bigger the closer we got to Tynie.

Sir Pauls hat trick in the Hibs semi or in 2012 when my Dad turning to me after the 4th goal went in and he said to me 'do you regret me bringing you up a jambo?'

Never ever will I regret being a jambo. The highs, the lows, the mediocre games when you question why you have a season ticket, but you come back, we get older, our lives change but the Jambo's have been constant in my life. My wee boy is only 2 but I can dream that someday soon he will have a season ticket next to me and his Grandad.

The memories past and those still to come are what make me be a Jambo.

A Middlesbrough fan, I didn't discover Hearts until my mid forties. I would go to random games from time to time, and I only went to Hearts because of a cheap rail offer. I just "got" the club straight away, but the game that really hooked me in was the Celtic semi.

It's hard for me to get to games because I generally work weekends, but Hearts is the team for me now. Some on here might call me a plastic fan though :-)

Don't be daft, you're just as much a part of the Hearts family as anyone else.

Being a non edinburger, I put up with a fair bit of stick from mates who support the gruesome twosome but would feel a huge sense of pride if asked my team, it's Hearts, obviously, grinning ear to ear, the usual sniggers and the inevitable 'Hearts are pish' nonsense would ensue, but nah **** that, I'm not having that.

I tend to find Old Firm fans a bit thick and they have an incredible sense of superiority and entitlement.

I started supporting Hearts because I got taken to a game, and they were my local club, playing in front of 5,000 supporters in an old stadium in the 2nd tier of Scottish football.

34 years later, we now average over 16,000 and are about to raise that figure up further, and Tynecastle is going to be complete and look utterly fantastic.

I'm very proud to call myself a Hearts supporter. If I meet a Celtic fan who thinks we're pish, I can easily remind them that there are plenty of teams that are better than Celtic; half the EPL, Spanish, German, Italian sides etc. Supporting your team is more than chasing glory. It's about love and loyalty. There's always another team that's better than yours, unless you support Barcelona or maybe Real Madrid.

Most 'footie fans' in the UK, be it occasional, Fan-boys, armchair and of course: match attenders will probably veer towards either Man Utd, ...and now City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Celtic and Rangers. But a lot of these people don't get it. I remember once seeing a guy (with his wife/partner) doing his weekly shop in Tesco in Corstophine, wearing a manky Celtic top. An hour or so earlier, Celtic had just beaten Dunfermline to win the Scottish Cup (a late winner, 1-0, 2007). I assume he wore the top to let everyone know how superior he must be, being a Celtic fan and how great it was that Celtic had just won the Scottish Cup. Now, I don't know about any of you lot, but in three times I've seen Hearts winning the Scottish Cup, I don't ever recall spending valuable celebration time doing the weekly grocery shop!  

Although Hearts were a very poor team when I started supporting them, in some ways, the decision was made easy. We have a beautiful name and club crest, great club colours, a lush history, and as I soon discovered, a large and passionate support.

But to answer the OP directly, what does supporting Hearts mean to me? It means a hell of a lot. I identify with Hearts, and Hearts are therefore part of my identity, my make-up, my personality, my DNA.

And although I couldn't ever have been accused of being a glory-hunter back when Hearts played a midweek game v Ayr Utd in the spring of 1982, I certainly think that now, in 2016 we are about to see some more glory. I have great respect for fans of Albion Rovers, or Forfar or Chesterfield, or Mansfield Town who know that their club will never be anything more or less than what it is now. They are the true football fans, not dickhead Old Firm fans who's idea of a victory lap is wearing their replica top 'round Tesco.

But Hearts aren't like Albion or Forfar either. We are much nearer to the top of the pile. This might be tough to admit, but one of the great things about those wonderful open top bus parades of 1998, 2006 and 2012 is that it doesn't happen every year. Because these celebrations were nicely spaced out, the gap probably adds to the occasion when it does come around. One of the things I've always felt about Hearts, is that there is an elevated level still to come from us. I believe in the next two-three years we're about to see that happen. I am greedy, but I'm also grounded.

Hearts fulfilling their potential? That means a lot to me.

Where to start. I'm from a mixed family.

Me and my dad are the Hearts supporters although, my dad was born in Clydebank and brought up in Coatbridge. His house was bombed in the Clydebank blitz when he was 4yrs old. My mum was a Leith er and her and my three younger sisters are Hibs supporters. Got that from my Grandad Dick son as he was a Leither too.

My dad as a teenager sold programmes at the old Broomfield. One Saturday the terrible trio and a certain Dave Mackay came to town and my late dad was hooked for the rest of his life. Willie Bauld and Dave MacKay being his idols.

Apparently as a toddler Grandad Dickson kept threatening to take me to Easter Road. Dad being a very wise man had me at Tynecastle before you could blink. My first game being against Clyde(the following taken from London.hearts) which was a 4-1 win on the 08/12/65. I was 2yrs and 8 months old.

My first Edinburgh derby was 1967 at Tynecastle. Hibs won 1-4. My second Edinburgh derby was New years day 1968 Hibs won 1-0. I remember being very high up on the old East Terrace for that game.

Time I started Royston School after the Easter holidays in 1968 I was hooked. Even at that age when asked who do you support the answer was the Hearts.

Was gutted we got gubbed 3-1 in the Scottish Cup Final that year. According to dad. I never said a word on the train home from Glasgow.

My defining moment as a child and I knew I was hearts hard core was 01/01/73.

By then lived in Ferry Road Place and I was now at Pirniehall primary. Although only 9yrs old I was at this game on my own. Imagine a 9yrs old going to an Edinburgh derby on their own nowadays? Wouldnt happen. We all know the result but, it was the no 1 bus journey home that made me hardcore. It was full of hibbies singing. Mainly glory glory to the Hibees.

Shouting to me at the front of the bus, downstairs. Son you support the wrong team become a Hibby. Me saying to myself not a hope I'm a jam tart a Hearts man. That is when I knew it was in the blood really in the blood and was never leaving. The 70s were hell. One win on the 08/09/73 4-1 against Hibs until 1979 a 1-2 at ER. Which I missed as was playing for my boys club. St Bernards. I'm just glad kickback wasn't around back then. The carnage would have been unimageable.

I joined the Royal Navy in September 1979 and served until April 1990. I was based in Portsmouth. So only saw Hearts on leave during the season. Remember struggling to beat Queens Park 1-0 at Tynecastle courtesy of a Willie Pettiegrew goal. The football on display was painfully excruciating to watch.

Got married to a Portsmouth girl and had a daughter and then a son. Both grown up now and both Pompey supporters. Sadly got divorced in 2004 and moved permanently back to Edinburgh in 2005. Stupidly got married again 2007 and became a dad again aged 45 on July the first 2008 to my son Cameron. He along with me is a season ticket holder in section A lower in the Wheatfield. We are both Hearts daft. I love going to Tynecatle with him.it evokes so many memories of me and my dad.

I had a crap childhood but the one constant was football and the Hearts.

I feel so blessed attending games with Cameron. Although the football isint always great and the results are not always favourable. Going to the games with Cameron is my greatest pleasure in life. I wouldn't swop it for anything.

Lincon Premier

Attended my first match so long ago I seriously can't remember when. My pal next door went with his dad ( a fish monger down Broughton road ). Man and shop long since passed away. They took me along, we stood in a huge crowd and the only time I saw the ball was when it was booted in the air :smiley2:

Granny was born in Gorgie, Dad is a Hearts fan, but never taken me to any games.

Half family was Hibs, the  better half were Hearts.

My Uncle who is a  Hibs fan, taken me to my first Hearts ( derbies) games, think he thought I would turn if he got me to the games,from about eleven/ twelve I went to games with my friends.

Edinburgh based family, explains some of my hatred towards the OF, although there are several other issues involved with that.

Got allot of stick in school as we went trophy less for far too long. but enjoyed the derby dominance and  the near miss's up until 98'.

Not got any tattoos, but if I did it would only be a  Hearts one, it's the only constant and the thing that will never change. Wife wasn't happy with  that answer.

Think the best times are ahead.

I've got the Hearts badge on my upper arm. Got it done a while back and don't regret it for a second.

The fans make it for me. Whether it be the Magic of watching them gather around Gorgie before a trip to Hampden, generations of Hearts fans, or when there's a minute silence in the ground and you look round at the Hearts family and you remember the years of following the Hearts.

Could a mod get rid of the pish posted on this thread, a thread supposed to be about what Hearts mean to you? 

Here is a classic example of a really good thread about to degenerate into something it was never meant to be.

Please just stick to the original reason for the thread and let us know why you love this great team of ours.

Back on subject, my Dad was brought up in Bothwell Street in the tenement right beside the Bridge of Doom, Fortunately he had the good sense to ignore that lot and become a supporter of the famous like his dad before him. Although like most sons and fathers we had our differences from time to time the one great common bond we had was our love of Heart of Midlothian and I remember with joy going along with him to games in the late 1950's and early 60's when we were without doubt the best team in Scotland.

Although my dad died several years ago I have always thanked him for bringing me up to support Hearts, there is just something about our team that is unique and it is hard to explain or understand.

I have absolutely no connection to Edinburgh. I was taken to Pittodrie expected to follow them. Never got enthusiastic.

Hearts was the first team I ever saw. 3rd January 1977.

From there Hearts got worse but the spirit and attachment of the fans, the unusual name and colours all captured my imagination. I was too young to follow a team away from home, but through the first division always maintained my interest and I followed the scores.

I suppose it was only several years later I was brave enough to come out and tell the old man, this was who I really was.

Best decision of my life, though it wasn't a decision if that makes sense?

It is in the blood, I have done some ridiculous things to follow Hearts, and not a single regret.

There is no explanation. Though I have grown up and realise I have commitment to my family primarily Hearts are massive in my life and still occupy most of my thoughts on a daily basis, of course I am not ashamed of that but I am bewildered as to why it matters almost as much as family, and on occasion more, or at least it seems.

But they have been and always will be, the first love of my life, and that is not something that can be changed or I ever would want to change.

It is the darkest of days that makes the good days so good. 16th of May 1998 will always therefore be the most special day of my life. Rightly or wrongly. In the words of the anthem, This is my story, This is my song

HHGH

King Of The Cat Cafe

People support a football team for only two reasons I think. One, it's your home town team or two, your dad took you (or maybe your mum or another family member)  because that was his team . It's both one and two in my case, but only two for my eldest son.

That doesn't stop him being a PHM although he lives in Glasgow. The Foootball didn't really 'take' with my youngest son, although he was taken to matches with his brother.

'Supporters' who follow the Arse Cheeks without any of the above connections are just footballing nobodys imo.

No dispute, but these are not the only reasons for supporting a team.

Some people make a conscious decision to pick a team they will give their allegiance to - and reasons for that do vary.

For me, it was when I first visited Edinburgh some 30 years ago and fell in love with the city. I could have decided to follow one of three senior teams then: Meadowbank Thistle, Hearts, or the other one.

I was attracted by the history and romance of HMFC, and really connected through the excitement of the Vlad years.

The true test is not why you start supporting a club, it is how you feel about it: the constant looking for references in the newspapers; the excitement/trepidation of waiting to discover the score of a game on Saturday; the anticipation on the night before going to a home game.

So, hats off to those have Hearts in their DNA, but others love our club just as much.

The_razors_edge

HMFC were picked for me. My dad and uncle both grew up supporting them. I had no choice but I would never, ever change it. It's been an obsession since I was a young boy. Through a mutual love of the club I met my mrs and we've got 3 kids together. 6 year old daughter is already brain washed and I'm working on my 3 year old boy. Not only that but over the years through school, work, clubs and voluntary work I have made loads of friends and developed life long friendships through a mutual love for the club. Friendships that helped me through school (a mutual love of something and a common interest always helps bring people together). Not just fans of HMFC I may add. I have made friendships with fans of other clubs and enjoyed the banter and camaraderie that comes with that. When I was 12/13 I lived down south and spread the HMFC gospel down there. I vividly remember wearing the 95/96 away kit to school PE and everyone asking what team it was. There was a great deal of satisfaction being able to tell them all about HMFC, teach them the hearts song etc. Now as a 32 year old I'm creating my own legacy with my 3 kids who will all be brought up to support the club too and if it brings them half as much joy then they'll be doing well. To say HMFC has had a significant impact on my life would be an understatement

Headed south in late '70s, I'm a season ticket holder, fly up to games (from Heathrow) when I can, to sit in my 'empty seat' [see empty seat thread] which I hope is not rescinded!!

Why?

"It's (the) magic you know .....

there's going to be Gorgie ....."

PS I believe there are around 1,000+ like me who are 'absent' Hearts fans BUT subscribe to  the FoH and also have season tickets

Simple.

You're born in Edinburgh. There's two teams (you know what I mean). You're dad takes you to a game when you're 4, you get a Hearts strip for Christmas when you're 5.

Your next door neighbour (who I loved as a second father by the way) tries to make me a Hibby because he had a season ticket at Easter Road.

Takes me to loads of Hibs European games and the two replay SC Final against the Huns. Gets pissed off with me when I clapped the Arthur Duncan own goal in the third game and never spoke to me again.

My blood is maroon.

Simple.

You're born in Edinburgh. There's two teams (you know what I mean). You're dad takes you to a game when you're 4, you get a Hearts strip for Christmas when you're 5.

Your next door neighbour (who I loved as a second father by the way) tries to make me a Hibby because he had a season ticket at Easter Road.

Takes me to loads of Hibs European games and the two replay SC Final against the Huns. Gets pissed off with me when I clapped the Arthur Duncan own goal in the third game and never spoke to me again.

My blood is maroon.

PHM    :2thumbsup:

Born-and-bred in the South West of the city in a family (mostly) of die-hard Hearts fans.

My mums old man was a Leither who supported Hibs, his eldest son, who now lives through the west, is a bluenose. But apart from that everyone is Hearts.

In the late eighties, around ages 5 and 6, my dad started taking me to the lesser games at Tynecastle. I always remember entering through the Gorgie Road turnstiles and my dad saying to me that this is where the supporters of the other team stands so you can't cheer if Hearts score. My old man said he preferred taking me into the away end in these games due to there not being many fans, and so he could lug in to what away fans had to say about Hearts. There were a couple of occasions when I think I almost got him a kicking for celebrating a goal when I shouldn't have [emoji38]

I love those memories of Tynecastle, the terracing and looking over at the thousands of Hearts fans on matchday. Even though I was very young, those memories are still fresh in my mind.

I've lived in Dalry for the past 10 years and, what gets me every time is, especially in Winter, the smell of the distillery in the crisp, cold air on matchday - I'm sure John Colquhoun said somethung similar in an interview last week.

The walk from my flat along Dalry Rd, onto Gorgie Road. You then see the glare from the floodlights, and as you get closer you begin to hear the songs and the buzz from the pubs.

Magic. Nowhere else beats it.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Son Of Anarchy

There's something special about this city. Nice to hear others feel the same. Growing up elsewhere rarely seeing another Hearts top,visiting the capital was incredible for me. I was always on jambo watch "look dad another jambo" "aye son its where we're from" "yeh but there's another's" :) loved the city,loved the team and couldnt wait to move here.

Born-and-bred in the South West of the city in a family (mostly) of die-hard Hearts fans.

My mums old man was a Leither who supported Hibs, his eldest son, who now lives through the west, is a bluenose. But apart from that everyone is Hearts.

In the late eighties, around ages 5 and 6, my dad started taking me to the lesser games at Tynecastle. I always remember entering through the Gorgie Road turnstiles and my dad saying to me that this is where the supporters of the other team stands so you can't cheer if Hearts score. My old man said he preferred taking me into the away end in these games due to there not being many fans, and so he could lug in to what away fans had to say about Hearts. There were a couple of occasions when I think I almost got him a kicking for celebrating a goal when I shouldn't have [emoji38]

I love those memories of Tynecastle, the terracing and looking over at the thousands of Hearts fans on matchday. Even though I was very young, those memories are still fresh in my mind.

I've lived in Dalry for the past 10 years and, what gets me every time is, especially in Winter, the smell of the distillery in the crisp, cold air on matchday - I'm sure John Colquhoun said somethung similar in an interview last week.

The walk from my flat along Dalry Rd, onto Gorgie Road. You then see the glare from the floodlights, and as you get closer you begin to hear the songs and the buzz from the pubs.

Magic. Nowhere else beats it.

Sitting in a cafe in Exeter having a coffee and probably getting some strange looks - a wee tear in my eye reading that bit about the smell. The lights and the crisp, cold air - I'm back in Gorgie and it's 1965 and I'm with my granddad and brother and we've just been to my Aunt Jessie's for tea in her Gorgie tenement, and the noise of the crowd is rumbling behind the tenements, the pipe smoke in the air.

It truly is unique, eh?

I ways born up by Harrison Park and from a very young age I remember the sky lit up by the floodlights and the crowd flooding down Ardmillan into Gorgie. I spent three teenage years in a west coast village where the bluenoses were the only show in town but resisted a lot of jibes about supporting the famous when we were in our yoyo period. Back in the capital my workmates were predominately hobos as I worked in the east of the city and they tried to get me along to see George Best play for the wee team but I was having none of it. Once a Jambo always a Jambo. A special club !

Threads like this make Kickback great.

We might have got here by different paths but we're all Jambos.

Exactly. Probably a majority of fans have probably been brought up as Jambos but many more are Edinburgh-area and born to parents who followed a different club or not into football at all.

I'm one of yet another large element who've found their own way from elsewhere. I don't think any of us could ever be accused of being glory hunters and that's what makes the club so special. Hearts were 3rd bottom of the league when I came to my 1st came to Tynie and was impressed by the great humour in adversity of the fans around me. It made me feel at home, made me an instant fan and I've remained one ever since, 31 years later and counting.

I'm at least a Scot, but there are many non Scots who've taken to the club too - Ugly American and Justin Z from this board for starters.

My old man was a Hearts fan, as were both my grandads, my mothers father attending his first Hearts game in 1908, I was never ever going to be anything but a Hearts man. Brought up in Gorgie, old man took me to my first game on August 1st 1970, a pre season friendly, we won 4-2 against Dunfermline.

Weeks later I attended my first floodlight game, against Burnley in the Texaco Cup, we won 4-1.

My old man would take me most weeks, but after 7-0 in 1973, he gave up on Hearts, and maybe only ever attended another half dozen Hearts games after that, I do recall him taking me to the Texaco Cup game against Everton and the Centenary game against Tottenham, but I never recall going to another game with him after the mid 70s.

From the age of 9 I went most weeks with my pals, loads of local kids would would que at the Wheatfield Boys gate for the turnstiles opening just after 1 o'clock, once we would just run about play till the kick off.

Social Services would probably have a field day these days

Who remembers the tunnel at the school end or the one at the Gorgie Road end, both death traps in these not so health and safety days.

We didn't always pay in mind you, sometimes we would climb over the fence in the school playground, or there was a turnstile at the Gorgie Road end you would sneak under, I never ever asked for a lift over, I was always told never to speak to strangers.

I would be horrified if thought my kid was doing what we got up to, nothing bad, but we would go to games against Celtic and Rangers, where there was no segregation and crowds regularly of over 30k, I never at anytime felt unsafe, because we were all local, Tynecastle was always there, we passed it every single day, it was an extension of "our bit" just somewhere else to play, obviously I loved the game and the team, to me Donald Ford was the greatest, my first and suppose my only true hero.

Some games, not Old firm or Hibs, we would go to the shed, and join in the singing, YNWA was regularly sang, We would stand on the ledge in front of the pie stand under the TV gantry, holding on to the barriers.

I saw us relegated, promoted relegated then promoted in 1983, I was 19 before we even had something even remotely like a decent side, the 3-2 win against Hibs in September 1983, in my opinion was the birth of a new Hearts, to that point we had been a club in terminal decline for 20 years, that day, me and countless others saw genuine light for the first time in years.

The 80s were a fantastic period for Hearts, exciting team who played great football at times, but invariably blew it when it really mattered, 1986, we all know the story.

Beating Bayern Munich and don't forget Athletico Madrid at Tynecastle were both marvellous never to be forgotten occasions.

The Scottish Cup win in 1998 was amazing the most emotional day, and night Gorgie Road has ever seen before or since.

This club is a fantastic club, and I don't say this with any benefit of hindsight, but even during the dark days of administration, never ever at anytime did I ever beleive there would not be a Heart of Midlothian football club, call it blind faith, but I knew far too many people cared far too much for this wonderful unique football club just to let it die.

That was never ever going to happen

We are now in a healthier position than we have been for decades, with wonderful Hearts people in charge of our club, I don't expect ever to be a club winning League titles, but regular cup triumphs should now be a realistic expectation, the only way is up.

Players and Managers come and go, I gave up losing my shit with individuals years ago, it's a waste of energy, they are all mainly just passing through, there will be a very rare exception who is a genuine hero, but, the most important people at Hearts are us, the fans we are the only one true constant, and with the building of this new stand, our future in Gorgie ( it's only true home) is hopefully secure for another 100 years

My old man was a Hearts fan, as were both my grandads, my mothers father attending his first Hearts game in 1908, I was never ever going to be anything but a Hearts man. Brought up in Gorgie, old man took me to my first game on August 1st 1970, a pre season friendly, we won 4-2 against Dunfermline.

Weeks later I attended my first floodlight game, against Burnley in the Texaco Cup, we won 4-1.

My old man would take me most weeks, but after 7-0 in 1973, he gave up on Hearts, and maybe only ever attended another half dozen Hearts games after that, I do recall him taking me to the Texaco Cup game against Everton and the Centenary game against Tottenham, but I never recall going to another game with him after the mid 70s.

From the age of 9 I went most weeks with my pals, loads of local kids would would que at the Wheatfield Boys gate for the turnstiles opening just after 1 o'clock, once we would just run about play till the kick off.

Who remembers the tunnel at the school end or the one at the Gorgie Road end, both death traps in these not so health and safety days.

We didn't always pay in mind you, sometimes we would climb over the fence in the school playground, or there was a turnstile at the Gorgie Road end you would sneak under, I never ever asked for a lift over, I was always told never to speak to strangers.

I would be horrified if thought my kid was doing what we got up to, nothing bad, but we would go to games against Celtic and Rangers, where there was no segregation and crowds regularly of over 30k, I never at anytime felt unsafe, because we were all local, Tynecastle was always there, we passed it every single day, it was an extension of "our bit" just somewhere else to play, obviously I loved the game and the team, to me Donald Ford was the greatest, my first and suppose my only true hero.

Some games, not Old firm or Hibs, we would go to the shed, and join in the singing, YNWA was regularly sang, We would stand on the ledge in front of the pie stand under the TV gantry, holding on to the barriers.

I saw us relegated, promoted relegated then promoted in 1983, I was 19 before we even had something even remotely like a decent side, the 3-2 win against Hibs in September 1983, in my opinion was the birth of a new Hearts, to that point we had been a club in terminal decline for 20 years, that day, me and countless others saw genuine light for the first time in years.

The 80s were a fantastic period for Hearts, exciting team who played great football at times, but invariably blew it when it really mattered, 1986, we all know the story.

Beating Bayern Munich and don't forget Athletico Madrid at Tynecastle were both marvellous never to be forgotten occasions.

The Scottish Cup win in 1998 was amazing the most emotional day, and night Gorgie Road has ever seen before or since.

This club is a fantastic club, and I don't say this with any benefit of hindsight, but even during the dark days of administration, never ever at anytime did I ever beleive there would not be a Heart of Midlothian football club, call it blind faith, but I knew far too many people cared far too much for this wonderful unique football club just to let it die.

We are now in a healthier position than we have been for decades, with wonderful Hearts people in charge of our club, I don't expect ever to be a club winning League titles, but regular cup triumphs should now be a realistic expectation, the only way is up.

Players and Managers come and go, I gave up losing my shit with individuals years ago, it's a waste of energy, they are all mainly just passing through, there will be a very rare exception who is a genuine hero, but, the most important people at Hearts are us, the fans we are the only one true constant, and with the building of this new stand, our future in Gorgie ( it's only true home) is hopefully secure for another 100 years

Great post

Excellent post. I can relate to it on so many levels. As I did alot of the things mentioned.

Been in London since 1981 and never wavered for an instant - don't go to EPL games, just the occasional non league. Season Ticket for the famous and if I can't use it my brother or mates take it - if they cant it goes back to the club.

Taken my children quite  a few times. They would both call themselves Hearts fans but its my 14 year old daughter who takes to it more. She seems to have her head screwed on, is keen to make money buyhouses etc, so maybe the next Ann Budge in the making! She's coming up for the Motherwell game with me

I beat you by a decade Scott.  Moved to London in 1971 and I'm every bit as much a Jambo now as I was then.

2nd family, it's as simple as that.

Jbee said something I totally concurred with. Too many people care deeply about Heart of Midlothian to ever let it suffer for long.

There are football clubs aplenty, but few are institutions, Heart of Midlothian can proudly hold that honour.

I love you you mysterious beast