Update from Ann

Chaps

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/5423

By: on 26 Sep, 2016 14:30

Celebrating our history and building for the future.

As the club enters its second season in the Ladbrokes Premiership and with the team flying high in third place, it is a good time to reflect on a few of the off-field things we have achieved together.

With our supporters at the Heart of everything we do, the importance of legacy cannot be overstated. We have spent a lot of time restoring pride and focusing on the significance of the history of Heart of Midlothian. Last week saw the opening of the much-anticipated Hearts Museum. ?This is our Story, This is our Song? are the words that have inspired this celebration of our remarkable history. I hope you will enjoy the experience of visiting the museum and will feel the same sense of pride that I do to be part of this incredible community. Once again, we thank you, the fans, for everything you have done to make this dream a reality. To those whose legacies, donations and artefacts have contributed to the project, we pass on our sincere gratitude. You have helped us to share 142 years of heritage with the broader supporter base and with the many visitors who will make this part of their Edinburgh experience.

Again with a focus on the past, this week we are reintroducing the Heart of Midlothian Hall of Fame ceremony. Once again celebrating our history, we will be honouring some of our legends whose outstanding achievements on the field of play have brought so much pride and pleasure to the club. This will be the first Hall of Fame since 2009 and we shall be inducting major figures from the club?s distant past, including our first ever captain, along with heroes of more recent days. We have a spectacular evening planned and I hope to see many in the Gorgie Suite on the night of the 1st of October. Our sponsors at Heineken UK have really got behind this event and we thank them for their support in making it possible for more supporters to attend.

The Hall of Fame and the new Museum are major markers of the proud history of the club. They remind us all that there is much to celebrate. As many of you have said to me, we are so much more than a football club. No matter what adverse circumstances we might face, the club?s solid foundations are ?as strong as the old castle rock? and will continue to sustain the club as we move forward.

While respecting the past, we are, of course, very focused on what comes next. Our programme now is firmly set on building a better Tynecastle for everyone; the players, the fans, the local community and the generations to come.

We remain cautiously optimistic that our plans for the new stand will soon be approved; we have a key meeting on the 12th October with planners and I hope to be making some significant announcements shortly thereafter. Meanwhile, we are making great progress with the Wheatfield undercroft development and are on schedule for ?the big move? early in November.

I am delighted to report too that we are also making great progress on funding. With well over half the funds already raised and with the Foundation of Hearts voting overwhelmingly to back the programme, we are well on track to realising our dream.

I hope you will enjoy visiting the museum and for those lucky enough to be attending our Hall of Fame event, I am confident that our in-house team has a spectacular evening planned.

As you join us in reveling in the glories of the past, take time to congratulate yourself and your fellow fans on what you have helped us to achieve. Once again, we are ?the talk of the toon?.

Ann Budge

• Replies 168

Good news. So many positive things have happened and are about to happen at our Club in recent times and in the near future, things can only get better. Once we get the team firing on all cylinders I'm confident the stadium will be full with the increased capacity.

Nice piece. Exciting times off the park, and on the park will catch up.

Ann has stopped using loads of ellipsis...!

Exactly.......Mad Ann...............oot........!!!!!

Does put where we are now and how we've progressed into perspective. Lets get the redevelopment of Tynecastle completed then look at options for greater investment on the park. Unfortunately some fans will be too impatient for that. 

But I thought the experts on hibs.net said that the work under the Wheatfield hadn't even started yet?

So how can we be moving stuff in there in November?

"Flying high"

I do like how she regularly speaks to the fans though.

We are when opposed to sitting second in a division below.  FTH. 

Does put where we are now and how we've progressed into perspective. Lets get the redevelopment of Tynecastle completed then look at options for greater investment on the park. Unfortunately some fans will be too impatient for that. 

and thank goodness those same 'fans' will have little or no say in the future management of this superb club. Can you imagine the Pantwetters Brigade running the club????

If they can read then thy should read and digest the content of this statement and put their laptops where the sun doesn't shine !!!!!!!

99.99% of the article is excellent, I am disappointed Ann feels we are "Flying High" . 

I sincerely hope the message to the team is they are certainly not flying high.......

99.99% of the article is excellent, I am disappointed Ann feels we are "Flying High" .

I sincerely hope the message to the team is they are certainly not flying high.......

I agree. Good statement, but flying high, well not quite.

99.99% of the article is excellent, I am disappointed Ann feels we are "Flying High" . 

I think she meant flying high up the table rather than the performances...

We're 2nd place if you ignore Celtic and their beyond SPFL budget

"Flying high"

Aye because Ann has no ambition for this football club right enough

A great example of how to write/say a lot without actually telling us anything.

Crikey...would you prefer she stayed silent all year!?

Some folk are never happy!

I think she meant flying high up the table rather than the performances...

We're 2nd place if you ignore Celtic and their beyond SPFL budget

Why don't we just ignore Aberdeen too then we will be top!

I'd be interested in what the "well over half" figure was.

We had ?6m in the bank and FOH are putting in ?3m of our hard earned so i wonder where we are on the other ?3m exactly.

Why don't we just ignore Aberdeen too then we will be top!

Ffs not this again perhaps she meant the club as a whole...maybe it was just a general comment.

Maybe it was written before the Ross County game and somebody's thought "oops, better change 2nd to 3rd" ?

"Flying high"

You decide to highlight 'flying high' after you read that article?

Really?

Maybe it was written before the Ross County game and somebody's thought "oops, better change 2nd to 3rd" ?

Not sure. We are in a decent position (but could be better), but hardly flying high. Anyway, most of the statement, whilst revealing nothing new, is decent.

Ffs not this again perhaps she meant the club as a whole...maybe it was just a general comment.

WTF are you raving about? I replied to the poster who suggested we ignore Celtic. I suggested - sarcastically- that we should just ignore Aberdeen too. Maybe you should actually read what's posted before jumping to defend something that wasn't even being criticised.

Not sure. We are in a good position, but hardly flying high. 

I agree, but it's a fine line - I think if we'd retained our position in 2nd (by getting the result we deserved in either of the last two matches), then it would probably have been justified. Top Two in this division can be considered 'flying high' for Hearts at this stage, I think.

We had ?6m in the bank and FOH are putting in ?3m of our hard earned so i wonder where we are on the other ?3m exactly.

yip that was defo the most interesting part, I get the impression they are confident the money will be there

I agree, but it's a fine line - I think if we'd retained our position in 2nd (by getting the result we deserved in either of the last two matches), then it would probably have been justified. Top Two in this division can be considered 'flying high' for Hearts at this stage, I think.

If it was coupled with cup runs or a decent European run, then I would possibly agree.

So far, this season, though, all the games we have won, we should be winning. A few of the games we haven't won, we should also be winnng.

But I thought the experts on hibs.net said that the work under the Wheatfield hadn't even started yet?

So how can we be moving stuff in there in November?

I expect Greenginger to rip Ann's statement to pieces if I'm honest. The whole thing is just a diversionary tactic so we don't discover the massive fall off in FoH subscriptions.

And she would have got away with it if it wasn't for Greenginger!!

The Natural Order

No, not "all year". Just until she has something to say. Hay-ho, if you're happy with a pat on the head and your belly tickled, rock on.

I read it as a statement about the new museum and the Hall of Fame ceremony.

A wee bit about the forthcoming planning stage and a thank you again to the support.

That to me is something to say....no one who contributes to the club wants a pat on the head.....and it's hey-ho....!

I thought he was paying her a compliment, to be honest! There is nothing in the statement other than trying to sell tickets for the Hall of Fame ceremony.

and thank goodness those same 'fans' will have little or no say in the future management of this superb club. Can you imagine the Pantwetters Brigade running the club????

If they can read then thy should read and digest the content of this statement and put their laptops where the sun doesn't shine !!!!!!!

It's a difficult situation for Ann Budge because without performances on the park, sustaining full houses isn't guaranteed. At the same time, not upgrading the old main stand stifles growth.

All the fans need to stick together over the next couple of years before we can really reap the rewards.

If it was coupled with cup runs or a decent European run, then I would possibly agree.

So far, this season, though, all the games we have won, we should be winning. A few of the games we haven't won, we should also be winnng.

I agree with this. I don't classify "flying high" at being pumped out of Europe by a Maltese team, put out of the LC by the might of St Johnstone and being third in the league.

I am not criticising her statement, by the way, I just don't agree as to what "flying high" means.

I agree with this. I don't classify "flying high" at being pumped out of Europe by a Maltese team, put out of the LC by the might of St Johnstone and being third in the league.

I am not criticising her statement, by the way, I just don't agree as to what "flying high" means.

It is a subjectuve term and may not solely apply to on the field performance. I think we are flying relatively high as a club at the moment. :)

I think in the context of the statement , the phrase was about the team.

I 'm not going to criticise AB for a simple phrase in an otherwise good statement.

We're doing well...i'll leave it at that. 

To be fair, she has given CL and RN all the tools they need to put a winning team on the park so any criticism of the team is not for her. And she is always going to be positive about where we are.

The club is in very safe hands.

I actually wonder if she ever thinks "why do I bother?" Some of the moronic comments must get back to her.

Glad that woman did bother her arse personally, and I appreciate a wee update now and again on all the good work she and the rest of the club are responsible for.

We should be 10 points clear by now of course

Even if we were a defeat away to St.Johnstone and a home draw v Ross County should/would still have to be looked upon as disappointing results (unless league was won by then)

To be fair, she has given CL and RN all the tools they need to put a winning team on the park so any criticism of the team is not for her. And she is always going to be positive about where we are.

The club is in very safe hands.

I agree :)  Although I do not agree with everything she does, I could not possibly trust any one person more with the financial management/business direction of our club than her.

Obviously doesn't know we are absolutely miles behind Aberdeen with no chance of catching them up.  MAD ANN OOOOOOTT!!!111!!!!!

"with the team flying high in third place" - I am pretty certain that applies solely to on the field performance. 

Obviously doesn't know we are absolutely miles behind Aberdeen with no chance of catching them up.  MAD ANN OOOOOOTT!!!111!!!!!

Your real team are ahead of Aberdeen.

"with the team flying high in third place" - I am pretty certain that applies solely to on the field performance.

The perils if speed reading on your phone. :whistling: Even so, it's still a relative term and third is high in the league, though second is higher.

I thought it was ?3m in the bank from cash accumulated in the past two years plus ?3m from FoH over the next two years. I assume the "well over half" refers to further cash accumulation over the last few months. No news on where the rest is coming from eg the debentures idea previously floated.

I am struggling to see where the news is in this statement.

"Flying high" on the basis of 11 points out of a possible 21 and out of two cups is just silly.

Sorry, I know we are supposed to just swoon!

So flying at 30,000 feet instead of 36,000 feet is not flying high?

Flying high does not necessarily mean at the pinnacle.

So flying at 30,000 feet instead of 36,000 feet is not flying high?

Flying high does not necessarily mean at the pinnacle.

Nor does it mean merely winning games we should win, failing to win some games we should win and being knocked out very early in the only two cup competitions we have so far taken part in.

I actually wonder if she ever thinks "why do I bother?" Some of the moronic comments must get back to her.

Glad that woman did bother her arse personally, and I appreciate a wee update now and again on all the good work she and the rest of the club are responsible for.

I don't think she ever does as she doesn't do social media.

Most people are happy for a wee update now and again without resorting to dissecting every word she says.