James Bond

joseywales

i agree, but he might be worried about being typecast taking on such an iconic role

for me dalton is the best bond and his films were great wasnt there some sort of disput as to why he didn't do more films, connery and moore were more cheesy for me but of their time. their films were good.

brosnan for me is the worst bond maybe it is due to the films, like invisible car (again)

There's a general rule with the Bond revamps - the first one is always a right back to form classic and then they are quite crap thereafter (I thought Skyfall was cheesy sentimental nonsense). The common denominator is Martin Campbell who did both Goldeneye and Casino Royal. I'd get him back with Idris to kick the balls out of it.

Anyway, you said invisible car, I raise you a tsunami surf. Brosnan had no shame by this point.

• Replies 111

Dalton is an underrated Bond (tin hat)

Brosnan was a good Bond, but films were utter guff post-Goldeneye (invisible car?! Come on)

Connery and Moore were very of their time and bang on as a result.

Craig has been excellent, again - of his time.

My vote for next Bond?  Fassbender.

I thought Dalton was the best Bond.

Bond films were dire until Craig added some bite and grit to the role. I'm glad the days of safari suits and double entendres are gone.

From Russia With Love is the best Bond film, imo, as it really captures that whole Cold War schtick to a tee.  Given it was filmed in 1963(?) it has that early 60's style about it that epitomised the Connery era.

OHMSS is a cracking story, sadly let down by Lazenby.  Connery's return in Diamonds are Forever is good, I think it is a good film, Jill St John is gorgeous..., but it is getting a bit flabby (Connery included!) and the smart arse one liners are becoming more apparent.

Moore's initial offerings are good also.  Live and Let Die, Man with Golden Gun, but then they get sillier and sillier, despite being half decent yarns.  Moonraker, for example - that Gondola hovercraft!

Perhaps a sign of the times, zany 70's spin on it.

By the end, Moore was just too old to really cut it as Bond.  Dalton was a perfect fit, but by the 80's the films were poor, but I can't hold that against him.  Right man at the wrong time.

Brosnan started off well, but then the films just went downhill fast.

So the idea to reboot the franchise, to make Bond a more serious character, realistic (!) to an extent.  Craig is a really good fit, but as long as the scripts and stories remain relatively realistic, then it bodes well for the future.

I think one of the mistakes they make id that they let the Bond actors get too old.Craig will be at least 50 the time the next one comes out and then about 54 for the one after.He would be pentioned off or moved upstairs by then surely haha

Craig wouldn't look out of place in a tailors window.

They should just stop **** about and give Jason Statham a go.

I'll get shot down but Mr action himself with the brand and budget of a bond behind him... I bet would be an entertaining film!

On the subject of Bond roles, I always thought bringing in Judi Dench as M in Goldeneye was a masterstroke. Admittedly the character plays much more of a role in later films than the original ones so probably not a direct comparison to Bernard Lee et al, but my point stands. Not only is she a fantastic actress in her own right, but she played the part to an absolute T.

Was genuinely gutted when she died in Skyfall :(

EDIT: loved this scene in Casino Royale:

Agree on Judy Dench, but she could convincingly play anybody tbh.

I kind of hope they take it away from action for a bit. I'd love a really clever mystery/thriller where Bond is just smart AF rather than hard AF.

Connery to this day is still the perfect Bond imo...He had all the ingredients and could deliver the cheesey one liners at the end of a fight scene seamlessly , without it sticking out like a sore thumb.

I'd fire Daniel Craig into a close second place.

I like most bond films but didn't really take to Brosnan or Dalton but could watch their films....I liked Roger Moore though and he suited the time his films were done I think.

Fassbender is a good shout by an earlier poster for a post-Daniel Craig Bond or what about Hugh Jackman?

Craig is doing what Timothy Dalton did 30 years ago. Dalton was closest to the character and looked more like him. He could have been Bond in 1969 but thought he was too young.

It's a shame he didn't do more (Goldeneye) or that The Living Daylight's was written for Moore so had some comedy/lighter moments that he wasn't suited to. Licence To Kill is a great Bond film with a proper baddie too.

I think Daniel Craig has been the best Bond since Connery.

Delighted if he's making more.

Well exactly. The older Bond films were embarrassing. Vanishing cars, watches with lasers in them and space rockets hidden inside volcano's etc. Load of crap.

DC's movies are far more believable & realistic (to a point).

If hes not coming back then I hope the films at least continue along this vein. Bond is meant to be a dark, moody womaniser. Hes an assasin who's on everyones hit list. No picnic.

Idris Elba would be my pick

Too old; too heavy.

Love him as an actor but Bond should be similar to the character in the books. Craig is great for that but I'll be a bit disappointed if he hangs around for another.

You Only Live Twice. Classic tune by Nancy,  adapted by Roald Dahl and the greatest ever Ken Adams stage design (the volcano). In my top five easy. 

It's a shame he didn't do more (Goldeneye) or that The Living Daylight's was written for Moore so had some comedy/lighter moments that he wasn't suited to. Licence To Kill is a great Bond film with a proper baddie too.

Itv4 living daylights on now. Never noticed as much before but that is spot on...

The opening scene especially, made for Moore. Dalton could have been so much better, but watching again it feels like a bond film. Always good.

• 1 year later...

Hasn't it been filmed already? I'm sure I've seen one of the snippets where he dies a sky dive with the Queen. 

Sean Connery was the best as had it all. Liked a couple of Moore's but one dimensional actor. Craig not too bad but not high on charisma.

Like Hardy but maybe too much like his name! Overly tough. Fassbender in the mix I think more than Elba.

On 12/09/2016 at 02:14, cosanostra said:

I think Daniel Craig has been the best Bond since Connery.

Delighted if he's making more.

This is my opinion too, great as Bond. 

2 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Sean Connery was the best as had it all. Liked a couple of Moore's but one dimensional actor. Craig not too bad but not high on charisma.

Like Hardy but maybe too much like his name! Overly tough. Fassbender in the mix I think more than Elba.

Meant to be the man in Happy Valley and McMafia James Norton. Ideal actor for the part

Craig has the humorous menace that Connery brought to the role, and has probably just edged Bronson out as the best since Connery.

Top 3 Bonds.

Connery.      

Craig

Bronson

Best 5 movies

Goldfinger

From Russia With Love

On Her Majesty's Secret Service

Casino Royale

Goldeneye

top 3 theme tunes

You Only Live Twice

On Her Majesty's Secret Service

Thunderball

Have to admit I do have a soft spot for Roger Moore as Bond, if he had got the part originally on the back of the Saint it could have been a completely different story.

Best Bond films were the last 4. Far more realistic without laser watches, vanishing cars and flying in space etc. Daniel Craig is by far the best bond. Hard, sinister, selfish, almost evil. 

Next bond can only be Michael Fassbender. He would be even better than DC IMO. 

57 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Best Bond films were the last 4. Far more realistic without laser watches, vanishing cars and flying in space etc. Daniel Craig is by far the best bond. Hard, sinister, selfish, almost evil. 

It's all about the times, Craig taking down the bad guys with semi automatic weapons is cool. But Bond should be covert and under the radar. Originally  he was anti authority, and that's the only angle they have tried to keep. Fassbender is a gd shout. Johnny Lee Miller would be interesting.

2 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

I would have said the same a few years ago, but Fassbender has put in a few average performances the last few years. Top choice for me has to be Tom Hardy, incredible actor

18 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

I would have said the same a few years ago, but Fassbender has put in a few average performances the last few years. Top choice for me has to be Tom Hardy, incredible actor

Hardy would be my next choice although Bond needs to be an English Gentleman & a total thug. Hardy has the thug part but not sure if he has the stature to pull off the tuxedo & intellectual chat whilst drinking a vodka martini with the villians. 

I like Daniel Craig as Bond. I'd slot him in at 2nd behind Connery.

I think he brought back the moody and tough element Connery gave the part.

Fassbender would be a good choice if there's to be another new Bond.

Hugh Jackman?  The last Aussie didn't knock it off in the part though.

On 15/09/2016 at 01:47, I P Knightley said:

Too old; too heavy.

Love him as an actor but Bond should be similar to the character in the books. Craig is great for that but I'll be a bit disappointed if he hangs around for another.

Similar build to Craig and younger.

Idris-Elba-Fighter_trans_NvBQzQNjv4Bqnjc

9 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Similar build to Craig and younger.

Idris-Elba-Fighter_trans_NvBQzQNjv4Bqnjc

What's wrong with old either, you could get a damaged James Bond, after his life he would be very damaged. Someone mentioned Clive Owen, he would be a superb 007

5 hours ago, Judge Fudge said:

Craig has the humorous menace that Connery brought to the role, and has probably just edged Bronson out as the best since Connery.

Brosnan. Bronson would have been a completely different kettle of fish as Bond.

s-l300.jpg

16 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I'd like to see Jason Isaacs get the role. Imo, he would make a very good Bond.

MV5BMTc1NTI5MzE2OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODYy

The only guy that would be impossible to root for as 007. This guy is creepy, but a fine actor. Interesting name to mention

13 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

The only guy that would be impossible to root for as 007. This guy is creepy, but a fine actor. Interesting name to mention

Creepy in what way? :) Or is there something I don't know about him.

11 hours ago, redjambo said:

Brosnan. Bronson would have been a completely different kettle of fish as Bond.

s-l300.jpg

Ha ha, now your talking 

12 hours ago, redjambo said:

Got his big break playing a double part as identical twins in Taggart.

Folk are aware there is a source material for Bond aye? He's supposed to be a hard drinking, borderline-woman-hating-psycho. 

Roger Moore was bloody awful, all his films were more Carry On Bonding than anywhere near the books. 

Timothy Dalton was criminally underrated, his films are brilliant and he gave Bond the hard edge that the books had. 

Daniel Craig was doing well until that last effort, the comedy and Oii-Oii ness was back. It felt like comedy half the time, which I didnt like. 

Bond is a total *****. The films should reflect this. 

Im not bothered who the next bond is, as long as he looks and acts like a man. None of this posh english twee skinny lad pish.  

Creepy in what way? :) Or is there something I don't know about him.

He's always a villain. Would be hard to think he's the good guy

I would definitely say hello to him

20 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

He's always a villain. Would be hard to think he's the good guy

Never saw him as Jackson Broadie.  All filmed in and around Edinburgh. Although set in Cambridge in the books.

Surely James Bond should be good looking?

So, how the Hell did Daniel Craig ever get the gig?

7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Surely James Bond should be good looking?

So, how the Hell did Daniel Craig ever get the gig?

Because, I turned it down;).

On 12/09/2016 at 06:12, Sten Guns said:

The last real Bond was probably Goldeneye.

The Craig ones have been more Bourne than Bond.

His films are okay, but not a patch on the old ones. I suppose times change.

Trouble is as well, they're not a patch on the Bourne films. Bourne benefited from the less is more philosophy. Bond producers think ten minutes of continuous explosions equals a gripping film. Most of the recent ones have been so dull.