The auld farts thread

As a fully paid up member of the auld farts club. This is a thread to mention anything from the past. Mainly childhood

Tarzan swings doon Silverknowes beach. Upto 6 of us on one at the same time.

• Replies 696

10p mixtures and the bag was full!

Playing outside all day, everyday.

Walking to school without the need for a parent escort.

20 aside games of football and no matter the score the match was always decided by 'Last Goal The Winner'

Super Saturday Show at the Ideon Cinema...fekin brilliant

The New Vic. :(

Super Saturday Show at the Ideon Cinema...fekin brilliant

The George, Portobello for me.

Cameron Toll, the new "out of town shopping centre" blew my mind, so futuristic with a red light all the way round!

John mcCartney

wow,where was the george about chief?

1977 queens jubilee,craigentinny community centre had a jubilee procession outside on the street,
bloke on the back of a lorry chucking sweets to us kids

wedding `pour outs` at st christophers church,all the coins chucked from the wedding car and us lot diving to the ground
to gather em up

porty beach,sunny days,rammed

1977 queens jubilee,craigentinny community centre had a jubilee procession outside on the street,

wedding `pour outs` at st christophers church,all the coins chucked from the wedding car and us lot diving to the ground

to gather em up

SCATTER!!!!

Sportscene and Scotsport showing decent highlights.

Going "doon the glen" in the summer to see who could jump in from the highest height.

Going over to the park knowing that there was a game on u could join in on.

Summer holiday house parties, getting pissed on two cans and seeing who could "nip" the most bursds.

Camping oot in some random field.

Am only 33 as well :(

It was the Ritz in Rodney Street for me.

Me too. Got a bag of sweets from the sweet shop on the corner of Broughton Road and Logie Green Road on the way. Used to go to the cubs next door too.

WorldChampions1902

It was the Ritz in Rodney Street for me.

Ha ha......me too. Saturday morning's watching the ABC Minors show.

The Roxy in Gorgie Road for me.

After games at Tynie going into Bratasanni's at Haymarket for a mince pie supper. Remember seeing Drew Busby in there after a 3-1 win against Morton circa 74/75. He was eating steak and chips so I thought he must be loaded.

Football in the road - no cars in them days. Or against the squaddies at the 'Polo Fields'. A few Hearts guys were there too.

Playing rough in Dreggie Woods - jumping the Braid Burn, swinging from trees, huddling for trout. **** and Commandos, or Cowbows and Indians.

Listening to my Dad telling me how he first 'discovered' Dave Mackay when taking the football as a teacher at Carrickvale school. Later on he taught Gary Mackay too.

Getting the bus to the away matches - Gordon Marshall's dad Ronnie was the organiser. Seeing Norrie Davidson score the winner in the 1962 cup final at Hampden.

Happy days...

After games at Tynie going into Bratasanni's at Haymarket for a mince pie supper. Remember seeing Drew Busby in there after a 3-1 win against Morton circa 74/75. He was eating steak and chips so I thought he must be loaded.

Bratasanni's!

John mcCartney

yup bingo hall bath street gotcha

porty town hall with anti pasti and the threats,was a massive fan of anti pasti and stood at the side door for em
arriving for soundcheck lol ,1981 poss

it was a friday and i bulleted along there from my half day finish at leith academy

Hector Riva

Secatine guns, Globe and Hendries juice,keppies and steelies (Marbles) and bags of broken biscuits. 

Oh single No6 fags an smokng cinnamon sticks :)

Remember when you used to find policemen in the police boxes instead of coffee machines.

Mind the police used to have epic Rovers?

Going round the doors asking if they had any wood for the bonfire. Two bonfires a year. One Victoria day the other November 5th.

Jambo-Jimbo

Slot TV's from British Relay and the TV went off the air at 11pm or midnight or something like that.

Being able to be left all day on your own during the holidays when your parents were out at work with no worries about anybody bothering you.

As a small child in Craigmillar remember the treat of the ice cream shop at the bottom of my road (Craigmillar Castle Road), I think it may have been Luca's.

Posh folks had fridge's, we had a cool cupboard.

Scarlet fever and whooping cough.

And your mum telling you that you'd get chilblains if you warmed your feet on the electric fire.

Slot TV's from British Relay and the TV went off the air at 11pm or midnight or something like that.

Being able to be left all day on your own during the holidays when your parents were out at work with no worries about anybody bothering you.

As a small child in Craigmillar remember the treat of the ice cream shop at the bottom of my road (Craigmillar Castle Road), I think it may have been Luca's.

Posh folks had fridge's, we had a cool cupboard.

Cool cupboard in the scullery. Nobody called it the kitchen

winniethedog

Leaning over the railway bridge near Harrison Park on the way to Craiglockhart Primary as the steam train pulled out from the station heading into Edinburgh.

Was that Shandon Station ?

The year was 1963 /64.

Friday night during the summer when the yellow solripe van came round. Always got a limeade, a pineappleade and an american cream soda (for ice cream floats).

Any youngsters looking in will be confused as feck by this one.

The Rag & Bone Man.

A tonne of clothes for a balloon and a whistle.

Reminds me of the minder when Arthur got that guy to trade the goldfish for clothes and all the kids were taking their mum n dads best gear and swapping it for fish [emoji23]

winniethedog

Steam trains a bit before my time but remember spewing up a bottle of Pomagne and several cans of Breaker Malt Liquor aged 15 . The bridge at Ashley Terrace

to gather em up

I think it was Bath street.

Double bill Horror movies on a Friday night? :peek_by_Andrin:

backgreen runs over the walls with glass

Im hoping our ex-policeman who lives over the water notices this thread - always good to read his posts on stuff like this.

I mind the summer of 76. The footpath outside my house had just been redone and the tar was bubbling every day. We ruined our plimsoles as the tar stuck to the bottom of them, 

We used to get old coal sacks and sit on them as we used them as sledges to go down the local bing (coal slag heap for anyone that doesnt know)

Being youngest of 5, I was one of the earliest voice remote TV controls as my dad would sit and say, either channel 1,2 or 3 (thats all we had) and I had to get up and change the channel. Also, being allowed to stay up late on a Friday to watch the Hammer House of Horror double bill. 

My wife is 10 years younger than me and she hardly believes any of the stuff I reminisce about  :uhoh2:

Sawdust Caesar

Making a guider out of an old door and some pram wheels. Summer hols that went on for ages apart from the last week which flew by. Being annoyed that the morning kids shows only started when the English schools went on holiday which was a week later than Scotland. I'm sure it meant I missed the end of The Flashing Blade but that might just be my memory being a bit fuzzy. The BBC shutting down about 1pm with only the test card to watch, and it closing down about midnight. Watching the wee white dot disappear when you switched the tv off. Playing football in the park trying to avoid the dogshit. Jubilees made with 1 part Ribena 2 parts American cream soda.

Talk-o-the-North

The Rag & Bone Man.

And the old horse drawn milk carts - it was still doing the rounds in my area in the 70s. Our old milky, Bill, used to allow us get a hurly round the streets.

My kids think I make this stuff up.

No idea what that is?

The George was the picture house on Bath St. Every Saturday, two good (probably crap) films.

Bus fares there, money to get in, sweetie money(always bought those plastic bags of a hundred wee plastic soldiers), money for chips after and bus fares home.

Kids today have no idea how tough we had it. :toff:

The George was the picture house on Bath St. Every Saturday, two good (probably crap) films.

Bus fares there, money to get in, sweetie money(always bought those plastic bags of a hundred wee plastic soldiers), money for chips after and bus fares home.

Kids today have no idea how tough we had it. :toff:

Did they throw sweets out into the crowd like the Odeon?absolute mayhem :lol:

Mind the police used to have epic Rovers?

Morris Minor for me. You could hear their wee lawnmower engines coming a mile away.

Levoy and chainy in the playground

Stuffing your face with the sugar lumps in cafes

The Water Margin on bbc2 at 9.00pm

The Rag & Bone Man.

Great thread already. Balloon and maybe a plastic whistle.

Talk-o-the-North

Friday night during the summer when the yellow solripe van came round. Always got a limeade, a pineappleade and an american cream soda (for ice cream floats).

Oh man, the ice cream floats were ace. Had to be american cream soda. Loved the way it foamed up before tucking in.

Do folk still ask for a 'Black Man' from the ice cream van!?!