Drinking in the Pub Alone

This might be a sign of me getting a little older but previously I could never imagine me going to the pub on my own for a few.

Today though, I have something on later and no one was up for leaving work early and I've found myself in the pub on my own, ipod on, drinking a few pints and it's a fairly enjoyable experience.

Am I normal or sad, you decide JKB?

• Replies 106

This might be a sign of me getting a little older but previously I could never imagine me going to the pub on my own for a few.

Today though, I have something on later and no one was up for leaving work early and I've found myself in the pub on my own, ipod on, drinking a few pints and it's a fairly enjoyable experience.

I sit on my "jack" pretty much every day when in my local, but then I'm a bit of a weirdo. :(

Can be enjoyable but only in a quiet pub and there has to be a newspaper or book to read.

It's fairly quiet but getting busier. I've been reading the news on my phone if that counts.

I'm not adverse to a solo pint - it's often better than being with someone you don't want to drink with.

I'll be honest, when I decided stuff it I'll go alone I thought what am I doing, then I got here and realised I'd rather sit with my ipod in than deal with some folks chat.

Depends on whether or not you enjoyed your own company more than being with normal folk? :shifty:

Nowt wrong with drinking by yourself.

Quite often have a glass of wine or can of cider in the house by myself because I like it. It's only a problem if you drink for effect rather that liking the taste - and that's a problem whether you're by yourself or with others.

Only second place to drinking at home alone.

That's another experience I'm enjoying more as I mature.

I sit on my "jack" pretty much every day when in my local, but then I'm a bit of a weirdo. :(

That might reflect your local more than you....or not haha

That's another experience I'm enjoying more as I mature.

Having an ice cold cider as we type.

Bliss.

Cheers Al.

And everyone else too.

Fruitmachine76

Bang on, absolutely nothing wrong with going for a few jars on your own, I'm quite partial to it. Prefer to have a newspaper to read whilst I kick back with a beer though

That might reflect your local more than you....or not haha

It's actually a good pub but I often find myself thinking as I'm sitting there "analyzing" the clientele as they gab away about theirs, or the day's, latest happenings, "how can they be ersed?".

You're correct of course, 'cause it cannie be me.

I quite enjoy it, no qualms about doing it. It's nice to find a wee bit of peace and have a quiet pint. 

I do it frequently (doing it now). Quite enjoy it. I usually end up chatting to someone, either a punter or staff member, and I can drink as fast or as slow as I want. I can also be as social, or as anti-social as I want.

As others say, you can read a newspaper or a book, or do the crossword - or read JKB.

I do a fair bit of travelling with work and I'd much rather go for a few pints on my own than sit in a hotel room on my own. Smart phones have made the experience much more tolerable though as there's always JKB to post shite on when you've finished the paper and/or there's no sport on in the pub!

Dr. Sheldon Cooper

I did for the first time on Saturday.  I'd just stepped on the bus and my mates told me they were all running late, so I had about 45 minutes to kill in town whilst I waited on them.  The pub was absolutely rammed with rugby folk so I had to stand next to the puggy looking awkward as **** with a pint trying to look at my phone as often as possible :lol:.

Not something I'd do again in a hurry.

I haven't been in a pub for a long time, but now in the days of android, tablets etc. I would imagine pubs are not the social place they used to be. When I frequented to old Southern and Abbey Buffet conversation was taken for granted. When I came to Canada the beer parlour system was still in vogue, and it was all table service. When the licensing laws changed and pubs became the thing it was just like in Scotland, if lonely you could go for a pint and meet somebody to talk to.

Our drinking driving laws in B.C. have become quite severe so I just don't drink after golf, or drive to the pub for a beer, liquor and age whether seperate or combined both can have a deteriorated effect on driving ability. 

I have also partaken quite heavily in drinking at home, in Osoyoos I had a full bar in my basement, enjoyed sitting at the bar watching sports on tv. A lovely sundeck on the front of the house with views of the mountains, golf course and lake, at the rear was a patio with a view of an old gold mine in a mountain, all made for excellent venues for the consumption of much alcohol in the desert sun.  Now its a couple of glasses of red wine, the last time of doing so around Christmas. To be honest just cannot be bothered anymore.

Drinking a lot less now, so it's not something I find myself doing often, but I used to enjoy taking an afternoon wander up town, having a wee look around, and then nipping into somewhere convivial - decent beer, nae (other) erseholes, not too busy - for a pint or three and a read of the paper. Didn't always do my cause a lot of good when evening came around and I was back out again, with mates or a bursd, though...    :o

Never really enjoyed drinking on my own in a pub at night-time though, and only ever did it if I was away for work somewhere - as another poster said, it sometimes beat sitting around watching TV in your hotel room.

I often head to the pub for a pint on my own

I'm such a social chameleon I fit in anywhere.

What do I win?

Did it a fair few times in the summer holidays when off from work and became quite friendly with a guy from Coatbridge.

Anyway after becoming (what I thought anyway) was quite good pals I loaned him 40quid one day when he was stuck and never seen him again :lol:

Scammed by a jakey :rofl:

I often head to the pub for a pint on my own

I'm such a social chameleon I fit in anywhere.

What do I win?

A pint! You have to pay for it yourself though.

Been in the pub a few times on my tod while waiting for folk. It's quite nice sitting with a pint, letting the mind wander in a semi-busy pub.

Don't see the point. If you're not socialising you're as well having a beer in the comfort of your home without paying pub prices.

Although maybe different if you have a family/bairns right enough.

Did it a fair few times in the summer holidays when off from work and became quite friendly with a guy from Coatbridge.

Anyway after becoming (what I thought anyway) was quite good pals I loaned him 40quid one day when he was stuck and never seen him again :lol:

Scammed by a jakey :rofl:

The Coatbridge bit should've been sufficient warning.

Nowt wrong with drinking by yourself.

Quite often have a glass of wine or can of cider in the house by myself because I like it. It's only a problem if you drink for effect rather that liking the taste - and that's a problem whether you're by yourself or with others.

I drink for the effect. No denying that.

very rarely do it here tbh, but quite like to go for a pint on my tod when me and the wife are on holiday, before we go for a meal at night Ill get ready first then when she's getting ready Ill go for a beer for a bit of me time, barry :thumbsup:

I quite enjoy a few solo points. If there's a game on TV I'll happily sit in the pub on my own watching it. Also, if I'm meeting mates I might go out for one or two before they turn up; quite relaxing.

There was one time I was out with mates and they had to get the train back to Glasgow at 11:30pm or something like that but I was well up for a big night at that point having had a quite a few pints so I stayed out in the pub for a bit then went to a nightclub and got absolutely hammered. That's a sad state of affairs!

I did this a few years ago to just see if i could manage it. I hated it. Felt paranoid with people around thinking i was a loser. lol..So read anything i could get my hands on, checked my phone numerous times and texted people " pretending " i had friends.. I admire people who can do it though. Takes loads of confidence and bottle...pardon the pun,

Genuinely don't think it takes confidence. I think it just takes not giving a shit about what people think.

If you're in a rammed pub then it's shite. Every time I've been in London with my business for the day finished by lunchtime I'll have a leisurely solo pub crawl back to the train station. If I walk into a pub and it doesn't feel like one I can have a pint and not look a ***** in, I'll just leave and find another.

Genuinely don't think it takes confidence. I think it just takes not giving a shit about what people think.

Yeah i suppose thats correct.

One of the most underrated, pleasurable experiences one can have!!!

Except on a Saturday night tho! I do think that's a bit weird.......

To be honest more folk would probably be thinking you were a loser if they saw you fiddling about with your phone every minute pretending you had friends rather than if you were just sitting there enjoying yourself not seeming to bother about what anybody thought of you.

yes i know . Ive moved on from then. !! I only go to pubs to socialise with friends. I dont even drink in the house either. Im more a stoner. 

I am on the shy side. my brother sometimes has to work Saturday's when I would meet him in the Diggers before the game.

When he is running late I usually buy a paper or sit and watch the TV, confidence is not my middle name.

Getting much better though.

I don't think anyone really cares if you're on your own in the pub. When's the last time you were in the pub or the cinema etc, saw someone on their own, and actually cared?

If I'm meeting up with the Mrs or my mates in town I'll tend to go up an hour early. That hour sitting in the pub having a couple of pints on my own is bliss.

Never done this, but then I only drink when it's socially unacceptable not to. If I'm the first one to show up to a night out I'll normally stand outside doing the usual awkwardly playing with the phone until people turn up.

I do go to Hearts games alone though, most of my mates aren't really interested in football and the one I used to go with works weekends. Got fed up of missing games so decided to go alone more and more over the last couple of years and ended up getting a season ticket this season.

I'm naturally really shy so I quite like not having to be sociable and doing things alone, the only obstacle for things like this is feeling paranoid about other people judging you, even though I know no one really cares.

I don't think anyone really cares if you're on your own in the pub. When's the last time you were in the pub or the cinema etc, saw someone on their own, and actually cared?

That's a good point, when I was younger I was like, look at that guy on his own. Now I'm just like fair play.

Never done this, but then I only drink when it's socially unacceptable not to. If I'm the first one to show up to a night out I'll normally stand outside doing the usual awkwardly playing with the phone until people turn up.

I do go to Hearts games alone though, most of my mates aren't really interested in football and the one I used to go with works weekends. Got fed up of missing games so decided to go alone more and more over the last couple of years and ended up getting a season ticket this season.

I'm naturally really shy so I quite like not having to be sociable and doing things alone, the only obstacle for things like this is feeling paranoid about other people judging you, even though I know no one really cares.

:lol: are you me?

I travel a lot with work and therefore it's usually my only option. I'm in Califonia at the moment, and went to a chain restaurant last night for dinner, sat at the bar and the bar staff were full of banter. They soon got me involved with all the other punters sitting at the bar and it turned out to be very enjoyable couple of hours.

On my walk back, the pub next door to the hotel was rammed so I went in for a nightcap. Later, at 10:30, I had just ordered my second pint, when the pub just seemed to empty within about 5 minutes. I very quickly noticed that I was, quite literaly, drinking in the pub alone. I chatted to the barman for a few minutes then supped up and went home to bed.

In summary, I have no problem drinking in the pub 'on my own', but find it kinda weird drinking in the pub 'alone', if you get my drift.