Best and Worst Pubs In Edinburgh

WavyGravy

I know this has been done to death but it's good and it always starts argument's, which is a good thing.

Best - Tuechter's in William St.  Just the right side of pretentious.  Nice and compact, central, good place to start the night.

Worst - Standing Order in George Street.  All Wotherspoon's are grief holes but this one has thoughts above it station.  It's shite with better wallpaper.  

Go.

• Replies 116

Every time I came up to Edinburgh the only pub I went in was the Grey Horse Inn on Dalkeith Rd. Most people will say it's a shithole (or was after it was done up) but I was always felt welcome coming from London. Saying that I've not been in there or to Edinburgh in 5 years now.

Diggers

Bow Bar

Cask and Barrel

Malt and Hops

Cafe Royal

Cloisters

Golden Rule

Leslie's

All good places to drink, all with a good range of well-kept beers.

The answer depends on what you are looking for in a pub...

Pre Footie: Diggers and The Rule both have everything you need.

Work night out / eye candy: Revolution

Quiet Pint: Teuchters

Beer Garden: Pear Tree

Watching sport: Footlights

Pub grub: The Beer Kitchen

All the pubs in Stockbridge are decent for different reasons as well apart from the Raeburn Bar (not to be confused with the Raeburn Hotel). Which brings me on to the worst pubs...

The Ratpack - sweaty, sleazy fire trap with terrible door staff.

The Hive - Vomit central

Bar Salsa - cheapskate central

Henry. Henry.

Diggers

Bow Bar

Cask and Barrel

Malt and Hops

Cafe Royal

Cloisters

Golden Rule

Leslie's

Good list! Leslie's is the retreat for a few of the boys from my Sunday Fitba team. Great boozer with fantastic staff

Every time I came up to Edinburgh the only pub I went in was the Grey Horse Inn on Dalkeith Rd. Most people will say it's a shithole (or was after it was done up) but I was always felt welcome coming from London. Saying that I've not been in there or to Edinburgh in 5 years now.

Phenomenal pub. Can't speak highly enough about it. Genuine.

The answer depends on what you are looking for in a pub...

Pre Footie: Diggers and The Rule both have everything you need.

Work night out / eye candy: Revolution

Quiet Pint: Teuchters

Beer Garden: Pear Tree

Watching sport: Footlights

Pub grub: The Beer Kitchen

All the pubs in Stockbridge are decent for different reasons as well apart from the Raeburn Bar (not to be confused with the Raeburn Hotel). Which brings me on to the worst pubs...

The Ratpack - sweaty, sleazy fire trap with terrible door staff.

The Hive - Vomit central

Bar Salsa - cheapskate central

Came on to post the Raeburn as one of my best. Suppose it's all about personal experience. :lol:

Usually go into The Fountain after the game, it's pretty good,

Cloisters, was in there on Saturday for the fist time, as we were in Passorn, good pint of Black Isle Porter

The bow Bar

Cask n barrel, south side

The Southern

All good pubs

Came on to post the Raeburn as one of my best. Suppose it's all about personal experience. :lol:

Are you talking about the one next to Acvies ground or the one on the back street up from the Bon Vivant that used to be a wee cocktail bar until they turned it back into a traditional boozer?

Went in with the bursd expecting cocktails at 9pm on a Saturday and it had about 6 neds watching Sky Sports and generally making a nuisance of themselves.

Worst- broadfields

The time before last I was in there, I'd only been in 30 seconds. I lifted my pint over to one of the high tables and put it down, and a young lassie came crashing through the table. That sent the two pints flying into a crowd of boys, who immediately wanted a pagger about it.

Total bombscare of a place that doesn't seem to have any rules. I was going to add 'especially at the weekend' to that last sentence, then remembered I popped in for a pint while I waited for a pizza from Giovannis next door, on one school night. There were four boys in the corner, and when I stood at the bar, one of them came over and started backing into me. There was nobody else at the bar, so it was clearly deliberate to provoke me. Four boys, looking to start a fight with one guy on his tod, who's been in the door about 2 minutes. It's a classy joint alright.

In saying that, I've also had a few decent nights in there as well.

Diggers

Bow Bar

Cask and Barrel

Malt and Hops

Cafe Royal

Cloisters

Golden Rule

Leslie's

I second that list.

I would like to add The Juniper Inn as they serve the best pint of Landlord.

Thomsons in Morrison St. excellent bar, great service and great staff.

Thomsons for me as well. Great pint and excellent service.

I also like Thomson's but would (and do, on occasions!) pull them up on their selection of cask ales. Not that they ever serve anything that's poor quality, or badly kept, but it's pretty rare they have anything on that isn't light-coloured and hoppy. I like a balanced pint, where neither the malt or hops predominate, and really don't like ultra-hoppy / floral / bitter beers. I've asked them about it a few times and have been told that when they get in darker / maltier / more balanced brews they don't sell well, so tend not to do so often. Fair enough from a business point of view, but it usually means switching to the bottled Erdinger for me - ain't life a bitch!   ;)

I go to The Diggers, Fountain, Ventoux (the old Illicit Still - much better now, with a nice range of bottled German beers :dribble: and some eclectic and cool music choices) and the southside C&B fairly regularly - all good places.

Hate anywhere rammed with drunken yahoos or scowling neds, with poor service, cynically-expensive, or which has no interesting beer either on draught or in bottles.

Regal Kingston

I like Robbies, Smithies, Teuchters, The Bailey, Forresters & The Cambridge bar.

Can't think of a boozer I particularly hate but plenty I would not go in

Bert Le Clos

Guildford Arms has always been pretty good whenever I've been in.

Queen's Arms is the usual post match boozer if we're heading out in town after the game. Only criticism would be it's just a little bit small for the numbers.

I'll occasionally stop off for a couple at The Hebrides bar on Market Street if I've got the train into town.

The Pear Tree is great with it's beer garden but whenever I've been in the bar is always rammed because of the number of people in. Do they do table service these day? They should.

Any bar has the potential to be good if they manage the folk they let in properly. Element on Rose Street is an example; nice, modern, classy looking place with a good selection of spirits.

Edwards, Sportsters and The Chanter are the exact opposite.

My H1b5 mates all swear by CC Blooms. :whistling:

they do a Barry cheese n pickle toastie! Edit- sorry just seen Gilbert at the bus stop [emoji1]

I also like Thomson's but would (and do, on occasions!) pull them up on their selection of cask ales. Not that they ever serve anything that's poor quality, or badly kept, but it's pretty rare they have anything on that isn't light-coloured and hoppy. I like a balanced pint, where neither the malt or hops predominate, and really don't like ultra-hoppy / floral / bitter beers. I've asked them about it a few times and have been told that when they get in darker / maltier / more balanced brews they don't sell well, so tend not to do so often. Fair enough from a business point of view, but it usually means switching to the bottled Erdinger for me - ain't life a bitch!   ;)

I go to The Diggers, Fountain, Ventoux (the old Illicit Still - much better now, with a nice range of bottled German beers :dribble: and some eclectic and cool music choices) and the southside C&B fairly regularly - I all good places.

Hate anywhere rammed with drunken yahoos or scowling neds, with poor service, cynically-expensive, or which has no interesting beer either on draught or in bottles.

I'm a Guinness drinker myself and the Guinness in there is always first class.

100% in agreement with your other observations.

I like Robbies, Smithies, Teuchters, The Bailey, Forresters & The Cambridge bar.

Can't think of a boozer I particularly hate but plenty I would not go in

Forgot to put the Bailie in my list. I think it's an absolutely fantastic place. The Stockbridge Tap (formerly Bert's) should be in there too, as should Kay's for a bit of New Town posh.

Dr. Sheldon Cooper

We've started going to the Black Cat on Rose Street when we're out, it's pretty good in there albeit a tad on the small side.

Queens Arms is also a good shout.

Cafe Royal for the choice of ales (Kilburn Red Smiddy).

Good shout for Cloisters too.

Diggers for the atmosphere and service.

Queens Arms for the after work drinks.

Worst:

Lock 25 - Bearpit that stinks of sewage

Anywhere else where the ale choice is John Smiths or Best (stop calling yourself a pub!).

Worst:

Anywhere else where the ale choice is John Smiths or Best (stop calling yourself a pub!).

Was in Lock 25 on Saturday after the game, was absolutely stinking, a dirty smell, no very nice, first time we had been in there we won't be back.

Stumbled across the thistle Street bar recently, cracking proper boozer in the city centre.

I like beer and skittles too, smart sports bar.

The Balmoral has to be one of the worst

I was in Paradise Palms last week on a works afternoon out. It was like being in a David Lynch film. Joy Division followed by a mariachi song. Nice drink and a lot of facial hair. Felt like I was tripping. 

The worst for me, having lived across from it for 8 years was the Westfield bar.

I always enjoyed the caley sample rooms. Nice atmosphere.

Worst:

I've always found the service to be fairly poor in the Caf? Royal - they never seem to have enough staff on to cover the admittedly large circumference of the bar. Went off Cloisters a while back due to the surly and stroppy attitude of one of the bar-staff, a wee lassie with dreadlocks: service with a scowl guaranteed. Might start going back if she's emigrated to Jamaica or otherwise moved-on...

Regarding minging bogs, the gents in the Brauhaus used to be horrendous - the whole pub stunk of it - it was great for everything else,mind you! I've not been in recently, so I don't know what the place is like now. A little less "lively", I assume...

duckandcover

I've always found the service to be fairly poor in the Caf? Royal - they never seem to have enough staff on to cover the admittedly large circumference of the bar. Went off Cloisters a while back due to the surly and stroppy attitude of one of the bar-staff, a wee lassie with dreadlocks: service with a scowl guaranteed. Might start going back if she's emigrated to Jamaica or otherwise moved-on...

Regarding minging bogs, the gents in the Brauhaus used to be horrendous - the whole pub stunk of it - it was great for everything else,mind you! I've not been in recently, so I don't know what the place is like now. A little less "lively", I assume...

Nothing will ever beat Whistle Binkis for smelling like a bog. Absolutely disgusting. Up there with the worse for me.

Best would probably be Hectors or The Salisbury Arms.

Worst. The Canny Mans

Best. Brass Monkey

Does the Canny Mans still stop people entering just because they can?

Stumbled across the thistle Street bar recently, cracking proper boozer in the city centre.

Where's The Barmoral?

King Of The Cat Cafe

Favourite: Cumberland

Used to be favourite: St Vincent

Cheap pint: Clark's

Special mention for saving me from two hours of Downtown Abbey one Christmas Night: Wally Dug.

Where's The Barmoral?

Now Benson's (in Dalry)? If so, I agree with Hni - it's a feckin' shitehole of a pub.

Think I meant the Balmoral, Dalry Rd

Now called Benson's. Still horrible though.

Best the Auld Bell at Causwayside, and 2nd the Scotsman bar on Coburn street when a band is playing at the weekend.

Worst...... Grapes bar Newington, if it is still called that.

Does the Canny Mans still stop people entering just because they can?

My dad is banned for life for laughing.

Usually go into The Fountain after the game, it's pretty good,

It might be now, but it never ****ing used to be :lol:

The Harp & Castle actually a decent pub.

The Ferryboat....... Roughest pub I've ever been in.

Beer and Skittles is fairly good.

They have a nice selection of beer, the only problem is it's an expensive pint and the cheap option, their own beer is absolutely bowfin!

I also can't stand pool tables where the wall stops you from hitting your shot properly.

Good screens, good atmosphere and a nice outdoor area though.

Best used to be the queens arms until they changed the set up

Worst - the tam o shanter, busier in the morning than it is at night

Special mention of disgust to any pub which charges more than 4 quid for a pint

Favourite: Cumberland

Used to be favourite: St Vincent

Cheap pint: Clark's

Special mention for saving me from two hours of Downtown Abbey one Christmas Night: Wally Dug.

Must be a wee while since you were last in Clarks. Nothing cheap about it now. Prices been going up every 6 months like clockwork!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Goldstone Wonder

So many great pubs in Edinburgh but now that I live near Stockbridge the Bailie is probably my favourite pub at the moment.

I love going to pubs I've never been in before. The shitter the better. The worst in terms of decor and lack of creature comforts has to be the Anchor Inn in Granton. My girlfriend and I ended up there one Saturday evening last summer after a long day on the peeve. She lives down in the new flats at Granton Harbour. The toilets are positively third world and there are bars on he windows so it could be the middle of summer or January and you wouldn't know it.

We were in there 5 minutes and my bird managed to tell the whole pub that we were Jambos and lawyers. The pub is 100% Hibs and the clientele are the type who equate lawyers with the polis. Despite that they were extremely welcoming and nice peopLe. We spent an enjoyable hour or so there. Still have night terrors about the toilets though.