Toffee's take on the game

funktasticlad

• Replies 113

Skimmed it for their fans take on the penalties. Unsurprisingly the consensus is neither were penalties with comments including, "never a pen but we'll take it," about the first to, "Tom Daley would've been proud of that from Morallis!"

"With the Glorious Asia Cup dream ending as doth our Cup Runs usually do, meekly, Everton retreat back to the Kingdom for a dead set revenge porn style punch up with our freckled kin, The Fashionably Frock Wearing Sweaties of Heart of Midlothian Football Club. The Oldest of Clubs from the Capital, and the sole remaining Scottish Premiership team from Edinburgh in the Scottish Premiership. They play in Maroon, or Marone depending on your flavour, which despite the Swishy Totti is an awful colour to show off into to be fair. Not quite red, not even purple, it swishes around pretending it's had life dead tough when really it's only a couple of shades from shoite.

"Scanning The Jambo's Wiki page very quickly I'm absorbing the fact they have suffered through the Villainous reign of Vladimir Romanov, which as things tend to do started quite positively when your headed by a Lunatic. After ups and downs which you can just google if your keen, here we find the Hearts of 2015 with players who are being paid and fans who och eye saved the Club. The people who support Hearts seem like decent folk, so I'm not going to lay any kind of literary boot in, as a predecessor might seen fit to, but I won't. People are people too, you know."

I'm going to have to up my game when I start a match thread.

There's a naked woman in a Hearts scarf too.

There is a Hibs fans in my work who would slag off our great maroon. He said because it was not a primary colour, it was not a proper colour. He was confused and dumbfounded, when it was explained to him that green was not a primary colour either.

N Lincs Jambo

Skimmed it for their fans take on the penalties. Unsurprisingly the consensus is neither were penalties with comments including, "never a pen but we'll take it," about the first to, "Tom Daley would've been proud of that from Morallis!"

From the same site, same thread:

Hahaha

Hearts 1 - 1 Referee

"With the Glorious Asia Cup dream ending as doth our Cup Runs usually do, meekly, Everton retreat back to the Kingdom for a dead set revenge porn style punch up with our freckled kin, The Fashionably Frock Wearing Sweaties of Heart of Midlothian Football Club. The Oldest of Clubs from the Capital, and the sole remaining Scottish Premiership team from Edinburgh in the Scottish Premiership. They play in Maroon, or Marone depending on your flavour, which despite the Swishy Totti is an awful colour to show off into to be fair. Not quite red, not even purple, it swishes around pretending it's had life dead tough when really it's only a couple of shades from shoite.

"Scanning The Jambo's Wiki page very quickly I'm absorbing the fact they have suffered through the Villainous reign of Vladimir Romanov, which as things tend to do started quite positively when your headed by a Lunatic. After ups and downs which you can just google if your keen, here we find the Hearts of 2015 with players who are being paid and fans who och eye saved the Club. The people who support Hearts seem like decent folk, so I'm not going to lay any kind of literary boot in, as a predecessor might seen fit to, but I won't. People are people too, you know."

I'm going to have to up my game when I start a match thread.

There's a naked woman in a Hearts scarf too.

Posted by A Stubbo

I awoke this morning to find this lovely in my face [emoji7] d43b32c514a1b42ca208a714f69ce872.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

scots civil war

that wasnt a scouser what wrote that article surely.....****ing awful,racist,pompous garbage

toffees are one of my teams as well

lovely pic btw

"A fitter and better drilled team wouldn't have afforded our players as much time on the ball"

I don't think we can take much from the game tbh.

Cairneyhill Jambo

I awoke this morning to find this lovely in my face [emoji7] d43b32c514a1b42ca208a714f69ce872.jpg

You should see the other pics of her. That's only one pic out of about 7. :naughty:

drumie jambo

oh my!

I usually enjoy a skim through other teams fora to see what they make of us but that opening post has to be one of the worst attempts at a flowery, knowing intro i've ever seen and i had to give up after the first paragraph. Whoever wrote it is just smart enough to ape his betters and certainly no more.

"as doth our Cup Runs usually do"

Doth means do.

"the sole remaining Scottish Premiership team from Edinburgh in the Scottish Premiership"

Again, Scottish Premiership means Scottish Premiership.

Quite worrying that they keep on saying that a "fitter" team wouldn't have given them so much time on the ball.

I know we can't match them for skill given the massive difference in resources available, but we should be able to match them for fitness at least.

Quite worrying that they keep on saying that a "fitter" team wouldn't have given them so much time on the ball.

I know we can't match them for skill given the massive difference in resources available, but we should be able to match them for fitness at least.

not really, 

maybe the players were told not to press them, 

maybe the players just showed everton to much respect, 

maybe they were being more cautious to avoid injury so close to the season starting, 

just because they weren't pressing doesn't mean its a lack of fitness. 

EPL teams are fitter and stronger, the game against Spurs showed that so its no surprise they mentioned it.

not really, 

maybe the players were told not to press them, 

maybe the players just showed everton to much respect, 

maybe they were being more cautious to avoid injury so close to the season starting, 

just because they weren't pressing doesn't mean its a lack of fitness.

I mentioned on Sunday that I thought Bains was getting to much room on the left and I thought Sam should have been closer to him. However I saw Robbie telling Sam not to shut him done when Bains was coming forward past the halfway line. So in that instance they were being told not to press them.

Tony Soprano

Quite a few disrespectful comments there. If i were an everton fan id be more concerned that they needed 2 penalties to beat a hearts team nowhere near full strength which included teenagers.

They only needed one penalty to beat us.

So the Everton fans take on us - 'crap' 'pub team' 'very limited' and 'a very poor opposition.'

So 3rd is in the bag lads.

royal navy hearts man

Not surprised to see their strange comments, knowing you'll never be the best team in your city tends to send people a bit loopy!

EPL teams are fitter and stronger, the game against Spurs showed that so its no surprise they mentioned it.

Yeah, it's not fitness so much as athleticism and speed of thought that means we are always a split second off the pace.

Back to 2005

Developed a bit of a dislike for Liverpool's wee team after reading some of their comments. Funny how all the Sky money has given the also rans of the English league this arrogance yet they have won feck all for the last 20 years.

Because the Scottish Season starts a few weeks earlier they are supposed to be further ahead in their preperations and fitter than English teams when pre season friendlies take place. Theses games are popular with English sides because they can guage their fitness levels at that time. Disappointing then thst they seemed fitter than us. Maybe back to the sand dunes Robbie.

Blimey. Who she? [emoji7]

Not surprised to see their strange comments, knowing you'll never be the best team in your city tends to send people a bit loopy!

Precisely.  Ever since Alex Young hung up his boots they have been rubbish.

Not interested in a critique from supporters of these losers.

If Liverpool are Scouse Celtic, Everton are Scouse Hibs.

I thought that most of the comments were pretty fair. The team we had out wasn't our best 11 and the gap in quality was pretty clear.

Pretty much sums up the difference between the standards in England and Scotland. Our best teams would only be mid to lower level Championship league at best. With most SPFL teams being League 1 standard

Maroon tinted glasses 2

There is a reason why they get called "the bitter blues" and let's be honest it obviously culminates as a result of consistently living within the shadow of a bigger club within the city. Bit funny him having a dig at the colour of our strip when they brought out a pink away one a few years back.

Then the frock wearing comment, this is from a guy whilst typing his match report who has probably got his tightly permed hair tucked into his black north face cap (with the front rim pointing skyward), his scarf up around his mouth and nose (poor chap must be cold during theses summer months) with his black north face jacket zipped right up to the top then finishing his look off with a pair of black tracksuit bottoms and black Adidas trainers.

Got to give him credit though as he obviously has some brains to have managed to get past the password protection on the freshly robbed laptop he used to type the report.

"Hearts first division in England at best" was one comment, either spoken by someone like one of the roasters on here or maybe we need a serious reality check which is maybe closer to the truth. I hope a lot of our young players realise that they haven't quite made it yet and continue to work hard on their games.

noidletalk81

Pre-season aside, if that's the kind of mediocre performance from virtually their starting 11 (assembled from millions), then it will be another long season of struggling for Premiership survival.

Remove Lukaku and your left with a very average side.

Everton fans would've came away thinking that was a stroll. We had quite a weakened team out, and didn't play especially well. They dominated possession and spent the majority of the game stroking the ball around the midfield. We seemed happy to sit in and hope for a break, which rarely came.

The best we can take out of it was there were no more injuries whilst the players got more match sharpness under their belts.

I'm looking forward to seeing Juanma, Pallardo, Augustyn and Oshaniwa in the starting XI.

Tokyo Drifter

Absolute gibberish, most of that. What's that p*** about "fashionably frock wearing sweaties" and "freckled kin". Guy's a pompous pseud, clearly. Makes me doubly glad Liverpool are my English team.

Does my head in reading disrespectful comments from English teams. It would be a completely different story if we had anywhere near the sort of money that gets pumped in to the English game.

We might be diddies to Everton, but Everton are diddies in the Premiership - a mid-table side.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Makes me doubly glad Liverpool are my English team.

Liverpool - one of the best nights of our travelling support's lives.

Everton - pompous racist prick on the internet supports the Hibs of the EPL.

Tony Soprano

They only needed one penalty to beat us.

Good point m9. Near full strength everton team worth aprox 200 million needing one penalty to beat a half strength "pub team" playing teenages makes it much better.

Well done liverpool hibs.

Good point m9. Near full strength everton team worth aprox 200 million needing one penalty to beat a half strength "pub team" playing teenages makes it much better.

Well done liverpool hibs.

It's just a friendly. I wouldn't give it too much thought.

Does my head in reading disrespectful comments from English teams. It would be a completely different story if we had anywhere near the sort of money that gets pumped in to the English game.

We might be diddies to Everton, but Everton are diddies in the Premiership - a mid-table side.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

One thing I was proud of last season was after we played a lot of the weaker teams in the championship none of us slagged off those teams or their fans. Disappointed by some of those comments but the Everton fans who were here seemed a good bunch.

Edit Hibs and Newco excepted.

Back to 2005

The EPL might be full of money but the mid table sides like Everton have nothing to play for other than to survive another year. Maybe qualify for the Europa League but that's an inconvenience as it gets in the way of the "big" game at the weekend. Cup run? No we'll play our reserves/youths rather than tire out the overpaid mercenaries/English millionaires.

Not sure what some of their fans were expecting tbh. We would be competing at League One, possibly lower Championship level.

letsalllaughathobos

Everton = another pointless English club paying over inflated wages on mediocre players,

Tbf I think half of them are on performance enhancing drugs of some kind in the bpl,

In my experience not many English fans get the extent of the gulf between us and them financially. What do they expect? Everton aren't rich enough to win their own league, we're not rich enough to compete with them. It's not difficult.

RealMaroonCF

This is why English football will run to ruin.

Absolute nothing, shambles outfits, like Everton with all of the Sky money. I mean, who the f88k are Everton ? Won the FA cup a few times alright. Managed by the so-called 'next messiah' who turned out to be a 'football genius' as painted by Liverpool fans.

Everton play in a league which has 4-5 teams containing some of the best players in Europe, maybe even the world. That's all they have to gloat about. Their akin to the sap at school who's hard man is the hardest of the schools in the surrounding area.

They're going nowhere as a club. No one wants to buy them either. Mugs.

I cannot wait to watch them put in their place again this year.

hearts_crazy

And if we had clung onto that lead their site would resemble this one.  A bunch of drama queens apoplectic about losing a friendly and banging on about relegation.

Couldn't give a shit what they think of us, it is of no significance. 

Trying to run a meaningful comparison between a top third EPL team and any SPFL team is about as pointless as tits on a fish.  They are on another level due to the ridiculous sums of cash that is pumped into the game in Engerlund, they will always see us as a pub team.

When do they play Dundee?

Will be interesting to see how they get on there compared to our match

When do they play Dundee?

Will be interesting to see how they get on there compared to our match

I believe it's tonight. It will be interesting, if Everton don't win by a goal or two this place will be murder.

the general

I mentioned on Sunday that I thought Bains was getting to much room on the left and I thought Sam should have been closer to him. However I saw Robbie telling Sam not to shut him done when Bains was coming forward past the halfway line. So in that instance they were being told not to press them.

noticed that in Dublin ...Paterson was told not to close his man down

Here's their thread about Dundee.

https://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/everton-vs-dundee-fc-tues-28-07-7-30pm.77825/

And here's what pish he's spouting.

"Dundee, of the Football Club variety, nary a United to be seen. Playing in dark blue, Dundee FC experienced their greatest period in the 60s when they won the league under the management of Bob Shankly, brother to notable Everton nemesis Bill. We have them to thank for Jimmy Gabriel, who made 304 appearances for Everton at right half, winning the 62/3 Championship and 66 FA Cup before later managing us in a caretaker role.
More recently in the 14/15 Scottish Premiership season, Dundee finished 6th, comfortable in mid table. Dundee have 2 wins out of four so far in preseason, most recently notching a 1-0 win vs League One Wigan with new signing Rory Loy putting the ball in the onion bag.
Dundee look likely to line up in a 4-3-3 with Extabeguren and Colquhoun likely to give the commentators a headache. Otherwise strong Scottish names in Irvine, Black and McPake round out the team.
We?re their last preseason runout, so hopefully they?ll be up for it and give us a challenge as we look to build towards Watford."

I prefer this post from SpurtingLesbian later in the thread.

"Dundee, the second most repugnant team in Scotland (well, perhaps third if you count Airdrie Utd and their nazi saluting 'Ultras'). Rangers fans without the Bus fare. A nasty arrogant hateful club with nasty arrogant hateful supporters. 

I hope we smash them"