Reminiscences

hueyview

Just talking to a pal after work about going to games in the 80s.  Sharing Taxis at 2,40 from the Doctors/Sandy Bells pub.  Waiting in long queues at the turnstyle (pre-all seating..pay on the day).  Stoating about the Cowshed area with the "wee" wall at the back.  He asked me if i remembered the oranges?   I said no...he said some folk had oranges full of booze...Does anyone remember this?

• Replies 165

Just talking to a pal after work about going to games in the 80s.  Sharing Taxis at 2,40 from the Doctors/Sandy Bells pub.  Waiting in long queues at the turnstyle (pre-all seating..pay on the day).  Stoating about the Cowshed area with the "wee" wall at the back.  He asked me if i remembered the oranges?   I said no...he said some folk had oranges full of booze...Does anyone remember this?

Going a bit further back . Everyone just took their carry oot in to the match. No need to hide it .

Used to take our traditional NY bottle in to the Derby in fact it was the only thing that numbed the pain on one infamous occasion.

We used to inject them with vodka and take them to outdoor concerts.

Eat them on the bus if no drink was allowed.

It took years before the stewards started taking the bags of oranges off you as you went into the concerts.

Going a bit further back . Everyone just took their carry oot in to the match. No need to hide it .

Used to take our traditional NY bottle in to the Derby in fact it was the only thing that numbed the pain on one infamous occasion.

v

I remember one at Fester Road, about a dozen or us all got in with the booze, unfortunately the guy with the mixer got stopped, bacardi and vodka was the mix, cannot remember the score!

I remember one derby in the late eighties at ER. Walking to the turnstile and there was this guy with flared jeans on (yes you read that right). As he approached the turnstiles, from the bag that he was carrying he started to stick up each leg can after can of beer from the bag and tucked the jeans in to his socks. He must have walked passed a dozen or so police who never batted an eyelid. :laugh:

We used to inject them with vodka and take them to outdoor concerts.

Eat them on the bus if no drink was allowed.

It took years before the stewards started taking the bags of oranges off you as you went into the concerts.

thats what he said Vodka.  You never see folk with even fish suppers at the games now..........Back then the great smell of the food masked the heavy drink.........

Wagon Wheels. Get yer Wagon Wheels...

Remember him from the bottom of Ardmillan Terrace :D

"Lottery Tickets" as you came in the School End turnstiles

Big Alfie Wright bus convenor on the Malky Robertson bus

Big Hagar

John Frame and Alex Jones on Danderhall bus

punkrockcroc

I remember at Tannadice a guy was selling ham rolls(all tightly packed together) out of a cardboard box. With a nice bar of tablet to follow.

Macaroon bars. Get yer macaroon bars...

Dont forget the spearmint chewin gum.

ERRA MACAROON BARS AND SPEARMINT CHEWIN GUUUM could often be heard especially when the weegies were in town. :laugh4:  

Back to 2005

I remember at Tannadice a guy was selling ham rolls(all tightly packed together) out of a cardboard box. With a nice bar of tablet to follow.

Probably the same bloke that used to sell them on the old "specials". Must have been a lucrative business!

I remember on one occasion being seated next to a vomitry, in the main stand.  It was a European game about late 80s/early 90s when the game was first put back till 8pm, by the TV people. I was in fairly early, seeing the stand gradually fill up.  After half an hour or so, folk were going downstairs to the Piestands/toilets.  A well dressed woman told the elderly Hearts steward next to me, she thought someone was "urinating" her words, behind her.  Upon inspection, a bloke, the worse for ware, had a case of McEwans Export under his chair. He had been openning a can having a swig and then starting a new can, with the open one flowing down the wooden benches onto her....Tried to keep a straight face.  Hearts won that night,

The pie stall in the school end, climbing over the school end and landing in inches of piss in the toilets, travelling to the game on the back of a milk float after your deliveries on a Saturday morning, talking to Cruicky about the racing results, crap footie, running fights against the Hibbies when the cops put them in the shed, fights at loads of little grounds after relegation, chasing huns onto the roof of the garage on Gorgie road, I could go on.....Happy Happy days.

nae maccaroons?

I remember being at the game at Pttodrie midweek - the game we weren't supposed to get any tickets for - scorer Levein - and having to get back to Glasgow Central for the last train home for several of the guys in my car.

Great trip!

Anyone on here who was in that car coming home just laughs at Formula 1!!!

Was there the day the "wee" wall fell at the back off the cowshed.  You could almost go halfway round the ground at halftime.

Not sure, but did fans move at halttime in the past, seems to ring a bell at Easter road.

Cheese or meat, cheese or meat, boy used to sell them on the train to away games.

Was there the day the "wee" wall fell at the back off the cowshed.  You could almost go halfway round the ground at halftime.

Not sure, but did fans move at halttime in the past, seems to ring a bell at Easter road.

Sure did, I always went behind the goals we were shooting into.

With the great uptake of season tickets at Hearts and a general feeling of staying at Tynecastle.  The chances of the old standing, seems limited, i am sorry to say.  Unlike what they are doing at Celtic.  Because a third of Easter road, other than Derbies, and old firm games, is empty, i can see them having standing, at a reduced price, maybe for those old or out of work.

I am sure at one time those on the dole (UB40s) got into Tynecasyle, a couple of pounds cheaper.   Maybe when the main stand is completed?

ERRA MACAROON BARS AND SPEARMINT CHEWIN GUUUM could often be heard especially when the weegies were in town. :laugh4:

The wee guy that would walk about the school end with the wee cardboard box.

As a kid I loved the look of his wee box. All those nice things tightly packed in, hanging off his arm as he sort of swing it about the place.

The macaroon bars looked amazing. All the chewing gum packed in too.

I might add the sight of the distillery 'smoke'. The smell of it.

The look of the floodlights from afar on a midweek game.

Cruicky having 2 darts thrown at him at a Rangers game and being unable to concentrate because he knew there were 3 in a set

Cheese or meat, cheese or meat, boy used to sell them on the train to away games.

Sure did, I always went behind the goals we were shooting into.

Yup, guy was a life saver many times on those Saturdays where you were so wasted the night before you barely had time to get on the train never mind stop for food on the way.  I hope he did OK out of it.

Cruicky having 2 darts thrown at him at a Rangers game and being unable to concentrate because he knew there were 3 in a set

there was a period folk (nutters) were carrying darts.... saw a boy hit in the head with a dart at the Tap o Lauriston, accidently, over the partition

Thinking back to the 70's and 80's, I remember the half time score system where you had to have a progame to know which game was A,B, C, etc.

Being able to go to the toilet under the school end.

Sitting in the Blue Lagoon waiting for the pink.

Mixed crowd in the Gorgie Road end on derby day.

20,000 odd people trying to walk along Gorgie Road at the same time after the big games.

The Golden Goal tickets.

How shit it was when some people tried to copy the Argentinian ripped up bits of paper shower.

The excitement when you got to the game and saw the STV or BBC motors outside.

The guy in the white jacket selling the wagon wheels from the pitch. Oh they where the days.

Wagon wheels, Wagon wheels, get your Wagon wheels here.

Thinking back to the 70's and 80's, I remember the half time score system where you had to have a progame to know which game was A,B, C, etc.

20,000 odd people trying to walk along Gorgie Road at the same time after the big games.

The Golden Goal tickets.

How shit it was when some people tried to copy the Argentinian ripped up bits of paper shower.

The Golden Goal tickets.

met a smasher of a girlfriend in the Lagoon, the number one bus taking nearly an hour after Hearts or Hibs home games (saturday) to get back...............Trying to see the Cup draws in the Tynie or Strathies/Vietnam about 5pm Happy days

duckandcover

Few absolutely brilliant stories on this thread, keep them going!

Makes me resent modern football a bit though :lol:

And black currant chewits. Bought a packet at clydebank while dodging the pies from the home end.

met a smasher of a girlfriend in the Lagoon, the number one bus taking nearly an hour after Hearts or Hibs home games (saturday) to get back...............Trying to see the Cup draws in the Tynie or Strathies/Vietnam about 5pm Happy days

I am sure the bus drivers did everything they could to get along before the final whistle, they must have hated getting stuck in the crowd - especiallly back in the day when kids would skive onto the bus through the exit doors and those evenings after a particularly good win we would all be singing and banging on the windows etc.  Happy days!

well said....

I am sure the bus drivers did everything they could to get along before the final whistle, they must have hated getting stuck in the crowd - especiallly back in the day when kids would skive onto the bus through the exit doors and those evenings after a particularly good win we would all be singing and banging on the windows etc.  Happy days!

my old man fell of the bus at top the of Leith street opposite the newly St James Centre, circa 1970ish after a Derby.............It was at the back, trying to hang onto tthe bar, funny, he always found difficult hanging onto a bar.......

Not at all my friend...........Thats what the footie is all about , memoriies , and windind up the your challangers

Turning up and being raging to find someone else was leaning on the crash barrier that you had "always" stood at.

Picking up a new metal badge or Gilzean cartoon badge at Alan Anderson's or the official wee Hearts shop in Gorgie Road.

Doing the Dixon of Dock Green theme tune when the Polis were walking around the track.

"Joe 90" anytime a ball boy, opposition physio, Polis, press photographer etc was wearing glasses.

Thinking it was good to wear a scarf around your neck and one on each wrist!

my old man fell of the bus at top the of Leith street opposite the newly St James Centre, circa 1970ish after a Derby.............It was at the back, trying to hang onto tthe bar, funny, he always found difficult hanging onto a bar.......

Funny how back then it was sort of your own fault, but now people would be giving their story to the Evening hobo looking for some comp!

A wee shed at the back of the terracing at the Mcleod Street exit...Topsport shop? Or just a pie stand with Topsport advertising on it? Not to be confused with pie stand in School End near the Shed, above the under terrace toilets.

The wee three wheeled blue cars that many disabled (am I allowed to say that these days?) people had parked at the side of the pitch. Sitting on the wall that went round the pitch. Your Dad and his mates standing further up the terracing. Waiting outside the pub (in my case The Roseburn) whilst your Dad 'went to see a man about a dog' inside, and while he's in there having a game of football using a stone/tennis ball/occasionally a real football, on the pavement outside.

Getting away with kicking a Glasgow polis right up the farter at Celtic Park during the Willie Johnstone sending off game.

My older brother's story of a game at Paisley in 1958 - always makes me laugh

Question

Answer

Nominated By

Keith Herbertson

Where Do You Live

Edinburgh

Against

St Mirren

Approx Date

Venue

Away, League

Score

1-1

Scorers

J Fleming (all facts Copyright d Allan)

What Happened

Late December 1968, Hearts at Love Street, for a 14 year old even more romantic than Diana Rigg in The Avengers, in leather gear. 

Straight from the milk round to the warm can of pale ale (between two) in the back of the bus into the everday riot of flying bottles, cans, golf balls etc. Boldly laughing while picking glass out our hair from bottles that hit the shed roof, secretly wondering how to move out of range without losing face. 

Just after the customary battle had been subdued by the polis I was hit on the 'buddies' side of the head by a missile. Allegedly my face went a whiter shade of pale as I felt the hot blood run slowly down my neck, I'm glad to say I didn't pass out with shock,......but my mate nearly did with hysterics when he realised that what I thought was a bottle was in fact a pie!!, the 'hot blood' was dollops of greasy fat! 

My first of countless memorable games outside the city, don't recall ever returning to Love Street though, and after 1986 NEVER will.

Back to Memorable Match Entries

Turning up and being raging to find someone else was leaning on the crash barrier that you had "always" stood at.

Picking up a new metal badge or Gilzean cartoon badge at Alan Anderson's or the official wee Hearts shop in Gorgie Road.

Doing the Dixon of Dock Green theme tune when the Polis were walking around the track.

"Joe 90" anytime a ball boy, opposition physio, Polis, press photographer etc was wearing glasses.

crash barriers ...we used to gather at them at Dunee and Easter road...the scalfs on each arm was pretty often seen at Tynie and Easter road..........Well it was the time of the Rollers for the girls.

A wee shed at the back of the terracing at the Mcleod Street exit...Topsport shop? Or just a pie stand with Topsport advertising on it? Not to be confused with pie stand in School End near the Shed, above the under terrace toilets.

I seem to remember it being there briefly, selling some Topsport items.  Can't imagine they sold much, more of a brand recognition thing.

Funny how back then it was sort of your own fault, but now people would be giving their story to the Evening hobo looking for some comp!

or as i regularly say in the EEN compensation corner (bring your bykes)

crash barriers ...we used to gather at them at Dunee and Easter road...the scalfs on each arm was pretty often seen at Tynie and Easter road..........Well it was the time of the Rollers for the girls.

Platforms, flares, long hair and scarves around the wrist were obviously what the girlies wanted. lol!

Waiting outside the Tynie Arms for the Auld Man to finish his pint (or 6 as the case maybe) or any other pre-match boozer. 

I remember years ago around Christmas time going to Perth I think (not 100% on this) and as posted above my Dad went in for his pre-match pint and the bar manager allowed me into the bar where it was nice and warm and I was served lots of crisps and juice.

The brass cup on a chain with a tap that you get get a drink of water.

Just behind the turnstiles at the School End.

The desperate faces waiting at the gates at the Gorgie end to open at 4.30 so they could run in and catch the last 15 minutes for free while desperately asking everbody the score.

Packets of Fish and Chips crisps ( now sold again in ASDA but never taste the same ) and plastic tubs of Kiaora sold from an guy with a tray like an usherette at the pictures.

Walking to Tynie to save 5p bus fare to spend on above.

Wishing you knew someone that lived on Gorgie Road that back windows overlooked Tynie and you could watch the game and not have to piss in the bogs under the School End or the horrors that waited behind the corner of the Shed.

Shuffling up the iron supports at the back of the Shed to get a better view.

Waiting on the guy to put the half time scores up on the board to match them up with your programme.

The brass cup on a chain with a tap that you get get a drink of water.

Just behind the turnstiles at the School End.

The desperate faces waiting at the gates at the Gorgie end to open at 4.30 so they could run in and catch the last 15 minutes for free while desperately asking everbody the score.

Packets of Fish and Chips crisps ( now sold again in ASDA but never taste the same ) and plastic tubs of Kiaora sold from an guy with a tray like an usherette at the pictures.

Walking to Tynie to save 5p bus fare to spend on above.

Wishing you knew someone that lived on Gorgie Road that back windows overlooked Tynie and you could watch the game and not have to piss in the bogs under the School End or the horrors that waited behind the corner of the Shed.

Shuffling up the iron supports at the back of the Shed to get a better view.

Waiting on the guy to put the half time scores up on the board to match them up with your programme.

On that one, I used to wonder why it was that there was not people watching from every single window - I mean, how could they live there and NOT watch the game?!

Was it not Z Cars?

And the badge round the neck absolutely covered in metal badges!

very true.........a lot of folks, sober mind.... fell back off the back off th.buse, but picked themselves up and had to get on with it

We had just beaten Rangers 3-0 during the 85-86 season. After the game we were in the pub, I went out to the newsagent in Gorgie next to the chip shop to get the Pink.  There in front of me was Wallace Mercer buying two copies of the Pink, I remember him being asked about the two copies, he just said "one to read, one to keep".  He might not have been a football man to begin with, but he  definately became one of us.