Bob Gristle

Bob Gristle

Marian Kello

Robbie Neilson   Marius Zaliukas   Willie Jamieson   Austin McCann

Suso Santana   Laryea Kingston   Thomas Fl?gel   Arvydas Novikovas

Wayne Foster   Mauricio Pinilla

Bob Gristle

Get Shuggie Burns in there ;)

I almost added Scott Crabbe, as he was past his best when I started to go to Tynie in the doom-laden early 90s, but bow to the auld heids who saw his better days. I didn't put a helluva lot of thought into this, or wee Jose and maybe Juanjo might've taken over from Suso and Novi

Scrap that, I meant John Millar, I'm just a spack. No seethe intended

Guess The Crowd

I almost added Scott Crabbe, as he was past his best when I started to go to Tynie in the doom-laden early 90s, but bow to the auld heids who saw his better days. I didn't put a helluva lot of thought into this, or wee Jose and maybe Juanjo might've taken over from Suso and Novi

Scott Crabbe? He was at his best in the early 90s..

Bob Gristle

See my edit. Schoolboy error. I think it was due to seeing Bowman's posts on the favourite players thread that I mentioned Crabbe. My memory is not the best. In actual fact, I only saw Crabbe on TV. John Millar (blasphemic comparison)

Bob Gristle

Good shouts Robbie. MacFarlane's finest moments came in Europe IIRC. Stampy at ER springs to mind too? So many of these sort of players over the years. McKenna up front, Obua lol

Getintaethem

Flogel was far to good for that team. Took a season to settle but was a great player.

Bob Gristle

Flogel was far to good for that team. Took a season to settle but was a great player.

Cult hero, cup winning legend and hot and cold kinda guy. Think my team on its day would be capable of beating anyone but would probably get beat off Livi just as much

Shovelly Joe

Jean-Louis Valois. Superstar one week murder the next. Had a way of gliding past players with a drop of the shoulder. Great balance too. Just didn't seem to want it enough.

Bob Gristle

Jose Goncalves. European class or Bambi on Ice, often within the same match. Mikey feckin Stewart!

Scott Crabbe? He was at his best in the early 90s..

Agreed. Should never have been sold. Had the potential to be a hearts great. Didn't we get Allan Preston in return.

Cult hero, cup winning legend and hot and cold kinda guy. Think my team on its day would be capable of beating anyone but would probably get beat off Livi just as much

If he was hot and cold then there are a fair few players you could chuck in there. Especially if for "hot and cold" you mean players that pass the ball. Derek Ferguson would get in that team too.

Bob Gristle

If he was hot and cold then there are a fair few players you could chuck in there. Especially if for "hot and cold" you mean players that pass the ball. Derek Ferguson would get in that team too.

Yup, even though he's another I only saw on TV, it's clear that he had all the class in the world but didn't always show it for Hearts. Maybe, even, the two of them were mentally on another level from their team mates a lot of the time.

Fair missed my point, like.

Bob Gristle

Fair missed my point, like.

Chose to ignore it. I watched Flogel plenty in the flesh and he was disappointing lots. Came onto a game then left. Think he suffered from utility man syndrome TBH and maybe I'm being harsh. Seem to remember him doing well against Stuttgart but then maybe I just found him incredibly frustrating overall.

Chose to ignore it. I watched Flogel plenty in the flesh and he was disappointing lots. Came onto a game then left.

Completely disagree. Fl?gel was a good player for us and by and large played well. Bad games? Of course, so did Robertson, but I completely disagree with hot and cold.

To be fair, he only signed four years after the departure of a player you only seen on television...

Bob Gristle

Completely disagree. Fl?gel was a good player for us and by and large played well. Bad games? Of course, so did Robertson, but I completely disagree with hot and cold.

To be fair, he only signed four years after the departure of a player you only seen on television...

No problem, boss. Clearly you have a different idea of enigma. He was the Eggert Johnson of his day for me. It's maybe that he was ahead of his time and we as fans wanted the ball in the back of the net more directly. Whatever, I remember he divided opinion, but nobody disputed his technical ability.

Robbie Neilson

The players i mentioned was for their status as cult hereos of mine

Not because they were hot and cold

Bob Gristle

The players i mentioned was for their status as cult hereos of mine

Not because they were hot and cold

I know what you did last summer

Kello

Frail Bruno Goncalves Oliver P.

Johnston A. Kingston Valois

Ferguson I

Crabbe Fuller

Subs: Moilanen, Van Der Ven, Tall, Holt J, Velicka

Players who all showed they were good enough but for a limited period

John Millar.

Still think JJ was too hasty emptying him in '96. Didn't look the part in his first 2/3 games in '91/92 but did very well thereafter. Never shirked a tackle and scored a few goals.

The late headed equalizer that preserved the unbeaten run v. H1b5 in January '94 was a belter. Last days of the shed, but one of the wildest celebrations. The kind you ended up about 30 foot away from where you started and had to find your mates when the dust had settled.

Bob Gristle

Mirsad Be?lija!!!

:uhoh2:

Play him alongside Brian Hamilton, Gordan Petric and Co in the "severe waste of space who cost us a feckin fortune XI" IMO

Different posters with different definitions of enigmatic, I think.

I'd probably go for Zaliukas. On his day solid as a rock, but undeniably prone to bad performances which often seemed without any obvious reason.

Bob Gristle

Gordan Petric, deadly from 2 yards.

Oh wait...

Dinnae man. That still pisses me off

Bob Gristle

Wyness and Hartley?

Shyness... Scored goals before and, I think, after us. He was like a rabbit caught in the headlights in a Hearts shirt, we're quite an unforgiving crowd at times to be fair. Bit of a cult hero though, Basle namely. Hartley? Certainly didn't start out too well, more than made up for it. He was enigmatic for a while, later became talismanic though, thankfully. I just checked my post count. Time for bed methinks, meant to be preparing a plan. I'm thankful for this new time drain. A demain

Shyness... Scored goals before and, I think, after us. He was like a rabbit caught in the headlights in a Hearts shirt, we're quite an unforgiving crowd at times to be fair. Bit of a cult hero though, Basle namely. Hartley? Certainly didn't start out too well, more than made up for it. He was enigmatic for a while, later became talismanic though, thankfully.

Hartley was an odd one. One of my all time favourite players, but his career was a bit weird. Not rated as a young winger at Hibs, then down the league's, and eventually ends up a defender, before improving massively as a central midfielder. Capped for Scotland and often pushed out wide again to the wing, where he played really well at a high level. Excellent for us as an attacking central midfielder and at Celtic sitting deeper.

scott_jambo

Wyness was utter garbage, Hartley was one of the best to ever wear the maroon shirt. Neither for this thread.

Another shout for Mikoluinas here though. 

Shyness... Scored goals before and, I think, after us. He was like a rabbit caught in the headlights in a Hearts shirt, we're quite an unforgiving crowd at times to be fair. Bit of a cult hero though, Basle namely. Hartley? Certainly didn't start out too well, more than made up for it. He was enigmatic for a while, later became talismanic though, thankfully. I just checked my post count. Time for bed methinks, meant to be preparing a plan. I'm thankful for this new time drain. A demain

Yeah, think I'll clock off too.

Henry Smith

Walter Kidd

Neil Pointon

Marius Zaliuskas

Brian Whittaker (when he wore his headband and played centre half)

Dave McCreery

Vincent Guerin

Robert Tomaschek

Miko

Stephane Paille

Stephane Adam

Subs

Juanjo

Quitongo

Valois

Dunno who should or shouldn't be in this team but the Petric miss against Stuttgart gets easier every time it's mentioned.  :lol:  Two yards?  He was about at the penalty spot, no?  And on the turn I think.  A bit of composure needed but hardly a tap in.

Bob Gristle

Dunno who should or shouldn't be in this team but the Petric miss against Stuttgart gets easier every time it's mentioned.   :lol:  Two yards?  He was about at the penalty spot, no?  And on the turn I think.  A bit of composure needed but hardly a tap in.

I dare not search for a video but I thought it was about 4 yards. The mind plays funny tricks :baby:

Bob Gristle

Hartley was an odd one. One of my all time favourite players, but his career was a bit weird. Not rated as a young winger at Hibs, then down the league's, and eventually ends up a defender, before improving massively as a central midfielder. Capped for Scotland and often pushed out wide again to the wing, where he played really well at a high level. Excellent for us as an attacking central midfielder and at Celtic sitting deeper.

He definitely found his place with us and fulfilled, maybe even surpassed, his early promise. We're a special club. Great team from Sydney up there ^ and very brave I'd say.

Bert Le Clos

Balogh

Flogel Tall Bruno Maybury

Tomaschek Stamp McFarlane

Miko Jankauskas Suso

Somebody from the past would be Bobby Prentice.   

When he picked the ball up in the left back position you never knew what was going to happen. 

Still a joy to watch.