ABERDEEN

crichiejambos

I know there is is a long way to go, and it won't happen but! If the impossible was to happen and Aberdeen were to go the distance and win the league,would it be a bad thing for scottish football in general! Ok it would be a one off and normal service would resumed next season,but a change would surely be welcome! Now I know first hand what like it is to suffer a successful Aberdeen team I'm based in the north east and if there is any hint of a winning team they are totally up themselves, wittering on about the Fergie years and o that guff,but a change would surely be a benefit! Maybe the Glasgow media would no be o that pleased,we us no reading the script in the championship and Aberdeen being a pain,but surely a change is needed!

• Replies 170

Aye right then the club that lives on past glories. If it wasnt for Fergie they would have won feck all. Just wait till next season when The Hearts are challenging for the SPL title and the mutton lovers are amongst the also rans with the currants.

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

Good thing. Nae question. Anything that weakens the duopoly of the shitey arse cheeks is guid fir Scottish fitba'.

Aberdeen win the league & Hearts win the Championship. Ugly sisters win nowt. Can only be a good thing. Hopefully make people realise there are more than 2 teams in Scotland.

Much as I hate Celtic, I'd feel a bit cheated if another team won the league this year.

Because if it's going to be anyone other than the Old Firm it should be us.

This is exactly my thoughts.

We can't win it. We're in a different league. What it will mean though for next season is an even weaker Celtic.

Celtic will have another new manager, no champions league cash, no big name signings and smaller crowds.

Next season will be our dream season.

They could win it. Ronnie Dealias incompetence knows no bounds and I suspect he'll lose a player or two before the end of the month

I'm gutted it's not us in their position but got to say credit to Aberdeen, they have built steadily for a few years now and are doing well.

I genuinely feel we will be seriously challenging with a team full of homegrown talent within 5 years.

Rangers staying down will have a bigger impact on affecting both sides of the old firm. If they go up both sides would sell out season tickets as the walking dead will all want tickets for the derbys.

Rangers staying down could see Celtic only sell 20,000 season tickets, esp with another season not in the champions league.

Aberdeen are showing what can be done, we could realistically be the next team to challenge with a couple extra signings.

Aberdeen won't win it , they will lose games that Celtic won't . As for the talk of it should have been us, we will have the chance next season , let's see how we get on .

dunciboyjambo

Let's be realistic here and take the maroon specs off, we have had plenty chances to win the league but we could not do it.

If we had the success Aberdeen did back in the 80's or whenever it was, we would still be singing about it too...Put it this way, do you think in 20 years we will stop singing about beating Hibs 5-1... ? We still sing about Wayne Foster all those years ago.. Why? Because it's a wind up, it's what football banter is about, slagging your rivals, creating atmosphere etc

I would love nothing more for us to be the first team to break the OF in years, we just about did back in 05/06, but if Aberdeen do it, fair play. Anything any other team can do to break the OF, deprive them of money and try to slowly bring Scottish football back to a level playing field is required IMO, the OF have killed this country, and will continue twisting the knife untill we or any other club can stop it...

Celtic in turmoil and rangers still on the championship next year would be the perfect scenario for us, our new set up along with the players we have would give us a great chance next year to be there or there abouts...

I'm all for any team outside the OF, Aberdeen, St Mirren and hibs winning it.

Seems like a nice, fluffy scenario now, but life will be miserable as feck if the sheep win it. Dewy-eyed pish in the papers and on TV all summer and their 2 million loyal fans that follow them home and away won't let us forget about it for the next 30 years. It was bad enough listening to their nonsense after winning the league cup on pens.

Would rather they won it than Celtic deep down, but it's hardly a pleasing alternative. I'd rather see United win it, I like what they're trying to achieve there and I think it's a more sustainable model.

Gene Parmesan

Aberdeen aren't going to win it unfortunately, but I'd love it to happen.

Cutting off yet more potential finances to Celtic would be a superb leveller for the game.

All for an Aberdeen-Hearts title double!

I'd like to see the sheep win it rather than the tims. After the demise of the blue ugly sister, the green ugly sister is a bit lost.

They said that Scottish football would die without the old firm. Yet there have been so many positives, it feels more like a re-birth. We don't need them!

ANYBODY except the 2 erse cheeks (& Hibs) would be just fine by me. Mon the Dons.

Edit - & St.Mirren, hate them!

Dundee Utd for me.

Celtic with no champions league would be funny.

Delia hot signing is going to be Maloney again. I'm sure that's his choice...

Holyrood_Hearts

Given the last 30 odd years when nobody outside of Glasgow has won the league, I'd be delighted if Aberdeen won it.

ChunkyCharlie

Aberdeen will win nothing!

The are on a good run that's all! Celtic will win the league by 9 points or so!

Mac_fae_Gillie

Good for Scottish game yes, not since 80s has league looked open to those outside the O/F.

not keen on Aberdeen but far less keen on the O/F....gl to them.........bitter pill swallowed.,

What would add to the pleasure of seeing Aberdeen win it(rather than Celtic) is if Celtic never recover the 4 point deficit they have surrendered by postponing yesterday's SPFL game so they can play a couple of meaningless friendlies.

Hope they do win it. Would be a refreshing change. They'll never have a better chance but probably need to strengthen their squad with a couple of players this window if they want to win it.

That's stupid, all we hear on here is how much people hate the old firm but are happy for the status quo to remain for small minded reasons

I would gladly see anyone but hibs win the league any year, if that happens I know our time would come soon enough, the fact Aberdeen or Dundee Utd won it the previous year would not diminish the feeling of joy when it happens

That's stupid, all we hear on here is how much people hate the old firm but are happy for the status quo to remain for small minded reasons

I would gladly see anyone but hibs win the league any year, if that happens I know our time would come soon enough, the fact Aberdeen or Dundee Utd won it the previous year would not diminish the feeling of joy when it happens

Honestly, it would probably be better if Hibs won it rather than either of the bigot brothers.

Listening to them going on about it would be murder but it would be good for the game in this country if anyone other the the Weegies won it.

I'm sure I heard them say yesterday on the radio that it was 8 won in a row/8 clean sheets in the league in a row? No matter what we think, that's title winning form.

Aberdeen have a decision to make at the moment - they are obviously not far off things so a little bit of investment in Jan and you never know what can happen.

I'm sure I heard them say yesterday on the radio that it was 8 won in a row/8 clean sheets in the league in a row? No matter what we think, that's title winning form.

Aberdeen have a decision to make at the moment - they are obviously not far off things so a little bit of investment in Jan and you never know what can happen.

They have to, maybe not a lot but not adding the right quality in 97/98 cost us the league that year

Honestly, it would probably be better if Hibs won it rather than either of the bigot brothers.

Listening to them going on about it would be murder but it would be good for the game in this country if anyone other the the Weegies won it.

And credit to you and showing a side of two faced ness base on my previous post I can't bring myself to see those ***** win anything

They have to, maybe not a lot but not adding the right quality in 97/98 cost us the league that year

Absolutely.   Sometimes less is more - even just one bit of quality can be enough.

Celtic will win the league comfortably. If anyone else was to win it though I'd far rather it was Dundee utd than them

Aberdeen winning league and Hearts and Hibs going up would be the best possible outcome for Scottish football...Aberdeen/Hearts/Hibs crowds would go up(extra revenue for every club), Celtic's monies would go down(more chance of a repeat next year), other clubs wouldn't fear them again as happened in 05/06 and it would generate much needed excitement in our game which in turn would bring back sponsors and more revenue.

Ps..not sure I could bare listening to Willie Miller if they did tho :-/

Nothing to do with an ego maniac owner?

I hope that Aberdeen or Dundee United can win the league rather than Celtic.

Aberdeen are on a great run just now so the consistency is there, let's hope that it continues.

For neither of the Ugly Sisters to win their respective leagues would be brilliant for Scottish football.

N Lincs Jambo

Got to agree with this. Also not enough strength in depth. IIRC we drew 9 games in the 2nd half of the season where we were leading in the 2nd half, first of those being the New Year's derby when we murdered Hibs in the 1st half, went 2-0 up early doors and looked like we were gonna get 5 or 6. Also 2-1 up at Ibrox going into 2nd half stoppage time.

Anyway enough misty-eyed reflection. Totally agree with OP and with anyone who thinks that any chance to take the title out of the Weeg has to be a good thing for Scottish football.

I despise the OF and have zero sympathy for what has happened to Rangers which seems to have a negative effect on Celtic as they are missing the tribal sectarian parties.

Over my Hearts following life, I have been proud that Hearts have at least endeavoured to break the duopoly.

Regular third place finishes with subsequent Euro football rewards. I never went for the "best of the rest" tag and such league placings would have really meant nothing had Euro nights not presented themselves.

We've managed to finish second every now and then, causing embarrassment to one of the big two.

We, like Aberdeen currently, have attempted to run for the title (against both of the OF)

During all of the above, we have amassed large debts in this honourable attempt to secure a Hearts title win.

Along the way, we recently picked up three Scottish cup wins, ending the under achieving days.

Nobody, including myself, troubled ourselves with the approaches taken to secure more cup success and the ultimate prize.

Ultimately, as it turned out, we nearly fell on our sword but HMFC refused to die, despite the hand wringing of other supports who despise us for having the temerity to challenge the OF and think us arrogant.

Fantastic we've come out the other side and delighted with what we look like now and the current campaign.

With this backdrop, I'd find it challenging to applaud a team like Aberdeen winning the title. Nothing against them per se aside from the usual banter but to pick up a title for having gone through a fraction of what we have in its pursuit would really hack me off.

I live on in hope that one of the many strong hearts squads that competed with stronger still rangers and Celtic teams, will arise again and strike whilst rangers and Celtic aren't so clever (i.e. such as right now)

When the stars are lined up in our favour to use an oft used Hibs line.

At least Aberdeen & Dundee Utd have moved some media headlines from the Championship to the Premier League!!

But Al life isn't a movie if it was I'd have no doubt we'd win the league, for all we know this year is 'the' year to end the duopoly if Aberdeen don't do it and Rangers come up then we might end up facing another 20-30 years of those two going head to head for the detriment of all others

Ah, I see. Still, I think any team rather than they two will be good. Interesting, at least.

We'll do it next year though!