Bourne Supremacy / Bourne Ultimatum Question

Ragnar

At the end of the Bourne Supremacy (2nd Bourne film) we see the following scene where When Pamela Landy is telling Bourne his real birthdate of 04/15/71...

Good scene to wrap up the 2nd film.

Then in the Bourne Ultimatum (3rd Bourne film), there is a similar scene where Pamela Landy again gives his real name as David Webb and the DOB of 04/15/71. However, it is then revealed this is not his real DOB and it was a code for an address to '415 East 71st St'...

Now, I completely understand why she gives the fake DOB in the Bourne Ultimatum, as 04/15/71 is a code for getting to the CIA building at '415 East 71st St' and that's fine. But why did she give 04/15/71 as the DOB in the Bourne Supremacy (2nd film)? Surely she should have just gave him his real DOB, as the events of the Bourne Ultimatum haven't even taken place yet?

What I initially thought was that it was the exact same scene and the director used it both in the Bourne Supremacy and the Bourne Ultimatum. This would mean that the first 2/3 of the Bourne Ultimatum was set before the Bourne Supremacy scene in question. Which makes sense I guess. But this is not the case, I've reviewed both scenes and you can see he is wearing a different ear piece in each film. See below screenshots:

Bourne Supremacy:

25sa0xe.png

Bourne Ultimatum:

20544mx.png

This establishes that they are indeed two different scenes. So again I ask why did Pamela Landy gave a fake DOB in the Bourne Supremacy (2nd film) when the events of the Bourne Ultimatum (3rd film) haven't even taken place yet? I simply can't comprehend why she would give a fake DOB the first time round. His real DOB is something completely different.

Please help?

Riddley Walker

They obviously just made a mistake. 

Don't worry man, everything will be alright in the end. We'll help you get through this awful moment in time. But it's only a moment, you can come out the other end better and bigger and stronger.

BoJack Horseman

It's clearly the same scene. It's clearly recreated for the next film but not exactly. You could have googled that like I just did.

Getintaethem

The real question is why did ITV4 show the Bourne Identity over Christmas then the following night show the Bourne Ultimatum, completely missing out the second film?

Thread closed, wtf was that about lol

The real question is why did ITV4 show the Bourne Identity over Christmas then the following night show the Bourne Ultimatum, completely missing out the second film

Double post

I just thought they were very good films.

A good filler for James Bond which at the time was going boobies up until Casino Royale gave it back some respect.

I just thought they were very good films.

A good filler for James Bond which at the time was going boobies up until Casino Royale gave it back some respect.

Quantum of Solace was shit though.

It's clearly the same scene. It's clearly recreated for the next film but not exactly. You could have googled that like I just did.

But it's not the same scene, as I've pointed out, he's wearing a different ear piece.

If they wanted to use the same scene, then surely they would have just used the scene from the Bourne Supremacy.

Please post your reliable google sources which confirms they are the same scene.

BoJack Horseman

But it's not the same scene, as I've pointed out, he's wearing a different ear piece.

If they wanted to use the same scene, then surely they would have just used the scene from the Bourne Supremacy.

Please post your reliable google sources which confirms they are the same scene.

Maybe they couldn't find the same prop?

It's clearly the exact same scene. 

Maybe they couldn't find the same prop?

It's clearly the exact same scene.

They wouldn't need the same prop. All they'd need to do is take the footage from the 2nd film and put it in the 3rd film.

It's not the exact same scene though.

His hair's different, too. And he looks older in the second scene. Clearly a COMPLETELY different scene.

They obviously recreated the scene to fit the third film into that timeline, but didn't slavishly recreate every last detail. Chill man, the earpiece doesn't matter :)

They wouldn't need the same prop. All they'd need to do is take the footage from the 2nd film and put it in the 3rd film.

It's not the exact same scene though.

Something else to rage over - the seasons are different in the films. It's summerlike weather at the end of the second film, yet there's snow on the ground when Landy goes outside in the third one.

As I already said, they are two versions of the same scene. Some dramatic licence had been taken to knit the storylines of the two films together using that scene. Directors will often overlook continuity errors (and sometimes deliberately do a scene slightly differently) if they're not material to the scene. It's an action film, after all, not a documentary.

The evil dead 2 is the same film as the evil dead and yet it is just sort of a continuation of the first one. Is it a remake, a re-imagining or a sequel?

Not one single **** is given to the answer of this question.

The evil dead 2 is the same film as the evil dead and yet it is just sort of a continuation of the first one. Is it a remake, a re-imagining or a sequel?

Not one single **** is given to the answer of this question.

TheMaganator

Although I have seen them all I cannot really remember what goes on in them.

Does this error make a difference to how either film (or the trilogy) plays out? Or is it just shirt directing? 

Although I have seen them all I cannot really remember what goes on in them.

Does this error make a difference to how either film (or the trilogy) plays out? Or is it just shirt directing?

Doesn't make a difference to any of the trilogy really.

His real birth date is 13/09/70 (you see one of his files in the Bourne Ultimatum).

I just can't understand why she gives the fake birth date (04/15/71) in the Bourne Supremacy when the events of the Bourne Ultimatum clearly haven't taken place yet.

BoJack Horseman

His real birth date is 13/09/70 (you see one of his files in the Bourne Ultimatum).

I just can't understand why she gives the fake birth date (04/15/71) in the Bourne Supremacy when the events of the Bourne Ultimatum clearly haven't taken place yet.

Clear to you but no one else. 

It's secret spy code.

This is indeed the realist of all the vital questions raised here.

Wife and I hadn't even realised until you pointed it out -- the gap sure explains our incomprehension of the '2nd' film, which was really the 3rd one

What we need is a re-run of the lot

btw the Bourne Identity was so much sharper than most recent Bond (which we've been rewatching lately) it was unreal

BoJack Horseman

That's just a combination of the two videos in the OP?

Aye, it is.

Go on then Ragnar, I'll humour you, I'm as bored as you clearly are. If they're not meant to be the same scene, what is it? Bourne got himself to that same building and had that same phonecall with the same lass and the same people around with the same outcome and no one batted an eye? I'd have expected a wee glitch in the matrix type scenario but naw, no one noticed.

Aye, it is.

Go on then Ragnar, I'll humour you, I'm as bored as you clearly are. If they're not meant to be the same scene, what is it? Bourne got himself to that same building and had that same phonecall with the same lass and the same people around with the same outcome and no one batted an eye? I'd have expected a wee glitch in the matrix type scenario but naw, no one noticed.

Same people around? Not exactly hard considering there's only two people in each of the scenes.

Also, at the end of the Bourne Supremacy (see first video) you see him fade into the NYC crowd. He never done that in the Bourne Ultimatum did he? He went straight to the CIA guys office.

Different clothes, ear piece, hair etc. Not sure what more evidence you want that they are two different scenes.

BoJack Horseman

Same people around? Not exactly hard considering there's only two people in each of the scenes.

Also, at the end of the Bourne Supremacy (see first video) you see him fade into the NYC crowd. He never done that in the Bourne Ultimatum did he? He went straight to the CIA guys office.

Different clothes, ear piece, hair etc. Not sure what more evidence you want that they are two different scenes.

So him and Landy had the exact same conversation just for kicks?

Cool, they had a similar conversation. There is no proof it is the exact same conversation, as much of it is cut out in the Bourne Ultimatum (see 2nd video).

Also, in the Bourne Ultimatum, you can see Pamela Landys assistant in the room. He isn't in the room in the Bourne Supremacy. So there is yet again another difference.

Not sure how much evidence you want. I'm still waiting on those reliable google sources, btw.

Well this thread went quiet after the requested link was provided :D

Perhaps the other participants have been assasinated?

King Of The Cat Cafe

Has anyone thought of checking what the original novels say about his DOB?

After all the films will just be an accurate retelling of the books.

Has anyone thought of checking what the original novels say about his DOB?

After all the films will just be an accurate retelling of the books.

We know his DOB, it's shown in one of the documents.

The question is why was the film structured in the way it was.

The book won't clarify this point.

Angry Haggis

We know his DOB, it's shown in one of the documents.

The question is why was the film structured in the way it was.

The book won't clarify this point.

Maybe the DOB on the document is wrong. 

Its a conspiracy...

maybe bourne 4 will clear it up.....if it ever gets released, was supposed to be this year but now looking like next year.

there was also a change of director between 1 + 2 not that, that solves the question about the scene

Sawdust Caesar

According to IMDB it is the same scene, they just re-shot it and obviously tweaked it a bit. When I watched Supremacy I didn't think the ending left anything open and that there must be another film to follow (I haven't read the books or had even heard of them before I saw the first film). As there are 3 years between the 2 films perhaps the studio or director thought it best to give the impression the story was concluded after Supremacy just in case the third one never got made for whatever reason.  

BoJack Horseman

According to IMDB it is the same scene, they just re-shot it and obviously tweaked it a bit. When I watched Supremacy I didn't think the ending left anything open and that there must be another film to follow (I haven't read the books or had even heard of them before I saw the first film). As there are 3 years between the 2 films perhaps the studio or director thought it best to give the impression the story was concluded after Supremacy just in case the third one never got made for whatever reason.  

Can you paste the link for Ragnar please?