The Daily Stubbo

Thomaso

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-we-should-have-nine-points-more-1-3638940

Hibs boss: We should have nine points more

by DAVID HARDIE

Alan Stubbs has insisted Hibs can win promotion, claiming the Easter Road side should be at least nine points better off than they are today.

While admitting he would dearly love to re-enter the top flight of Scottish football after taking the Championship title, Stubbs conceded it would be difficult to overhaul table-topping Capital rivals Hearts ? presently 16 points clear of his side ? although he believes Robbie Neilson?s outfit can still be caught.

Predicting that the obvious improvement shown at Hibs since the start of the season will continue into the second half of the campaign, Stubbs said: ?I honestly think we should be at least nine points better then we are, I really do.

?From some of the games we have not taken points that we should have done, I feel we are a nine-points-better team.

?But the most pleasing thing for me is I feel we are improving. We are getting a head of steam up. I think the players really believe in everything we are doing and I think they feel the strongest they have felt for a long time. Physically and mentally they are very fit and when you have got that sometimes it can make my job a lot easier.?

Asked if he believed Hibs can regain the nine ?dropped? points, the head coach replied: ?If I were to say we have done fantastically and have been great then I would not be saying the right thing because if we were fantastic and great then I would say we should be top of the league. We have probably crept into that seven out of ten category but I want a higher score than that come the end of the season.

?I believe we can get promotion. I am not going to sit on the fence, I honestly believe we can get promotion because there?s two teams that can go up and I hope that we are one of them.?

While a play-off place would appear the most promising route for Hibs, Stubbs revealed that while it will be difficult, he believes Hearts, despite their commanding position, remain ?catchable.?

He said: ?I would like to be going up as champions, there?s no denying that. I think Hearts have done great up to now. They have been very impressive, their start has been enviable, what every team would have wanted. I?m not going to lie, but we have to keep chasing them.

?I think the teams below them have at times helped them because of their results but they have carried on, kept winning, kept focusing and they have been very impressive.?

However, Stubbs, who hopes to cast an eye over American striker Jack McBean next week as he prepares to strengthen his squad again in the January transfer window, insisted Hearts aren?t yet out of sight. He said: ?They can be caught. It?s going to be difficult because of what has happened but they can definitely be caught.

?I would presume that they will strengthen in January as well so we will all be in the same boat.?

Edit: and they have been very impressive.? He got that right[emoji7]

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

well that being the case,  Had we scored v Dumbarton and cleared the effort for the Hibs goal then we would be a 4 points better team

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-we-should-have-nine-points-more-1-3638940

by DAVID HARDIE

Alan Stubbs has insisted Hibs can win promotion, claiming the Easter Road side should be at least nine points better off than they are today.

While admitting he would dearly love to re-enter the top flight of Scottish football after taking the Championship title, Stubbs conceded it would be difficult to overhaul table-topping Capital rivals Hearts ? presently 16 points clear of his side ? although he believes Robbie Neilson?s outfit can still be caught.

Predicting that the obvious improvement shown at Hibs since the start of the season will continue into the second half of the campaign, Stubbs said: ?I honestly think we should be at least nine points better then we are, I really do.

?From some of the games we have not taken points that we should have done, I feel we are a nine-points-better team.

?But the most pleasing thing for me is I feel we are improving. We are getting a head of steam up. I think the players really believe in everything we are doing and I think they feel the strongest they have felt for a long time. Physically and mentally they are very fit and when you have got that sometimes it can make my job a lot easier.?

Asked if he believed Hibs can regain the nine ?dropped? points, the head coach replied: ?If I were to say we have done fantastically and have been great then I would not be saying the right thing because if we were fantastic and great then I would say we should be top of the league. We have probably crept into that seven out of ten category but I want a higher score than that come the end of the season.

?I believe we can get promotion. I am not going to sit on the fence, I honestly believe we can get promotion because there?s two teams that can go up and I hope that we are one of them.?

While a play-off place would appear the most promising route for Hibs, Stubbs revealed that while it will be difficult, he believes Hearts, despite their commanding position, remain ?catchable.?

He said: ?I would like to be going up as champions, there?s no denying that. I think Hearts have done great up to now. They have been very impressive, their start has been enviable, what every team would have wanted. I?m not going to lie, but we have to keep chasing them.

?I think the teams below them have at times helped them because of their results but they have carried on, kept winning, kept focusing and they have been very impressive.?

However, Stubbs, who hopes to cast an eye over American striker Jack McBean next week as he prepares to strengthen his squad again in the January transfer window, insisted Hearts aren?t yet out of sight. He said: ?They can be caught. It?s going to be difficult because of what has happened but they can definitely be caught.

?I would presume that they will strengthen in January as well so we will all be in the same boat.?

The guy is a proper pants on head - jobby eating lunatic!

Seriously though... Someone Doon that shit-pipe neck of the woods is going to have to organise an 'intervention' for the guy, or he's maybe gonna harm himself and others.

Boggle-eyed cartoon character that he is. :lol:

The guy is a proper pants on head - jobby eating lunatic!

Seriously though... Someone Doon that shit-pipe neck of the woods is going to have to organise an 'intervention' for the guy, or he's maybe gonna harm himself and others.

Boggle-eyed cartoon character that he is. :lol:

137c69f00919746a94e048cca8a1222d.jpg

I've been thinking about this and worst-case scenarios etc.

We aren't quite at halfway point of the season, but nearly. 

We have been nearly perfect results-wise.  Hibs have been average - a bunch of wins, a bunch of defeats, a bunch of draws.

Let's say we are Hibs-average in the second part of the season.  We would have to have quite a slide to get there, but let's play along and say it might happen.  To catch us, they will then need to be nearly perfect.  Is that going to happen, Alan?  Really?  Stop fantasising!

?But the most pleasing thing for me is I feel we are improving. We are getting a head of steam up.

WLWDWDWDD

Really seeing the winning consistency in that league form  :cornette:

137c69f00919746a94e048cca8a1222d.jpg

His eyes are a bit too cooperative of each other, but it's at least the same quality as I'd expect from a police sketch artist, if Stubbs had robbed someone's hoose.

In one sense, what he's claiming is demonstrably drivel.

Interpreting him generously, we'll see if Hibs claim 9 points more in the second half of the season. The traditional Hibs 2nd half slump will make this tricky. Y'know.

If his aunt had baws she'd be his uncle.

You just hold on tight to that straw Alan.  If you wish hard enough on that star themn maybe the Christmas Fairy will conjure up a win for you this weekend.  Even if she doesn't no doubt you will nearly win, and that's just like an actual win to Hibs.

Link?

This guy has got bitter victimhood nailed. It's like he's actually moulded out of a big wad of Hibby-putty.

Today's Evening News

It's something they have over us. We can't claim that.

It'll haunt me forever. I think it may even replace them playing under someone else's floodlights as the biggest bugbear of my existence.

Multiple one game winning runs have placed them quite nicely in a position to build upon their success, and look at runs of two back to back for the second half of the season.

travellingjambo

Hahaha, there's a guy on sisterworrier.net on the "back to back wins" thread (you know the one where they've just realised that they haven't won back to back games all season, I know, shocking in this division) who reckons that is why they're so far off the pace at the top of the league (no sh*t Sherlock). I don't have the heart to break it to him that they're actually closer to the bottom of the league than they are to the top. I'd actually pee myself if they went the whole season without back to back victories. Stubbs could then claim they were nearly almost the best team every second week.

Just for the record , when was the last time a team leading the league by 16 points was caught?

Jees, I am going off to feed one of my cats called Smudge on the complex, I log onto this thread and say to my wife once I have read this I will go and feed Stubbs! 

Hahaha, there's a guy on sisterworrier.net on the "back to back wins" thread (you know the one where they've just realised that they haven't won back to back games all season, I know, shocking in this division) who reckons that is why they're so far off the pace at the top of the league (no sh*t Sherlock). I don't have the heart to break it to him that they're actually closer to the bottom of the league than they are to the top. I'd actually pee myself if they went the whole season without back to back victories. Stubbs could then claim they were nearly almost the best team every second week.

I ****ing LOVE that thread! :rofl:

Here's how it works:

Hearts are doing well, hibs are as shite as ever...

*HMFC keep winning*

Hibs.net organise an opportunity to meet the boggle-eyed cretin...

*HMFC keep winning*

The boggle-eyed cretin manages to convince the idiots that they are better than their shite form suggests...

*HMFC keep winning*

The idiots organise a circle-tug and decide that they are the best team in the league, because the boggle-eyed cretin said so...

*HMFC keep on winning*

The boggle-eyed cretin (in fear of losing his shite job) tells the idiots that they are better than the points total he has scraped together...

*HMFC keep winning*

The idiots suddenly stop and look at a table which confirms how utterly shite they are, and have been all season...

*HMFC keep winning*

A thread is started on Idiots.net, where the idiots all scratch their heads at how they haven't been able to string two victories in a row together...

I also love this idea that we are unbeaten and clear at the top because the teams below us have helped us. It takes the Hibbie philosophy to a whole new level. We clearly won the semi

in '06 and the final in '12 only because Hibs helped us. They deserve all the credit let's face it.

Obviously had a wee bit too much Christmas cheer to drink before the interview.  They'll never catch us this season.  They will be struggling to have matched our current points total by the end of March at the rate their going.  I fancy us to pick us some more points between now and then.

I would still like to see them promoted for three obvious benefits:

1 - We get to keep the derbies and the obvious fun they provide.

2 - Hibs keep Stubbs who keeps them in their rightful place of being pants.

3 - The Rangers don't get promoted.

What's not to like?

I hate that "we should be x points better off" that gets spouted, including when our managers have done it. You can fantasise about penalties going in, red cards not being given and shots not hitting the post and give yourself extra points (I presume he includes our equaliser) but that logic implies that no other teams have similar stories. We should be 2 points better off really using that same nonsense. Its playground stuff. 

Guest oldcastlerock2012

Rates Hibs season so far as 7/10! Embarrassing - no wonder they're underachievers when they consider 4th in the Scottish Championshiop as a decent performance!

WTF does this mean?

No really wtf does it mean?

Imagine if we could have been a "9 points better off" team.........oh wait........

Then we would be cheatz.

Wonder what gems he has lined up for the early part of 2015 when we are even further ahead? Something like "Until it is mathematically impossible to be champions", which will be sometime in March at the latest even considering this "head of steam building up.

Keep on taking the tablets Stubbsy

If his aunt had baws she'd be his uncle.

You just hold on tight to that straw Alan.  If you wish hard enough on that star themn maybe the Christmas Fairy will conjure up a win for you this weekend.  Even if she doesn't no doubt you will nearly win, and that's just like an actual win to Hibs.

Sexist post IMO!

So we're only top because the teams below us have helped us out by being shite and getting pumped?

Brilliant.

What a ******* arsehole :lol:

So we're only top because the teams below us have helped us out by being shite and getting pumped?

Brilliant.

What a ******* arsehole :lol:

Aye, I know, by that logic his own team have 'helped' us, (by winning 9 points less than they should have done for a start).

But never mind they are by a country mile the best team in this league, so everything is going to be cool down Easter Rd way.

tommythejambo

by DAVID HARDIE

I see Alan Stubbs in sainsburys regularly, next time I'm going to tell him to stop talking to the media because he's embarrassing himself.