Neil McCann - "Rangers can win the title"

richfish23

• Replies 106

You know what is getting on my nerves is people saying about dips in form and injuries. Correct me if I am wrong but Rangers will also get injuries and suspensions or are they immune to these and its only Hearts that get "injuries and suspensions" For example the boy Mcleod has been a talisman for them this season his form has dipped recently and that coincedes with Rangers form dipping.

Anyway rant over and ram it Neil Mccann.

Guest C00l K1d

Did Ann actually say it's not critical to win the league?

I really wish she wouldn't say things like this. The fight from the team may slowly dissappear if they hear the powers that be say they're not expected to win the league and not win every game.

I don't see the problem with what he said. They can still win it but it's going to take a major collapse from us and a big improvement from them. 

He's right though. Talk about an overreaction.

I didn't say he wasn't right in that they could catch us. What irks me is that he says nothing positive about Hearts and how we are performing. I totally disagree with him about sevco having a stronger squad as well.

I thought it was pretty balanced apart from the general discussion appearing to be more about Rangers failings rather than Hearts success story.

Incidentally, prior to listening to the interview I was about to jump on the McCann Roaster bandwagon.

McCann nailed his colours to the mast when Gary Locke did not get his contract renewed.

He used to be on our side but like a few other "Jambo " ex players and managers got upset when their mate didn't get kept on.

See all those other ex player pundits who keep saying Hearts wont win the title why don't they nip down to the bookies and put their money where their mouths are ? They obviously haven't done so as The Rangers are still available at 9/4 in places.

So much waffle from various people this season just shows how much we are under their skin, of course complete right off of QOS. Raith, Fakirk and our chums. One set of eyes for one team. one set of rules for one and another for the rest Scotrupt football.

Mac_fae_Gillie

too many people take offence.

If you really think rangers have ZERO chance then go sell all u have and put a bet on Hearts to win div...

THE QUESTION THE MEDIA ARE ASKING IS DO RANGERS STILL HAVE A CHANCE, of course they do but its less than at start of season and less of than midday Saturday but the "question" is now bloody huge.

Not sure if anyone had seen this from Neil McCann. Used to be my favourite Hearts player, lost all respect for him now though after reading this.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11788/9580341/scottish-football-neil-mccann-believes-rangers-can-reel-in-hearts-and-win-the-title

You've lost all respect for a player who served the club over two spells and lifted silverware because he didn't say Hearts have the league in the bag in November? :laugh:

You poor wee soul you.

Did Ann actually say it's not critical to win the league?

I really wish she wouldn't say things like this. The fight from the team may slowly dissappear if they hear the powers that be say they're not expected to win the league and not win every game.

Rubbish!

Her comments take the pressure off our players (and management) and leaves them free to play to the best of their ability.

The comments that it is "critical" that Rangers gets promoted heeps more pressure on their players

Kalamazoo Jambo

Used to be my favourite Hearts player, lost all respect for him now though after reading this.

Bit of an overreaction :laugh:

Teams have come back from further than 9 points behind to win leagues before. It is possible.

We need to keep winning and try and increase the gap or at least maintain it.

The whole thing about "they have a stronger squad" is just not true. What they have is more what you would call "recognised names" for lazy journalists. We beat them on Saturday without Wilson, Buaben and Sow which has been arguably been the spine of the team so far. We have at least two players for every position so I for one am more than happy with the strength and depth of our squad.

OK Neil.

166.gif

Cant get past this GIF. Quoted it to move it down some to give me something to aim for to read the rest of the posts...

You've lost all respect for a player who served the club over two spells and lifted silverware because he didn't say Hearts have the league in the bag in November? :laugh:

You poor wee soul you.

Fair enough, all respect was probably an overreaction.  It was more the disappointment that a favourite player of mine doesn't seem to believe we have what it takes to do it. 

It was my first thread start, might need to chose my words more carefully next time  :tiny:

His comments are great puts more levels of expectation onto the Rangers , expectations that their squad if you look at it are not likely to equal .

We should just carry on what we are doing let the media blether about the Orcish

You must recognise that they have a chance of winning the league... but it hinges on us losing games and them not losing any more. I think it is more likely that we may both lose games... although we have not lost one yet! What I do find strange is that if we were in the position Rangers find their selves in we would most definitely have been written off completely as a team likely to win the league by all pundits and media sources... funny that !

I agree with McCann, Rangers can still win the league.

Will they though?

Where I disagree is that considering the way the season has gone anyone can say with confidence Rangers have the stronger squad.  Bigger names and more experience yes, but stronger, not convinced

But I believe that if we win all our December league games, while arithmetically possible we can be caught, I don't think we will.

Hibs will no more than draw with Rangers on the 27th.

THE QUESTION THE MEDIA ARE ASKING IS DO RANGERS STILL HAVE A CHANCE, of course they do but its less than at start of season and less of than midday Saturday but the "question" is now bloody huge.

Until it is mathematically impossible then Rangers still have a chance.   

Lloyd Christmas: What do you think the chances are of a girl like you and a guy like me... ending up together? 

Mary Swanson: Not good. 

Lloyd Christmas: You mean, not good like one out of a hundred? 

Mary Swanson: I'd say more like one out of a million. 

Lloyd ChristmasSo you're telling me there's a chance... YEAH! 

hahaha......."step up to the plate".......have Boyd and Miller not done that already......should be "step back from the plate"  Salad dodging twats :sunny:

I agree as well...they could win it, I suppose I too a bit disappointed it was from one of my faves as well, still only 20 odd weeks of comments to go.

This kind of talk by the media will probably put pressure on Rangers more than us. The last thing we want, anyway, is for our boys to think the league is won. They are responding positively to the pressure of keeping on top.

The thing I will find really interesting though is, at what point, if we increase our lead during December, when Rangers have a couple of tricky fixtures, will the media say that they won't catch us?

One thing for sure. If/when Rangers do catch up a point or 2, they will herald it as the beginning of the end for us. That's when we will get the picture of how strong our team and coaches are.

Hopefully, we won't need to find out.

What irks me is that he says nothing positive about Hearts and how we are performing.

Too right, he even goes on to talk about Kilmarnock! You'd think it was some kind of advert for an upcoming Rangers Kilmarnock game or something and not an editorial about Hearts.

Not sure if anyone had seen this from Neil McCann. Used to be my favourite Hearts player, lost all respect for him now though after reading this.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11788/9580341/scottish-football-neil-mccann-believes-rangers-can-reel-in-hearts-and-win-the-title

Rangers CAN still win the league though.

If you really think rangers have ZERO chance then go sell all u have and put a bet on Hearts to win div...

I agree, Rangers still have a chance if they were 18 points behind after 28 games! 

I think it would not be good business for a Sky pundit to say on Sky sport news that league pretty much over and there is nothing more to see. Keep the fans believing, and keep them subscribing to their sky sports package! 

Question is... who's your money on Neil? 

Super Salary this morning upon reading this wee ditty...

a-chance.gif

Your first sentence is 100% spot on.

The rest is too but you could have stopped there for my round of applause

You know what is getting on my nerves is people saying about dips in form and injuries. Correct me if I am wrong but Rangers will also get injuries and suspensions or are they immune to these and its only Hearts that get "injuries and suspensions" For example the boy Mcleod has been a talisman for them this season his form has dipped recently and that coincedes with Rangers form dipping.

Anyway rant over and ram it Neil Mccann.

Injuries maybe. Suspensions? not in your lifetime.

I agree as well...they could win it, I suppose I too a bit disappointed it was from one of my faves as well, still only 20 odd weeks of comments to go.

Fear not, looks like he's still "one of us". Here is a direct quote from the article:

"It's an interesting one. We are only 14 games into the campaign but nine points ahead, even at this early stage, is still a lot of points to try and grab back."

Fear not, looks like he's still "one of us". Here is a direct quote from the article:

"It's an interesting one. We are only 14 games into the campaign but nine points ahead, even at this early stage, is still a lot of points to try and grab back."

I don't think he means "we" as in Hearts. 

Let everybody talk about the rangers and we'll just sneak under their radar, then when we win the league it will be hilarious when they all say "how did that happen". Just the way I like it.

He's quite honest, and he is probably correct. He does appear to be seeing things from a Rangers perspective, but if that is the direct question he was asked, then that's what he will concentrate on.

Son Of Anarchy

He was my favourite pundit........and still is. Nothing dreadful in that article at all. Now, Davie "Knobjokey Weir. There's an excuse for a pundit that deserves slating!

is Terry not allowed to express an opinion (he is a pundit no less) unless he agree's with you!?!? Grow up....