Sunday Times hails Gomis/Buaben partnership

King Of The Cat Cafe

King Of The Cat Cafe

Today's ST has a good look at the partnership between Morgaro Gomis and Prince Buaben and says their combination goes a long way to explaining the team's consistency this season.

It is behind a paywall, so you probably will not be able to read it online. However, I have a subscription:

Why Hearts don't miss a beat

USUALLY when players are bracketed together they are either central defenders, as in Willie Miller and Alex McLeish at Aberdeen, or strikers such as Henrik Larsson and Chris Sutton at Celtic. At Dundee United and now Hearts, though, two midfielders have brought the best from each other in similar fashion to those more celebrated double acts.

The union of Morgaro Gomis and Prince Buaben, which proved so productive for Craig Levein at Tannadice, has been resumed at Tynecastle, where the former Scotland manager is now director of football. The pair, good friends off the pitch, combine energy with defensive diligence on it to provide stability at the core of Robbie Neilson?s side.

Their combination goes a long way to explaining the consistency that has seen Hearts take 28 points from a possible 30 thus far in the Championship, leaving Rangers lagging and Hibs, their city rivals, stranded back on 14, half Hearts? total, ahead of today?s Edinburgh derby between them at Easter Road. Hibs cannot afford to cede any more ground, but that may be difficult when Gomis and Buaben cover so much of it in central midfield. It sometimes feels as though they literally run games, rather than conduct them in the fashion that phrase normally implies.