Madeline McCann - Crimewatch appeal

I cant believe given the media hype surrounding this that the whereabouts of this poor little girl have never been determined it looks like Crimewatch are launching another appeal with on 14th October.

" A major new appeal with substantive new information "

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-24386130

• Replies 430
TheMaganator

I cant believe given the media hype surrounding this that the whereabouts of this poor little girl have never been determined it looks like Crimewatch are launching another appeal with on 14th October.

" A major new appeal with substantive new information "

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-24386130

I read that they now have all the phone records from the time from the area.

You would think that this would have happened years ago?

I think the only real hope, if you can call it that, is that she has been locked in some basement somewhere. There is no way that she could be being passed off as a child of another family (that I can see).

Unfortunately, I think she is dead.

I read that they now have all the phone records from the time from the area.

You would think that this would have happened years ago?

I think the only real hope, if you can call it that, is that she has been locked in some basement somewhere. There is no way that she could be being passed off as a child of another family (that I can see).

Unfortunately, I think she is dead.

Agree with all of this, especially the bit about the phone records.

Even if she was kidnapped and not murdered, after the global search campaign and public awareness no one would risk keeping her alive imo.

I was over in Portugal earlier this year in the next village up the coast from where MM disappeared. (My mate's moved over there)

Me and the missus were walking up the coast one day and we came to this spot

https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=37.064086,-8.791928&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF-8&ei=vatOUq30KoaJ7AaIu4CoCQ&ved=0CAoQ_AUoAg

Major league creepy place and in one of the buildings we found the remains of a fire and a bairns dummy.

There must be hundreds of missing people - anything being done to find them ?

Christian Benteke

There is no doubt something tragic happened to the poor girl, we'll probably never know the truth but the bottom line is this; she should never have been left alone in the first place. It absolutely astonishes me that a parent would leave their bairns in a foreign hotel room all by themselves. Regardless of how close to the room they were or not.

The fact that they still get sympathy to this day astounds me, it really does. If it was a young couple who were in dead end jobs they would have been hung out to dry by the media, not afforded millions of pounds to fund investigations.

Seems surprising that there is any more information to come out. Last thing I heard was the sacked Portuguese detective who investigated the case, releasing his book or something.

The Today programme was reporting that the telephone information hadn't been properly analysed by the Portuguese Police and that the Met were getting somewhere with it.

If evidence has been there all this time its absolutely scandalous on the Portuguese authorities.

It's like the boy who cried wolf.

"NEW INFORMATION AND LEADS!!!!!!!"

....followed by six days of coverage by the Express and the Mail and then nothing more for nine months. They're blatantly getting nowhere with this and haven't since day one.

Guest GhostHunter

The way they're talking and hinting (3 uk nationals as suspects), I'm betting they pretty much know who was responsible, and are just dotting the i's and crossing the t's before making their move.

Guest GhostHunter

This is the only warning - there has already been a need to remove posts.

Do not mention names in relation to suspects/culprits unless named publicly by the police.

This protects both the board and also the members from any litigation.

Thanks

Seems surprising that there is any more information to come out. Last thing I heard was the sacked Portuguese detective who investigated the case, releasing his book or something.

His book is published online, I guess it has been translated and it doesn't read well at bits but he seems quite sure where the blame lies

A quick google search Goncalo Amaral The Truth of the Lie is all you need

I find it incredible that a whole swathe of The Sun readers driving around Britain with "FIND MADDIE" posters stuck to their car windows failed to have any positive results.

I'd like to make an appeal as well.

An appeal for her parents to be prosecuted.

A million times this.

No. Nothing. Madeline McCann is the only missing person who is actually being looked for.

punkrockcroc

There is no doubt something tragic happened to the poor girl, we'll probably never know the truth but the bottom line is this; she should never have been left alone in the first place. It absolutely astonishes me that a parent would leave their bairns in a foreign hotel room all by themselves. Regardless of how close to the room they were or not.

The fact that they still get sympathy to this day astounds me, it really does. If it was a young couple who were in dead end jobs they would have been hung out to dry by the media, not afforded millions of pounds to fund investigations.

Correct, No help has ever been to the family of Ben Needham after he went missing on the Greek island of Kos.

What he's saying (as if you need me to tell you this) is that the resources attributed to the McCann case have been disproportionate.

I'd like to make an appeal as well.

An appeal for her parents to be prosecuted.

I remember when they were going to sue the police because they were considered suspects. Everyone should be considered at some point. Have they been proven innocent?

You only have to look at the Tia Sharp and the Philpotts case to show that they could have something to do with it.

I remember when they were going to sue the police because they were considered suspects. Everyone should be considered at some point. Have they been proven innocent?

You only have to look at the Tia Sharp and the Philpotts case to show that they could have something to do with it.

I was not aware you had to be proved innocent.

And you only have to look at hundreds of other cases to show that a relative did not do it such cases.................if we follow your logic you could have had something to do with it................

'Everyone should be considered at some point'

TheMaganator

Shit, I haven't been proven innocent yet either.

I thought things were going well for me too. Thats my weekend ruined.

Whatever has actually happened to the bairn, the parents are guilty of neglect. Would it have been the same outpouring of sympathy if they'd left her on her own and come back to find her dead? Would it ****.

Absolutely.

But because her parents are seen as respectable, due to their careers an that they look well presented and furthermore Madalaine was seen as a pretty young girl, there seems to be more effort.

Aye this

How? And who?

You can be pretty sure that the UK wouldn't have jurisdiction for a once-off instance of child neglect that took place outside the UK's territory. The Portuguese police could theoretically have investigated the McCanns for neglect, but that depends on what sort of neglect law there is in Portugal.

How? And who?

You can be pretty sure that the UK wouldn't have jurisdiction for a once-off instance of child neglect that took place outside the UK's territory. The Portuguese police could theoretically have investigated the McCanns for neglect, but that depends on what sort of neglect law there is in Portugal.

Leaving the kids alone while you sit and get pished with your pals. That's ridiculous. As you say it depends on what laws there are in Portugal though.

If you think a married couple conspired to murder their own daughter while they were sharing a holiday with some friends, and then propelled themselves into the world's gaze, ensuring they and the case were under intense media and public scrutiny for the following seven years...well. That's on a par with 9/11 conspiracy theorists and makes you a wee bit of a tinfoil hat wearing nutter IMO.

How? And who?

Once off? I seriously doubt it bud. If ever there was a first time they were going to abandon their kids and leave them completely alone and extremely vulnerable I highly doubt a foreign holiday would be their choice. Reeks to me of parents who had done this before, got away with it, and thought they could do it again. Regardless of who took that wee bairn, they parents are the absolute scum of the earth and IMO are as guilty as the abductors (if indeed there was any). What they did was completely unforgivable in any circumstances.

Christian Benteke

Once off? I seriously doubt it bud. If ever there was a first time they were going to abandon their kids and leave them completely alone and extremely vulnerable I highly doubt a foreign holiday would be their choice. Reeks to me of parents who had done this before, got away with it, and thought they could do it again. Regardless of who took that wee bairn, they parents are the absolute scum of the earth and IMO are as guilty as the abductors (if indeed there was any). What they did was completely unforgivable in any circumstances.

100% this.

This x100.

Have a Heart mate .

The girls parents made a terrible mistake but my god what a price they have paid for it.

Unbelievable how harsh and unforgiving some people can be.

Have a Heart mate .

The girls parents made a terrible mistake but my god what a price they have paid for it.

Harsh and unforgiving? Nah not at all. As has been said highly doubtful this was the one time they left the kids. Once is a mistake but when you keep repeating the mistakes...

Have a Heart mate .

These two have been a pain in the backside at times with their constant milking of publicity.

Christ they have even been on Oprah FFS. WTF is that all about ?!

If you think a married couple conspired to murder their own daughter while they were sharing a holiday with some friends, and then propelled themselves into the world's gaze, ensuring they and the case were under intense media and public scrutiny for the following seven years...well. That's on a par with 9/11 conspiracy theorists and makes you a wee bit of a tinfoil hat wearing nutter IMO.

My favourite McCann related article.

"My childs been kidnapped! What should we do?"

"Work on your backhand"

http://www.dailymail...i

"Work on your backhand"

http://www.dailymail...isappeared.html

sappeared.html

,,or implicate your "paedo" neighbour Robert Murat :hae36:

Have a Heart mate .

I agree , they paid a high price that will last for ever, a higher price that any court could hand down ,in my opinion .

They only show up when the "Find Maddie Fund" is close to running dry. Those holidays and mortgage payments private investigators don't come cheap

The way they're talking and hinting (3 uk nationals as suspects), I'm betting they pretty much know who was responsible, and are just dotting the i's and crossing the t's before making their move.

Couldnt agree more, this whole crimewatch appeal announcement and news about phonecall records is an attempt see if responsible person/s whom i believe they know are guilty make some kind of move as the police close in.

Imagine the outcry for the person/s who are eventually charged with whatever happened to her!

Have a Heart mate .

Harsh maybe, but if you can't be arsed looking after your own kids and would rather go and get pissed, don't have kids in the 1st place. I stand by my original post, and don't forget, as well as 3 year old Madeleine, these "parents" left a barely 1 year old baby alone in an apartment abroad which in itself is absolutely disgraceful. The 2 other kids should have been removed from their care IMO. The only sympathy I have is for poor Madeleine who was deserted by the people who should have cared for her most. Scum? Absolutely.

"Work on your backhand"

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-489218/Gerry-McCann-played-tennis-days-Madeleine-disappeared.html

Sitting here thinking, what would I have done in similar circumstances? Had a wee sleep on a sunbed, maybe gone out for lunch, a read of the paper, game of pool, few beers with the boys or walked/drove around endlessly speaking to people, looking for my kid?

I know what I'd have done. I think I know how most folk would gave reacted and I think a very very small % of people would socialise over a game of tennis!

Harsh maybe, but if you can't be arsed looking after your own kids and would rather go and get pissed, don't have kids in the 1st place. I stand by my original post, and don't forget, as well as 3 year old Madeleine, these "parents" left a barely 1 year old baby alone in an apartment abroad which in itself is absolutely disgraceful. The 2 other kids should have been removed from their care IMO. The only sympathy I have is for poor Madeleine who was deserted by the people who should have cared for her most. Scum? Absolutely.

Pretty much sums it up for me. You'd have to wonder about all the adults present. If I was on hols, met up with some friends and they turned up with no kids, I'd definitely be saying something .

At worst, something like this could have happened or there could have been an incident like a fire at the apt. At the least, the kids could have woken up and become scared at being on their own with no Mum and Dad around.

Disgusting conduct !

Looking at the Gonzalo links and looking past the tradgedy itself it really is a mystery.

We don't know the real story and I've not read about all aspects of it in depth myself. but he certainly points out ALOT of contradictary points and there are countless versions of events and theories.

Kid goes missing, you'd surely say;

"My kids missing"

Not;

"MY CHILDS BEEN KIDNAPPED"

Odd that was the conclusion they instantly jumped to...NOT BEFORE THE TENNIS LESSONS THOUGH.

Leaving kids of that age alone in an apartment so they could go out for dinner - struggle to understand how two parents could ever even consider this as an option.