The all new "seethe" thread

cosanostra

And Edinburgh airport security staff constantly calling people 'pal'. It's bad enough saying it to a male but just not on to a female.

And telling you which queue to join as they call people 'yous'.

"Yous"

• Replies 20.5k

• Harry Potter

• iantjambo

• IronJambo

Any one that uses the word 'yous' is a pig ignorant turd in my book.

You leaves room for ambiguity when used as a plural. I occasionally use yous knowing that it is technically incorrect but comfortable that it avoids any confusion.

'You all' removes any ambiguity. ;)

Even 'you lot' would be better but still distasteful.

The other airport seethe is my wife and I getting called 'guys' by all and sundry.

'Folks' would do thanks.

Shocking. When did all this pish start ?

Another one is wanks starting each sentence with 'So'.

Does my brain in.

So, me too.

:wink:

I once heard a sheep farmer in gala talking to his sheep, he was telling them the line up for the evenings barbecue, "okay, I'm going to use yous ewes".

Does my brain in.

It seems that every single person that is interviewed on 'Today' on the radio does this.

michael_bolton

Does my brain in.

This gets up a lot of noses, but I don't really understand why.

'So' is a very useful discourse marker in the English language. It allows people to naturally change topic, introduce new information, start a story etc. Speech would sound very unnatural if people stopped saying it.

I do often find myself wondering about words such as 'yous'. Obviously, it doesn't sound good. But English is lacking a second person plural pronoun, and 'yous' makes perfect sense from a language learner's point of view. Perhaps in the future 'yous' will become part of standard English? It wouldn't be a huge surprise.

So, that's what I think. :2thumbsup:

Snowflake.

Whenever someone describes another person as a snowflake, you just know that they're a complete and utter bell end and they're making some stupid, ignorant comment.

Just stop it.

Don't! I didn't even want it in first place.

On the plus side there was probably some bloke behind you who just wanted a pint who had to wait half an hour while a 'mixologist' worked on his creation....

'So' is a very useful discourse marker in the English language. It allows people to naturally change topic, introduce new information, start a story etc. Speech would sound very unnatural if people stopped saying it.

I do often find myself wondering about words such as 'yous'. Obviously, it doesn't sound good. But English is lacking a second person plural pronoun, and 'yous' makes perfect sense from a language learner's point of view. Perhaps in the future 'yous' will become part of standard English? It wouldn't be a huge surprise.

I thought 'you' was second person plural (and formal singular?)

We should start reusing 'thou' as second person singular...

Nothing wrong with "youse", perfectly acceptable where I grew up. "What's the racket, what are youse two up tae??" "Nuhin mum!!"

I like it, I think the scottish dialects are brilliant myself

When you try to delete a folder and constantly get the message that the action cannot be completed as a file within is still in use. NO IT ******* ISN'T!!! Still get it even though all programs have been shut down and processes stopped etc. Cue computer restart. Infuriating.

Edited by Jambos_1874

Starting a sentence with "so" is irritating when used in a different context, usually as a response to a question.

Noticed it happening a few years ago in business chat and it seems to have stuck.

Pulled a muscle in my neck.  I now have pain in my neck, shoulder, arm and head.  Every time I move my arm is in pain.  Doctor has stuck me on Naproxen.  

It's not so much a seethe I suppose, more an exasperation.  

Riddley Walker

Will power or the lack of it. The inability to say no.

Had an alcohol-free weekend. Felt the bollocks yesterday, fresh as a daisy. Gets back from the bursds house yesterday, flat mate and my other mate drinking and watching the football. Want a can? Aye go on then.

00.30 standing wrecked in the kebab shop ordering donner meat, chips and cheese. Rough as toast today.

I'm seriously considering going to my local to watch the Scotland game on my tod tonight as I know what will happen if I meet mates. Absolutely despising hangovers these days.

Snowflake.

Whenever someone describes another person as a snowflake, you just know that they're a complete and utter bell end and they're making some stupid, ignorant comment.

Just stop it.

Yup, extremely prevalent in Facebook comments at the minute.

Same as libtard.

It's ****ing chronic patter by someone you know has the IQ of a potted house plant, and will never listen to reason about anything.

Pulled a muscle in my neck. I now have pain in my neck, shoulder, arm and head. Every time I move my arm is in pain. Doctor has stuck me on Naproxen.

It's not so much a seethe I suppose, more an exasperation.

feel your pain I done the same not so long ago which led to calcific tendinitis in my shoulder socket, never felt pain like it. Anywho back on topic, getting to a set of traffic lights waiting to cross with a bunch of people then noticing none of them have pressed the fekin button [emoji35]

Sky Sports constantly changing their channel number line up, I remember SS1 used to be 511 but they keep changing it.

Just sit down with a beer and to watch the football and the mother in law appears

Raging

:raging:

That is shite :lol: .

She told the wife to make her a cuppa and they'll sit in the kitchen and "let Ian watch the football in peace"

She's a guid auld bird really :lol:

She told the wife to make her a cuppa and they'll sit in the kitchen and "let Ian watch the football in peace"

She's a guid auld bird really :lol:

My mother in law is dead so I don't have to worry about things like that.

Riddley Walker

Just sit down with a beer and to watch the football and the mother in law appears

Raging

:raging:

Ever seen the mother daughter duos on Porn Hub :sweeet:

Go for it. Do it.

Edited by Riddley Walker

Ever seen the mother daughter duos on Porn Hub :sweeet:

Go for it. Do it.

I can't watch the Scotland game so I have to settle for England v Malta.

If the game doesn't get a bit more interesting then I might just go for it :ruiner:

Yup, extremely prevalent in Facebook comments at the minute.

Same as libtard.

It's ******* chronic patter by someone you know has the IQ of a potted house plant, and will never listen to reason about anything.

Libtard?

Edited by Morgan

Libtard?

The first part is liberal. I'll leave you to work out the second part.

It's what absolute morons, specifically Trump supporters, on Facebook call everyone that has a political viewpoint other than their own.

Chronic :vrface:

Going on holiday to loch ness and they want 15pounds a week for internet and ive loaded my phone with data

i cant use because theres no hotspot.

Ragin , seethin, complaint forwarded to holiday company.

Rude or ignorant people.

Honestly, what is it with people. See if I let you in front of me in your car whilst heavy traffic, would it ****ing kill you to acknowledge me letting you in.

See if I let you in from of me in a supermarket as you have a couple of items and I am getting a big shop, would it kill you to say thanks.

Both happened to me yesterday and being pig ignorant gets on my tits waaaaay more than it should do.

Going on holiday to loch ness and they want 15pounds a week for internet and ive loaded my phone with data

i cant use because theres no hotspot.

Ragin , seethin, complaint forwarded to holiday company.

Maybe you could ask another guest for the wireless key?

Rude or ignorant people.

Honestly, what is it with people. See if I let you in front of me in your car whilst heavy traffic, would it ******* kill you to acknowledge me letting you in.

See if I let you in from of me in a supermarket as you have a couple of items and I am getting a big shop, would it kill you to say thanks.

Both happened to me yesterday and being pig ignorant gets on my tits waaaaay more than it should do.

People that don't say 'thanks' (my sister-in-law) should be shot.

It's a common courtesy that should not be forgotten.

It annoys me far too much as well Chester.

I tend to fall on the side of, Peter's an employee at a small shop with limited resources.  A significant fraction of those resources are going to pay the wages of a man who isn't putting a shift in, and whose presence isn't deterring shoplifting--the whole reason his position exists in the first place, his one job.  Therefore it is absolutely Peter's business, as this state of affairs may have a negative impact on his potential for continued employment and pay raises, improvements to the store which bring in more business, etc.

I am guessing that a small shop which employs a security guard will be one of the larger chains, and that the resources being spent on him therefore won't directly affect Peter's future prospects. I don't see how it isn't Peter's business, though, given that he will probably also be expected to play his part in preventing shoplifting, and quite likely won't have any confidence in the man to protect him if he actually feels physically threatened at any point.

Peter, have you ever pointed out a potential shoplifter to this guy and asked him to intervene, or do you assume this would be a waste of your time?

I'd say you were well within your rights to make the manager aware, or if he has a different manager, ask your manager to raise it with his manager.

PS. I tend to think the stigma associated with 'grassing' is mainly used by arseholes and chancers to protect themselves.

The type of grassing I don't like is when someone reports something that has literally nothing to do with them, out of a desire to get at someone they don't like, or to improve their own prospects at the expense of the other person.

In this case, however, it's entirely the guy's own fault if he gets 'grassed' on, just the same as if he had committed a crime.

Edited by Thaw

Woke up this morning and have somehow managed to crick my neck when I was sleeping. I'm in agony and having to move around like a zombie.

Y'know, there's some posts that aren't remotely a laughing matter yet you can't help but laugh out loud. :)

This is a prime example. Especially if you try to picture what was described. :rofl:

Sorry Tazio, hope it feels better soon.

PS. I tend to think the stigma associated with 'grassing' is mainly used by arseholes and chancers to protect themselves.

The type of grassing I don't like is when someone reports something that has literally nothing to do with them, out of a desire to get at someone they don't like, or to improve their own prospects at the expense of the other person.

In this case, however, it's entirely the guy's own fault if he gets 'grassed' on, just the same as if he had committed a crime.

I get all that, I just don't think you should be ****ing with another man's ability to pay the rent and put food on the table. A manager gets paid to take that responsibility, so that's his problem, but us lowest rungs shouldn't be running to the man IMO

Good manners cost absolutely nothing.

It's endemic of today's society I'm sad to say.

To many selfish wanks going about these days.

Thanks.

For nothing :wink:

Y'know, there's some posts that aren't remotely a laughing matter yet you can't help but laugh out loud. :)

This is a prime example. Especially if you try to picture what was described. :rofl:

Sorry Tazio, hope it feels better soon.

Shitbag.

Just to make it even worse I've just hobbled to and from the chemists and spent ?15 on various painkilling and heatpqd options.

Shitbag.

Just to make it even worse I've just hobbled to and from the chemists and spent ?15 on various painkilling and heatpqd options.

Hobbling! :lol:

I'm off again :)

Shitbag.

I've woke up with a crick in my neck loads of times so my heart goes out to you. Morgans just a dick :wink:

I find deepheat cream or an ibuprofen gel works well.

I've woke up with a crick in my neck loads of times so my heart goes out to you. Morgans just a dick :wink:

I've bought heatpads that looks like big ****** pads that stick on the back of your neck and last for 8 hours apparently. I've got the feeling that it's going to rip any hair in the back of my neck off when I take it off. But if it helps I don't care.

Do you rub it yourself or get help?

I've bought heatpads that looks like big ****** pads that stick on the back of your neck and last for 8 hours apparently. I've got the feeling that it's going to rip any hair in the back of my neck off when I take it off. But if it helps I don't care.

I tried the pads but didn't find them much good to be honest. Hopefully work better for you. And yes they'll rip the hairs out.