• Harry Potter

• iantjambo

• IronJambo

Someone is trying to argue that film is pronounced "filum"?

That's exactly what he's doing, and seemingly pulling up completely different words from a different language to prove his point.

Despite the dictionary clearly defining that it is meant to be pronounced as "film" with no superfluous u sound. :facepalm:

Someone is trying to argue that film is pronounced "filum"?

Some people in Scotland and Northern Ireland pronounce, for example, film as 'fillum' and poem as 'po-yim.'

It's the way people talk. It's not a big deal.

Some people in Scotland and Northern Ireland pronounce, for example, film as 'fillum' and poem as 'po-yim.'

I fully accept that loads of people say it that way and that it is a form of dialect.

PsychoAndy is actually saying that the word is meant to be said as "fillum" though, and that this is the correct way of saying it. Clearly it isn't.

Lollypop people who stand at pedestrian crossings and rush out into the middle of the road with their sign to escort adults over the road!!

I fully accept that loads of people say it that way and that it is a form of dialect.

PsychoAndy is actually saying that the word is meant to be said as "fillum" though, and that this is the correct way of saying it. Clearly it isn't.

'Correct' is a dangerous word to use about language. You can't be too prescriptive or too hung up on right and wrong. Language evolves over time.

Dictionaries describe the way (a certain group of) people talk, not tell you what you must do.

There isn't really a 'correct' way to say any word. As long as people understand you, it doesn't really matter.

BoJack Horseman

That's exactly what he's doing, and seemingly pulling up completely different words from a different language to prove his point.

Despite the dictionary clearly defining that it is meant to be pronounced as "film" with no superfluous u sound. :facepalm:

Jeezo.

This is an accent though and isn't the actual pronunciation of the word. Poem isn't pronounced po-yim. Much like coin isn't pronounce coy-in. Much like film isn't pronounced fil-um.

Granted, some people pronounce those words like that, but you wouldn't go down south and tell those that pronounce film correctly that they're saying it wrong because that's not how you say it.

The lick their fingers before touching your bags in Asda.

Absolutely astounded that management haven't instructed against this.

Unhygienic in the extreme.

Are your bags unhygenic? Explains much.

Jeezo.

This is an accent though and isn't the actual pronunciation of the word. Poem isn't pronounced po-yim. Much like coin isn't pronounce coy-in. Much like film isn't pronounced fil-um.

Granted, some people pronounce those words like that, but you wouldn't go down south and tell those that pronounce film correctly that they're saying it wrong because that's not how you say it.

I wouldn't say they were incorrect. But they shouldn't say I was incorrect either.

Lots of people down south don't pronounce the 'l' in film at all, it sounds more like 'fim.' Which is fine too.

Just as people in Scotland and the North of England pronounce 'h' in 'how' (and many Scots pronounce the 'h' in 'what') and people down south don't.

Neither is correct or incorrect. The dictionary describes, it doesn't prescribe.

Your accent determines how you pronounce all words, and it doesn't make it correct or incorrect. Everyone has an accent, 'BBC English' is just one among many and isn't any more correct than any other.

BoJack Horseman

I wouldn't say they were incorrect. But they shouldn't say I was incorrect either.

Lots of people down south don't pronounce the 'l' in film at all, it sounds more like 'fim.' Which is fine too.

Just as people in Scotland and the North of England pronounce 'h' in 'how' (and many Scots pronounce the 'h' in 'what') and people down south don't.

Neither is correct or incorrect. The dictionary describes, it doesn't prescribe.

Your accent determines how you pronounce all words, and it doesn't make it correct or incorrect. Everyone has an accent, 'BBC English' is just one among many and isn't any more correct than any other.

So, to say that the correct pronunciation of film is fil-um would be wrong then?

We all agree that all words are pronounced differently by all individuals. That's not up for debate. But there obviously has to be a standard or default way to pronounce something, more as a guide than anything else. That's what the dictionary is for. The word film is intended to be pronounced as a single syllable word. If, in your accent, when you voice that word aloud, you come out with "filum", well that's just dandy. It's not wrong, but it's not the intended pronunciation.

This thread has been completely ruined by the pronunciation vs accent chat.

I hate that pedantic pish way more than the things that I originally put in my reply now. :(

So, to say that the correct pronunciation of film is fil-um would be wrong then?

We all agree that all words are pronounced differently by all individuals. That's not up for debate. But there obviously has to be a standard or default way to pronounce something, more as a guide than anything else. That's what the dictionary is for. The word film is intended to be pronounced as a single syllable word. If, in your accent, when you voice that word aloud, you come out with "filum", well that's just dandy. It's not wrong, but it's not the intended pronunciation.

Fair enough. The point is that the pronunciation in dictionaries is a guide, not some kind of Platonic ideal. It's the way some, but not all, people pronounce it. That doesn't make it correct or incorrect. I don't think you can say there is an 'intended' pronunciation. Intended by whom - God?

Studies have shown that people learning English often find it easier to understand someone with a (not particularly broad) Dublin or Inverness accent than someone who uses 'dictionary pronunciation' - it's to do with the variety of vowel sounds and more clearly pronounced consonants, I think.

BoJack Horseman

I hate that pedantic pish way more than the things that I originally put in my reply now. :(

Aye but whoever said the correct pronunciation of film is "fil-um" was well wrong.

Back on topic. Folk that get bothered by issues that don't directly affect them in any way.

I hate people who hate pedants. :10900:

BoJack Horseman

Fair enough. The point is that the pronunciation in dictionaries is a guide, not some kind of Platonic ideal. It's the way some, but not all, people pronounce it. That doesn't make it correct or incorrect. I don't think you can say there is an 'intended' pronunciation. Intended by whom - God?

Studies have shown that people learning English often find it easier to understand someone with a (not particularly broad) Dublin or Inverness accent than someone who uses 'dictionary pronunciation' - it's to do with the variety of vowel sounds and more clearly pronounced consonants, I think.

Right. You're beyond help.

There used to be a Scots dictionary or two in my High School English class and there were loads of words that were similar to the English version but were defined purely by their pronunciation... It never bothered me in the slightest.

Why does it annoy people so much?

Optimus Prime

The value determines whether said jobsworth should advise you to send it by either recorded or special delivery. They're not just being nosey!

Works in a post office type post IMHO. I think i would be able to judge for myself how valuable the object was and what level of security i wanted attatched to it's delivery.

And here was me thinking it was to see if it was worth them bothering to chore it :curtain:

Edited by Optimus Prime

Juan Rom?n Riquelme

The inequality you get in offices.

Spent a fair bit of time doing the mail room in an office during Uni and its 9-5 for me, flat out all day usually, dealing with silly requests and last minute stuff.

Meanwhile, most of the other folk seem to stroll about it, making cups of tea, coming in a 9.15 and leaving at 4.30. Despite this, still making far more than me for far less work work and less time actually being in the place. Only folk that seem to do a proper days work are the receptionist and me.

Edited by Captain Haddock

BoJack Horseman

The inequality you get in offices.

Spent a fair bit of time doing the mail room in an office during Uni and its 9-5 for me, flat out all day usually, dealing with silly requests and last minute stuff.

Meanwhile, most of the other folk seem to stroll about it, making cups of tea, coming in a 9.15 and leaving at 4.30. Despite this, still making far more than me for far less work work and less time actually being in the place. Only folk that seem to do a proper days work are the receptionist and me.

Not really inequality though is it, just different jobs?

Juan Rom?n Riquelme

But they still get paid for working 9-5, usually doing stuff that isn't very difficult.

I'd get in shit if I was bunking off early all the time.

BoJack Horseman

But they still get paid for working 9-5, usually doing stuff that isn't very difficult.

Some work, including mine, is reactive and doesn't require you to be continuously working for the whole day, but rather you just need to be available. Think Firemen. If there's no fires, they've nothing to do, but they still have to go to work. Your work sounds proactive in that as long as your there, there's work to be done. If it's not very difficult, you should maybe have gone for their job rather than the one you got.

Juan Rom?n Riquelme

When I get out of Uni there's no chance I'll be sitting in a dingy office with folk like that.

Cheers for the advice though.

Edited by Captain Haddock

RHS is spot on, there is also a wee thing called flexi time which might explain people leaving early or coming in late, particularly when things are that bit quieter, but expected to put the hours in when busier times arise.

When I get out of Uni there's no chance I'll be sitting in a dingy office with folk like that.

Cheers for the advice though.

What you studying Captain and what's the planned career upon conclusion??

Always good to try things, as you are doing and then rule out things you don't want to do in later life.

Works in a post office type post IMHO. I think i would be able to judge for myself how valuable the object was and what level of security i wanted attatched to it's delivery.

Lots of others might not understand the values they are insured up to so it makes sense for them to ask.

Ps - I'd rather have pins stuck in my eyeballs than work in a post office.

Studying to be a teacher.

Probably be on here in a couple of years time, moaning about it :seething:

Primary or Secondary??

Only asking as I work in HR for education so may encounter you in the future if you end up working in my area. :ninja:

Here is something that will really boil your pish then.

At school, I'm 48, the teachers used to give you the belt for bad behaviour but God's Militia, the Nuns, used the strike intelligence into you with their fists, blackboard dusters, keys and anything else that was heavy and to hand, if you got things wrong, times tables, spelling and pronunciation. God never struck me down for saying filum & poyum.

People who continue to wear their festival wrist bands for weeks and months after its finished.

Was just about to post the same!

What is that all about?? It will be manky as anything by then surely and must also reek like a tramps jockstrap.

What is the point of that??

Creepy Lurker

I'm not debating whether the entire world speaks like that. Of course it doesn't.

It is however the correct pronunciation of the word, sans-superfluous "u". Filum sounds stupid and is not the correct way to say the word. That is what was being debated.

And mine was that no-one speaks entirely 'correctly'. Even if we all spoke BBC newsreader style 'nowhere English' - which, incidentally, would be my idea of Hell - we wouldn't be pronouncing every word correctly. Witness anyone from the South of England trying to say 'here' or 'fire'. Why get so annoyed by particular instances of regional pronunciation?

It smacks of the old Scottish cringe.

BoJack Horseman

And mine was that no-one speaks entirely 'correctly'. Even if we all spoke BBC newsreader style 'nowhere English' - which, incidentally, would be my idea of Hell - we wouldn't be pronouncing every word correctly. Witness anyone from the South of England trying to say 'here' or 'fire'. Why get so annoyed by particular instances of regional pronunciation?

At this point I'd like to disassociate myself with Ray's argument in that I don't see anything wrong with pronouncing it filum as that's how I pronounce it.

Studying to be a teacher.

Probably be on here in a couple of years time, moaning about it :seething:

If the concept of some members of staff doing the bare minimum and drinking tea all day while others bust a gut annoys you, then you will be! :)

I'm not paticularly annoyed by it. I didn't bring it up this thread. It just sounds a bit stupid. Its no match for the likes of 'haytch' in the annoyance stakes.

To continue the pronunciation debate...I say filum (or fulm), coyin and mulk....do I care how this sounds to other people? no it's the way I speak (when i'm not being careful about pronunciation or at work)

The work colleagues who all gossip around the printer/copier/fax machine when you are waiting for your copies to come off. Go to the bloody break out area, I'm busy.

Passengers on the train who queue to get off about 2 miles before their stop; and you're trying to walk down the same passage with 2 cups of coffee.

People who are capable of work, but choose to live off the State instead. I said to my mate who I used to live with when I stayed in Craigshill, that its about time she got a bloody job (Shes 30 years old and has never worked). Her reply was "A job? that means I will have to pay Coonsil Tax an' shit". Join the fecking club darling!!!

Edited by Pinhead

BoJack Horseman

People who press the bell to stop the bus, and stand up way before the stop. Is it a race to see who can get off first or something?

This one gets me. Especially when I'm near the front, ready to get off, and someone pushes in front of me to get to the front when it's obvious that I, and the 5 folk in front of me, are also getting off at that stop and just aren't as keen as they are.

Folk that use the sellotape and dinnae fold a bit over whenthey're finished!

Folk who dump their dirty coffee cups in the staffroom and expect someone else to wash them!

:raging:

Edited by Budgie.

People, usually weegies, who finish a sentence with the word "but" when in it is absolutely not necessary. "I'm going to the shops but". Raging!

Happened last night/this morning and sober. Taking your boots off when dead tired and knotting your laces. Hadn't done it for a while but annoys the shite out of me.

Edited by PsychocAndy

Couples who post "love u babez xxx" type shit on visible facebook threads. Nauseating, horrible, cringe-worthy. Just stop it you utter dicks. I block people instantly for this.

Girls who post constant photos of their own face from slightly different angles in front of their mirrors. Get over yourself you irritating, vain, pointless life having bints. Instant blocking for this too.