coming back to 'haunt' the hearts, im sure you will

see you on Sept 15th :) 'Im Coming to haunt Hearts'

#2 Das Root

Das Root

Does not like Macs.

• Paid Member
  • 7,131 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 09:59 AM

He's 23 and he plays for St Mittens. I would think Murray got it bang on the cash.

#3 Robert Kelso M.D.

Robert Kelso M.D.

What has two thumbs and doesn't give a crap?

• Paid Member
  • 13,374 posts
  • LocationSacred Heart

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:05 AM

23 and playing for St. Mirren for your first time in the SPL, Jon? And you think that qualifies as proving Murray wrong? :rofl:

A ******* Danny Lennon "Jobs for the boys" signing as well :vrface:

Edited by Kyle Falconer, 21 July 2012 - 10:06 AM.

#4 Rudolf's Mate

Squad Member

• Paid Member
  • 5,877 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:27 AM

'despite technically being one of the best players' yet it took him until 23 to break into St Midden team! Si by my calculations we've saved 7 years of wages on a player whom wasn't good enough to get into the first team at a smaller club......

Sure John's lost sleepless nights after letting the new Zidane go :woot:

#5 Shaun William Ryder

Shaun William Ryder

Don’t need no skin tights in my wardrobe today

• Paid Member_20
  • 21,089 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:30 AM

St Mitten, aye? There's a team that caused us a lot of bother last season right enough. Maybe he wasn't actually good enough and Muarray didn't want to hurt his feelings?

#6 Bill Paxton

Bill Paxton

Moist kipper

• Paid Member
  • 6,013 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:31 AM

He could have been the new John Robertson

#7 Jambosimmy

Jambosimmy

Squad Member

• Registered Users D
  • 1,150 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:43 AM

is this the ###### that scored against hibs in the scottish cup last season and celebrated on his own by doing some daft wee dance?? That was quite a good goal right enough

#8 stew mc

stew mc

Season Ticket Holder

• Paid Member
  • 1,275 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:45 AM

Kin ginger, no thanks.

#9 kirkwood69

kirkwood69

In the Danger Zone

• Paid Member
  • 13,145 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:58 AM

Glad to see he took him release from Hearts with dignity  :rolleyes:

#10 robbodog

robbodog

Season Ticket Holder

• Paid Member
  • 680 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:05 AM

To be fair to the guy, getting released from a club for being 'too wee' aged 16 is a piss take. It's also a typical shite attitude in Scotland that you need to be big to be able to play in this country.

#11 Shaun William Ryder

Shaun William Ryder

• Paid Member_20
  • 21,089 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:08 AM

View Postrobbodog, on 21 July 2012 - 11:05 AM, said:

To be fair to the guy, getting released from a club for being 'too wee' aged 16 is a piss take. It's also a typical shite attitude in Scotland that you need to be big to be able to play in this country.

I find it hard to believe actually... look at Templeton, Robinson, Holt, Novikovas etc, none of them are big guys, they still made it out the accademy... Maybe he just wasn't quite good enough to play for Hearts? :ermm:

#12 scots civil war

scots civil war

Squad Member

• Paid Member
  • 1,848 posts
  • Locationnewhaven

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:08 AM

what an ugly ###### eh

thats probably the real reason jonno aint it

#13 Maurice Moss

Maurice Moss

• Paid Member
  • 937 posts
  • LocationGlasgow

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:10 AM

If he is as good as he says why did he need to go to his Grandad's mate to get a chance?

Edited by Maurice Moss, 21 July 2012 - 11:11 AM.

#14 duckandcover

duckandcover

• Registered Users C
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:18 AM

He was in my year at school. He was a wee tosser from what I remember of him.

#15 Shaun William Ryder

Shaun William Ryder

• Paid Member_20
  • 21,089 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:21 AM

View Postduckandcover, on 21 July 2012 - 11:18 AM, said:

He was in my year at school. He was a wee tosser from what I remember of him.

He is a hulking great giant of a tosser now by all accounts. :thumbsup:

#16 Robert Kelso M.D.

Robert Kelso M.D.

• Paid Member
  • 13,374 posts
  • LocationSacred Heart

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:23 AM

View Postrobbodog, on 21 July 2012 - 11:05 AM, said:

Being "too wee" is a nice way of saying "You're shite".

#17 robbodog

robbodog

Season Ticket Holder

• Paid Member
  • 680 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:36 AM

View PostKyle Falconer, on 21 July 2012 - 11:23 AM, said:

Being "too wee" is a nice way of saying "You're shite".

So you don't think that there is a selection process of 'you're too wee' in Scottish fitba? Of course this isn't going to happen in all cases, but if there were two youth players with similar ability but one is nearly six foot and the other well isn't, who do you think the clubs would automatically choose?
I know of one young player who was recommended to the club but when asked if we were interested the reply was 'nah, he's too wee'

#18 Shaun William Ryder

Shaun William Ryder

• Paid Member_20
  • 21,089 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:39 AM

View Postrobbodog, on 21 July 2012 - 11:36 AM, said:

So you don't think that there is a selection process of 'you're too wee' in Scottish fitba? Of course this isn't going to happen in all cases, but if there were two youth players with similar ability but one is nearly six foot and the other well isn't, who do you think the clubs would automatically choose?
I know of one young player who was recommended to the club but when asked if we were interested the reply was 'nah, he's too wee'

I just find it harder to recognise at Hearts, look at all the small youth players that we have kicking about just now. I am not saying it won't be a factor but surely it isn't the be-all and end-all, not when the guys I mentioned above have all been good enough to get around it.

Edited by Shaun William Ryder, 21 July 2012 - 11:40 AM.

#19 Heartbeat

Heartbeat

Season Ticket Holder

• Paid Member
  • 2,153 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:45 AM

He must still be growing at some rate cos he managed to gain an inch between the Picture caption and the article.

#20 Rudolf's Mate

Squad Member

• Paid Member
  • 5,877 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:48 AM

View PostShaun William Ryder, on 21 July 2012 - 11:08 AM, said:

I find it hard to believe actually... look at Templeton, Robinson, Holt, Novikovas etc, none of them are big guys, they still made it out the accademy... Maybe he just wasn't quite good enough to play for Hearts? :ermm:

Yep and he's obviously not that bright as if he is any good then a bigger club may come knocking one day!

#21 Alan_R

Alan_R

Reserve Team

• Registered Users D
  • 7,394 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 11:59 AM

HURTING WEE MAN!?  :lol:

I hope we pump that mob rotten, even more now.

'Im great to work with'... aye you sound it right enough ya wee ginger whinger!

#22 Shaun William Ryder

Shaun William Ryder

• Paid Member_20
  • 21,089 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:04 PM

View PostRudolf, on 21 July 2012 - 11:48 AM, said:

Yep and he's obviously not that bright as if he is any good then a bigger club may come knocking one day!

The more you look at it, the more you struggle to find anything he's actually got going for him... JM should have just been brutaly honest and said it is because you are a huffy wee shite with a piss-poor attitude. :ninja:

#23 McGlynn Style Advisor

McGlynn Style Advisor

y'know?

• Registered Users A
  • 30,178 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:13 PM

Pretty embarrassing for Murray if he was turning players away for being too wee before Barca and Spain made it cool to depend on smaller players.

#24 duckandcover

duckandcover

• Registered Users C
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:16 PM

View PostAlan Partridge, on 21 July 2012 - 12:13 PM, said:

Pretty embarrassing for Murray if he was turning players away for being too wee before Barca and Spain made it cool to depend on smaller players.
There are always 2 sides to every story. Going by that article the wee radge seems to have a very high opinion of himself. If he is really that good then a better team than St Midden would have taken a chance on him.

#25 Jabba

Jabba

Squad Member

• Paid Member_20
  • 1,188 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:17 PM

"I was playing superbly"

U'r a prick.

#26 Shaun William Ryder

Shaun William Ryder

• Paid Member_20
  • 21,089 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:18 PM

View Postduckandcover, on 21 July 2012 - 12:16 PM, said:

There are always 2 sides to every story. Going by that article the wee radge seems to have a very high opinion of himself. If he is really that good then a better team than St Midden would have taken a chance on him.

Is the laddie not twenty three years old? Makes him ages with Temps right? I think the boy is talking out his pipe personally. :geek:

#27 McGlynn Style Advisor

McGlynn Style Advisor

y'know?

• Registered Users A
  • 30,178 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:19 PM

View Postduckandcover, on 21 July 2012 - 12:16 PM, said:

Maybe.

The same nearly happened to Craig Gordon IIRC.

#28 Greenwichjambo

Greenwichjambo

• Registered Users D
  • 178 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 12:29 PM

Minging toe nails.

#29 jackal

jackal

• Registered Users A
  • 502 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:46 PM

Wee Ginger man syndrome.  :rolleyes:

#30 Connor-The-Jambo

Connor-The-Jambo

• Registered Users B
  • 303 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:55 PM

did he not score against the wee team for cowdenbeath

#31 neilnunb

neilnunb

Reserve Team

• Registered Users A
  • 10,346 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:58 PM

You'd think if he is as good as he claims he is then Danny Lennon would have taken him straight from Cowdenbeath when he moved to St Mirren...

Still, at least we now have a new hate figure :)

#32 CJGJ

CJGJ

Squad Member

• Paid Member
  • 5,438 posts

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:59 PM

In life decisions are made which are often premature.......... we write off youngsters at 16 due to a lack of qualifications, people develop mentally and physically at different times and the problem with 'cut off points' is that it makes no allowance for this.

16 in terms of physical development is too young and as prev noted Craig Gordon nearly got binned for the very same issue of height etc......... what worries me more is that in this day and age you can test to get a better idea of what height someone will grow to and with our 'supposed' esteemed medical facilities at Heriot Watt why was this not done ?

Overall though it is also a test of mental strength for the youngster involved and perhaps that is where he was lacking until recently so wish him well, he was given a kick in the you know whats at a young age and has at last fought his way back to the SPL..... It cannot be easy to have had your dreams crushed at 16 and you can see it still matters to him (bit like Robbo's feelings with Hibs).

#33 Stokesy

Stokesy

• Registered Users B
  • 1,181 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:05 PM

View PostAlan Partridge, on 21 July 2012 - 12:19 PM, said:

Maybe.

It's a bit different for goalkeepers though.  They have to be tall.

#34 jambo89

jambo89

• Registered Users A
  • 205 posts
  • LocationLivingston

Posted 21 July 2012 - 03:20 PM

Think the article has taken his words out of context! I know the guy and he is by no means arrogant. The reason Danny Lennon didn't take him from Cowdenbeath straight away is because there is a fee to be paid for all under 23 year olds to the parent club regardless of the contract situation.

From what I understand there was interest from crystal palace and others from down south but he had already agreed a deal with midden. Player of the year in the second division last season and mickey Cameron made him captain so there's something there.

Some players are just late developers and we tend to put a lot of pressure on young players too soon which can also have a negative effect

#35 Robert Kelso M.D.

Robert Kelso M.D.

• Paid Member
  • 13,374 posts
  • LocationSacred Heart

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 03:56 PM

View Postrobbodog, on 21 July 2012 - 11:36 AM, said:

Quite obviously the bigger laddie which is the same for every club in world football.

#36 Robert Kelso M.D.

Robert Kelso M.D.

• Paid Member
  • 13,374 posts
  • LocationSacred Heart

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 03:58 PM

View PostAlan Partridge, on 21 July 2012 - 12:19 PM, said:

Maybe.

He was told by Tynecastle boys club he'd never be a keeper cause he's too wee. He then switched to striker and had a growth spurt and joined Hearts a keeper again.

Or so I've been told.

#37 Niko

Niko

• Paid Member
  • 345 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh

Donator

Posted 21 July 2012 - 05:30 PM

Released because he was ginger. Nap.

#38 Das Root

Das Root

Does not like Macs.

• Paid Member
  • 7,131 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 06:07 PM

View PostNiko, on 21 July 2012 - 05:30 PM, said:

Released because he was ginger. Nap.

It is club policy.

Edited by Das Root, 21 July 2012 - 06:11 PM.

#39 dav1e

dav1e

• Registered Users B
  • 282 posts

Posted 21 July 2012 - 06:34 PM

View PostShaun William Ryder, on 21 July 2012 - 12:04 PM, said:

The more you look at it, the more you struggle to find anything he's actually got going for him... JM should have just been brutaly honest and said it is because you are a huffy wee shite with a piss-poor attitude. :ninja:
Pretty much on the button, sounds as if he has a serious attitude problem. Who does he think he is....

#40 Alan_R

Alan_R

Reserve Team

• Registered Users D
  • 7,394 posts

Donator

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:37 PM

Just found out this guys a Hearts supporter apparently.

Maybe we took what he said in the wrong light? If not seems a strange one.

#41 chuck1874

chuck1874

• Registered Users D
  • 182 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 10:48 PM

Wee jon was a hibby till he joined tynecastle boys club then changed alliances. Signed for hearts and let go in a space of two years i think. Always thought he had an ego problem, not a bad player tbh.

#42 ecjambo

ecjambo

Squad Member

• Registered Users A
  • 2,055 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 11:10 PM

The above is correct. Hibee, then a Jambo when he signed for Hearts. I'm guessing he's now a St Mirren fan following brief spells supporting Murieston and Cowdenbeath. Played football against him a few times and aye he was alright but I never thought he would be good enough for Hearts. Which appears to be correct, unless we make a big money move for him in January! Did he touch the ball yesterday when he came on?

Edited by ecjambo, 18 November 2012 - 11:10 PM.